We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good small hostel”
Review of Discovery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good small hostel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a great hostel. The guys who own the place are travellers themselves, and they know what backpackers are looking for. They have created a homely and social atmosphere, and it's only a small hostel which adds to the charm. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seanjpsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    43
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
78
199
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Traveling with a friend to Rio, we wanted to find a hostel that would be within our budget, clean and cool to meet people. First, I must start by saying that Discovery is a special place. If you’re looking for a young party hostel, carry on. This place is chill, great place to meet travelers from all over with the common goal of really getting to know Rio. My friend from Cape Town and I stayed here for a week and then I returned solo for 3 more nights towards the end of my holiday – and my whole entire stay was amazing. I admit this was my second time ever in my life to stay in a hostel and with all the talks about Rio’s safety and in hopes to meet people, I chose to stay here based on TripAdvisor reviews. Since day one, my friend and I met people from all over the world and of all ages. We would congregate in the morning during breakfast sharing sightseeing and dining tips, and at night around 8pm when the bar opens as well as dinner time, folks would gather to chat again, play games, watch futbol on TV or get ready to party in Lapa. Instantly we bond with travelers which elevated the experience in Rio – from taking tours to dancing in Lapa – every moment there was about 5-10 people in our group having fun and making sure we were all safe.

Discovery completely surpassed my expectations for a hostel. It’s fairly new – recently opened – it’s style is like staying at a cool friend’s place in Rio. It’s located 2 minute walk from Gloria station and 10-15 minute walk to the Lapa nightlife, 20 minute hike up to Santa Teresa. There are supermarkets, a pharmacy, a bakery, a church (if you need to pray) all in the immediate area. I met many people who stayed in hostels in Copacabana – though it would have been nice to stay near the beach, the hostel is about 7 metro stops away from the beach. I preferred staying in the Gloria area as it’s not touristy as Copacabana/Ipanema – at night you really can’t be hanging on the beach since it’s not safe so it was convenient to party in Lapa and have the hostel right there.

For the first week, my friend and I stayed in a mix 6-bed dorm (She later moved to the female dorm as it was difficult for her to climb to the top bunk) Linens are provided and the bed was comfortable to sleep. I bonded instantly with the guests in the dorm – felt like I was traveling with longtime friends or family. The space is fluid and did not feel cramp. There was enough space for everyone, enough lockers, spacious shower and bathroom (upstairs – just opened) Outside of the dorm, there was enough space to relax including a living area with TV, outside courtyard and huge kitchen. And let me share that the breakfast is great too.

The hostel arranged for transportation to/from the airport even when I returned from my visit to Foz do Iguacu. They also booked my city tour to Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf as well as a walking tour in the Favela (I recommend taking it with Patrick – he was awesome and cares about your safety). There’s a board that displays daily suggestions from dining to dancing. Anything you wanted to do or even if you were open for suggestions, the hostel took care of.

In regards to the staff, absolutely delightful! A big thanks to Lorraine, Zion, Enrique, Nacho, Sebastian, Sascha, Martha, Michell, and Leite the cat for making my holiday so amazing and for all the delicious caipirinhas!

Overall, I fully recommend a stay at this charming and homey hostel. I regret not staying longer yet now I have a reason to return…hopefully soon :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetsetMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Thanks all the crew in the Discovery Hostel. They helped me find my baggage through the bus company within only nine hours. They were nice and full of knowledge about almost every essential thing you need to notice in every aspect. It was very safe and full of harvest to take a trip with the tourist information they offered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FYCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Amazing hostel in a great location right next to the metro station. Very clean and secure hostel with an amazing breakfast (with cake!) every morning. Also the bar in the evening is great and reasonably priced. Friendly staff who really make an effort to make you feel at home and have a great time in Rio. Always helpful with any questions you might have. Also, very easy to meet other travellers in the communal areas. I stayed here for nearly 2 months so you can take that as my review!;)

Room Tip: The breakfast is pretty popular so don't leave it until 10:29 like I did most mornings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterWBrown85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect base for your stay in Rio. If you want a quality hostel that's quiet without being too quiet this is the one.

I was initially concerned by the location, thinking I needed to be by one of the beaches. But this is a way better spot. A minute or two from the subway that takes you anywhere but crucially Discovery is very close to Lapa and Santa Teresa. Copacabana and Ipanema are 30 mins max on the subway which is easy to use.

Inside it has everything you need, including a great breakfast (8.30am start could be earlier though), good showers, a bar, social area and wifi throughout the building.

The staff are all good, each being very approachable and knowledgable.

Overall I had a great time here. It was comfortable, quiet and easy to sleep but it also has a good atmosphere and a night out is there if you want it.

Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Kris6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

+ nice and social atmosphere
+ clean
+ charming venue, nicely decorated
+ central position

- showers are too small so you have to dry yourself while the shower is still dropping on you
- rooms are very small
- The staff was mostly very nice. Only negative episode was one morning as I had to leave the hostel 15min before breakfast time. When I arrived in the kitchen everything was already ready and set up for the breakfast so I asked if I could take a piece of cake and the staff member told me that NO, I am not meant to take anything before time. I found that quite silly as it wouldn't change anything for them. I didn't ask to prepare anything extra before time or do somethin special, it was already ready.

I would definetly recommend this hostel. I enjoyed a lot my time there and met many nice travellers

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank NicPato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Literally the best hostel. Clean, confortable and laid-back frendly staff. Location wise it's perfect. Nearby lappa, metrostation is on the corner and copacobana and centro are just 10 minutes with the metro away. Only problem is that it isn't a franchise yet.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Stijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
416 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#2 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
309 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#4 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#10 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
1,112 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Forest Hostel
Rio Forest Hostel
#5 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
271 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
WOLO Hostel
WOLO Hostel
#12 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Hostel

Property: Discovery Hostel
Address: Rua Benjamim Constant 26 | Gloria, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-150, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 798 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed by world travelers, Discovery Hostel in Rio de Janiero, Brazil, provides backpackers and budget-minded globetrotters all the comfort of a boutique hostel and the coziness and warmth of a home-stay. We have a strong focus on creating a clean, open and friendly social environment making Discovery Hostel the ideal base for travelers who want to explore Rio and have an experience of a lifetime. The premises include: fully equipped kitchen, computer's lounge, reception & tourist information desk, TV area, bar & chill out patio. Pamper yourself with our customized beds, thick mattresses, big lockers, personal control lights, A/C and all the relaxation you will need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing