We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice place to live”
Review of Discovery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really nice place to live”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Thanks all the crew in the Discovery Hostel. They helped me find my baggage through the bus company within only nine hours. They were nice and full of knowledge about almost every essential thing you need to notice in every aspect. It was very safe and full of harvest to take a trip with the tourist information they offered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FYCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    43
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
78
199
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Amazing hostel in a great location right next to the metro station. Very clean and secure hostel with an amazing breakfast (with cake!) every morning. Also the bar in the evening is great and reasonably priced. Friendly staff who really make an effort to make you feel at home and have a great time in Rio. Always helpful with any questions you might have. Also, very easy to meet other travellers in the communal areas. I stayed here for nearly 2 months so you can take that as my review!;)

Room Tip: The breakfast is pretty popular so don't leave it until 10:29 like I did most mornings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterWBrown85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect base for your stay in Rio. If you want a quality hostel that's quiet without being too quiet this is the one.

I was initially concerned by the location, thinking I needed to be by one of the beaches. But this is a way better spot. A minute or two from the subway that takes you anywhere but crucially Discovery is very close to Lapa and Santa Teresa. Copacabana and Ipanema are 30 mins max on the subway which is easy to use.

Inside it has everything you need, including a great breakfast (8.30am start could be earlier though), good showers, a bar, social area and wifi throughout the building.

The staff are all good, each being very approachable and knowledgable.

Overall I had a great time here. It was comfortable, quiet and easy to sleep but it also has a good atmosphere and a night out is there if you want it.

Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Kris6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

+ nice and social atmosphere
+ clean
+ charming venue, nicely decorated
+ central position

- showers are too small so you have to dry yourself while the shower is still dropping on you
- rooms are very small
- The staff was mostly very nice. Only negative episode was one morning as I had to leave the hostel 15min before breakfast time. When I arrived in the kitchen everything was already ready and set up for the breakfast so I asked if I could take a piece of cake and the staff member told me that NO, I am not meant to take anything before time. I found that quite silly as it wouldn't change anything for them. I didn't ask to prepare anything extra before time or do somethin special, it was already ready.

I would definetly recommend this hostel. I enjoyed a lot my time there and met many nice travellers

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank NicPato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Literally the best hostel. Clean, confortable and laid-back frendly staff. Location wise it's perfect. Nearby lappa, metrostation is on the corner and copacobana and centro are just 10 minutes with the metro away. Only problem is that it isn't a franchise yet.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Stijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Discovery Hostel is just GREAT. There's nothing u miss in this feeling-at-home-house and I really appreciated either 1 of the 3 owners were always around giving a helping hand. Location is perfect, metro is a 2minute walk away and takes u anywhere in town plus a supermarket is around the corner. It's good to get to know other travellers, the communal area is spacious (inside/outside). The hostel is best rated for 2014 in Brazil/LA, but they really don't laze down, instead they're still trying to improve to be better. I will be back soon!

Room Tip: If you are female and travelling solo go for the female dorm :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 7 nights in the female dorm. My airline had lost my luggage so I had nothing for 24 hours when I arrived. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly towards me and ensured my stay wasn't affected by this. The breakfast was incredible also! I'd recommend the hostel to anyone coming to Rio and I'd definitely stay here again. It's very clean, safe and very comfortable. The location is also perfect for anyone wanting to experience a good range of activities throughout Rio. Thanks guys! Eisha :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
416 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#2 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
309 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#4 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#10 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
1,112 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Forest Hostel
Rio Forest Hostel
#5 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
271 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
WOLO Hostel
WOLO Hostel
#12 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Hostel

Property: Discovery Hostel
Address: Rua Benjamim Constant 26 | Gloria, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-150, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 798 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed by world travelers, Discovery Hostel in Rio de Janiero, Brazil, provides backpackers and budget-minded globetrotters all the comfort of a boutique hostel and the coziness and warmth of a home-stay. We have a strong focus on creating a clean, open and friendly social environment making Discovery Hostel the ideal base for travelers who want to explore Rio and have an experience of a lifetime. The premises include: fully equipped kitchen, computer's lounge, reception & tourist information desk, TV area, bar & chill out patio. Pamper yourself with our customized beds, thick mattresses, big lockers, personal control lights, A/C and all the relaxation you will need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing