We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you!”
Review of Discovery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Velsen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I normally do not like to leave reviews due to the fact that it just doesn't interest me that much, but due to the fact that I have stayed at Discovery Hostel quit often and I loved the place!
The atmosphere is awesome, the place because like your own house, well that how it feels. The owners though about every detail, like the outlet for your charger next to your bed and a light. Never the less the hostel is always clean and organised so the place suits at every age. Guys thank you and good luck with everything else!

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty the same, if you are scared of height then mention that in the reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    44
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
78
201
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Discovery was my first ever hostel on my first ever solo travel.
In the chaos that a big city can feel like, this place has been like an oasis.

Discovery does everything to make sure this place is home for a few days.
After you check in, you're shown the storage for your backpack and the massive lockers to store whatever you will be using. The bathrooms are excellent and because of the frequency with which they are cleaned, I actually got to know the cleaning staff a little! The beds are clean and comfy and the kitchen is excellent.

These things are massively important, but as a solo traveller the real treasure here was the vibe and the friendships.
The awesome carrot/lemon/banana cake is shared together and over breakfasts plans are discussed where everyone is free to tag along with anyone. At night people share a few homemade caipirinhas and discuss where to go that night.

I left Discovery hostel a day ago to meet up with friends I'd made there and I will be meeting up with others. In one week I have made friends all over the world, and that includes the staff - easily among the nicest people I have ever met.

The first week of my lengthy trip was unforgettable, in no small part because of my stay here. I was sad to leave, but I will definitely be back!! - Andy

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank andyvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It is a shame I only stayed here for 2 nights, as it is hands down the best hostel I stayed in whilst in South America. The staff are extremely friendly and informative. On first seeing the interior and the design of the hostel, you know that this alone sets it apart from other hostels. It boosts a very welcoming setting, run by fellow travellers, where small details are met, such as a shelf, plug and light beside every bed. The breakfast alone was worth the 49BR.

Cheers discovery :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Discovery and in particular their staff are what really sets this hostel apart.

It's not the biggest or a Party hostel but you will make a ton of fellow travelling friends due to this.

Communal breakfasts and late night drinks with fellow travellers to share tips for your adventures in Rio or any else for that matter. Keep an eye out for the activity boad for some great suggestions on what's going on in this City.

I was travelling with my wife so opted for a private which was a lovely size...showers were shared somewhat although there are only 2 private rooms so not an issue.

A truly great base for seeing Rio...you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Shower temperature and pressure can be hit and miss... Only open water tap slightly to maximise heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RyanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin,TX
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

emails went smoothly then they messed up our reservation and we lost our private room and we all had to do dorms. That and the taxi not picking us up were the only issues though.
Tip! get an aero taxi just outside the airport it's aroundR$60 and the hostel charges R$90 and their guy didn't show up and kept us waiting 30mins and the hostel didn't seem to think this was a big deal when we called them so that service is overpriced and unreliable. Pass. The owner Ricky is a really nice guy who offered us free caipirinhas after the mix ups when we met him. The Aussie girl working the front desk was also friendly and helpful. there was a guy with black curly hair who didn't seem to know anything and was new and spoke little English not an ideal receptionist at a hostel. Overall a clean friendly & convenient hostel. like all 4 star and below options out there they are what you make of them and that's what separates them from the 5star. Nice pillows and that's always appreciated. Avoid the reg private room it's right next to the common room dinning area so loud and no privacy to pee and shower. The female dorm had more privacy and ensuite was helpful since not a lot of toilets here.
Bring your own lock they overcharge you for a dinky lil annoying one here.
Avoid the vodka in brazil it's really weak as is the local beer and drink the bottle with the 51 on it. Ask about samba de sol on Fridays and Mondays it's free and awesome!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chas8Chips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was the best hostel I've ever stayed at. You can tell that it is run by travellers, as they have taken care with small details (a shelf, light and plug by every bed). The atmosphere is great, not a party hostel, but certainly a social hostel. The location is great, close enough to walk to the parties in Lapa, and right by the Metro for easy access to all the sights in Rio.
Make sure you try the caipirinhas at the hostel, they are far better than the ones at street parties and most restaurants!

Room Tip: The female only dorm has an ensuite bathroom. The bunks are 3 high, so if you're worried about h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianteacher123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had an amazing time at the Discovery Hostel. The staff are super friendly and the hostel is located in a beautiful old home which creates a homely feeling. The hostel was always kept clean and it is a great place for meeting other travellers. The location is also perfect, it's walking distance to Lapa and there is also a subway at the end of the road which takes you directly to all the touristy sites and beaches. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleSydney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#2 of 802 in Rio de Janeiro
426 reviews
Santa Teresa
Santa Tere Hostel
Santa Tere Hostel
#3 of 802 in Rio de Janeiro
312 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#4 of 802 in Rio de Janeiro
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#10 of 802 in Rio de Janeiro
1,122 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Forest Hostel
Rio Forest Hostel
#5 of 802 in Rio de Janeiro
273 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
WOLO Hostel
WOLO Hostel
#11 of 802 in Rio de Janeiro
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Hostel

Property: Discovery Hostel
Address: Rua Benjamim Constant 26 | Gloria, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-150, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 802 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Developed by world travelers, Discovery Hostel in Rio de Janiero, Brazil, provides backpackers and budget-minded globetrotters all the comfort of a boutique hostel and the coziness and warmth of a home-stay. We have a strong focus on creating a clean, open and friendly social environment making Discovery Hostel the ideal base for travelers who want to explore Rio and have an experience of a lifetime. The premises include: fully equipped kitchen, computer's lounge, reception & tourist information desk, TV area, bar & chill out patio. Pamper yourself with our customized beds, thick mattresses, big lockers, personal control lights, A/C and all the relaxation you will need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing