We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Metropole Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Diamond Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Park Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Americano(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vina Del Mar(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
55 Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Imperial Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Novo Mundo(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windsor Florida Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Regina(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
457
44
10
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
44
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgloria metro stationsocial atmospherewalking distance to lapalapa and santa teresabed dormtop bunka great place to meetcomfortable bedshome away from homeevery morningnight lifecommon areasvisiting riothe location is perfectenriquenightlifesupermarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Uhhh I'm just going to end up saying what everyone else on here has already said. This is the place to stay. All you can do is trust me! Unfortunately tripadvisor requires me to use 200 characters, so this is just me filling in the space so I can actually publish this review. Soooooooo yeah, stay here and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Court_K492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I had a great time in Rio and the Discovery Hostel was very responsible for the amazing time I had during my stay. I met a lot of people from different countries all over the world, we party and shared really nice moments in the hostel. The house is not that big but is perfect for integrating with the rest of guests, it is very organize and comfy and the staff makes an effort to maintain bathroom and rooms neat and clean.
The owners and staff were the kindest and helpful of all, I really thank you guys for everything!
It would be definitely my first and only choice to stay when I come back to Rio. Do not doubt to choose it, especially if you are a solo traveler backpacking in Latin American.

Room Tip: For the ladies is better to choose the 6 beds female room it has its own bathroom! All rooms have A/C and fan.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manurod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This place is a perfect place to be when you are in Rio. Staffs are friendly and helpful. The atmosphere in the hostel is more like a home. The location is good as it's just a block away from 'Gloria' metro station. You have supermarket and place to eat just 2-3 mins walking.

I really like the place and i would recommend it to anyone who comes to Rio.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mint1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Absolutely loved staying at this hostel and found it was an extremely brilliant start to a six month trip around South America.

I stayed in the six bed female dorm, the room was extremely clean as were the sheets and pillow cases provided and the beds were probably some of the most comfortable I've ever slept on including in hotels.

The staff were extremely helpful with Zion sitting all the new arrivals down, giving them a map of Rio along with all travel options to all the must-see sights and places. The hostel is literally a one minute walk from the metro with numerous cash points and with a chemist and supermarket just on the corner.

The whole atmosphere of the hostel is of an extremely relaxed one and the communal area honestly feels like it could be your own home, wifi is also accessible throughout the hostel meaning you can skype from the comfort of your own bed!

This hostel honestly provides everything you could possibly need and has been extremely well thought out and obviously designed by people who have done much travelling themselves. Would thoroughly, thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FioYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Cool place.
Cool people; very friendly and very helpful.

Practical stuff: Very Clean, 24 hr access, we booked direct via email.
Lots of activities available through the hostel we did favela tours, hang gliding and dancing lessons.

I don't review places normally but this hostel is exceptional.

Best of luck to them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews