We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vidigalhouse Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed at Vidigal House for 3 weeks while I was doing a volunteer programme. Now honestly I was a bit apprehensive about staying in the favela's but I genuinely have never felt safer. Vidigal is a great place to stay and has just a great feel to it you really get the best experience of Rio staying here. Had the absolute time of my life staying here!

The hostel is one of the best places I have ever stayed. Bruno, Fernanda and Victoria go above and beyond to make your stay here brilliant and it is like a home when you are there! They do all the extra bits to make your trip even better, playing football on the beach at night, playing tennis and the BBQ on the balcony is just brilliant! They really do do everything they can to make the most of your trip!!
Things you must do when your out here is go to the maracana for a football match and it must be the Flamengos! (Bruno will help you get tickets) and sugar loaf mountain is incredible.

I have definitely made friends for life with staying here and a massive thank you to Bruno, Fernanda and Victoria for everything they done in my 3 weeks, for making me feel right at home and for all there hospitality.

A must stay if you are visiting Rio de Janeiro, couldn't fault anything about it! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaMJ93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

I had a great 3 week stay at Vidigal House. I had been travelling around for two months before I stayed here and it was hands down the best place I stayed in South America. People will, of course be told to steer clear of the favelas but that would be a big mistake. Vidigal was by far the place I felt safest in Rio, with friendly locals and bars and restaurants all very close. Although there is a substantial hill to ascend there are always the moto taxis which are always fun.
Bruno, Fernanda and Victoria were fantastic and unbelievably helpful and great to talk to. They would take you to play tennis or join you on the beach, and of course the bbqs at the hostel which were great fun. Bruno also organised for a load of us to go and see an amazing game at the Maracana which was such a good experience.

Cant thank those guys enough for such a great stay!

Hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughieL-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Anyone who comes to Rio de Janeiro should stay here! Although some may come with preconceptions of being situated in a favela, it is without doubt the place I felt safest during my stay in Rio. Although there is a steep hill up to the hostel, for the thrill-seekers out there (or just for the lazy!) you can jump on a moto-taxi and be driven up for only a small fee.

Bruno and Fernanda have made this hostel a home for travellers. It has everything you need from breakfast in the morning, to free Wi-Fi, a TV and comfortable beds whilst being in a lively and convenient part of the city. The owners go above and beyond what is required, even offering to take us down to play tennis or onto the beach for a BBQ with Caipirinihas.

I have such great memories from the month I spent here and would definitely recommend it! I, for one, will be coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here while volunteering in Rio, the hostel is situated in the favela, however it is not what you may expect. The area is full of life with plenty of nearby bars, restaurants and shops with easy access into town. There are even cheap motorbike taxies available for those who don't want to trek up the mountainous landscape. The locals are extremely welcoming and I always felt safe in Vidigal. The hostel has 3 bathrooms, comfortable beds, spacious seating lounge area, with satellite T.V/DVD player, rooftop terrace, free wi-fi & breakfast provided. Bruno, Fernanda & Victoria who run the hostel are amazing, they really make you feel at home, can't thank them enough for their hospitality. Look no further for accommodation, this is most defiantly the place to stay for a real taste of Brazilian lifestyle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Bruno & Fernanda made my stay in Vidigal extremely comfortable and couldn't have been more helpful. The hostel is situated in lively Vidigal, and has everything you could need, kitchen, computers, comfortable beds, etc. I would recommend this hostel and I could not fault it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loz1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Loved every day I stayed here, very friendly family run hostel withe great view, lots of beer and local bars and clubs. I would recommend this hostel to everyone going to rio for an adventure and real brazilian favela life.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronak111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

If you're heading to Rio and want to get an idea of life in a favela stay with Bruno and Fernanda at Vidigal House. The hostel itself is kept very clean and tidy so even though the facilities are fairly basic it's a very comfortable place to stay.

Whilst you're there you're made to feel apart of the family and Bruno and Fernanda go above and beyond their job to make sure everyone is happy and enjoying themselves. If you are ill or need help or advice they will do all they can to help you. They are also always on hand to recommend places to visit, restaurants to eat at and things to do.

When I first heard I was going to be staying in a favela I had no idea what to expect but now I'm so grateful that I stayed there as the experience would not have been the same in the more touristy areas such as Copa.

10/10 for this hostel!!!

Room Tip: There is a 9 person or a 3 person room. I was put in the 9 person which was cosy but somehow it work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharRobertson93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Hostel Favela Experience Vidigal
#26 of 825 in Rio de Janeiro
99 reviews
021 Hostel
#22 of 825 in Rio de Janeiro
138 reviews
Copacabana
Pura Vida Hostel
Pura Vida Hostel
#23 of 825 in Rio de Janeiro
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le House Hostel
#35 of 825 in Rio de Janeiro
89 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#9 of 825 in Rio de Janeiro
651 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Forest Hostel
Rio Forest Hostel
#10 of 825 in Rio de Janeiro
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vidigalhouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vidigalhouse Hostel

Address: Rua Major Toja Martinez Filho 127 Casa 2 | Vidigal, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22450-270, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 825 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £14 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vidigalhouse Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vidigalhouse is a small friendly and simple hostel, with 6 bedrooms total with capacity up to 15 people. It's located in Vidigal, a safe 'favela' in between the famous Leblon neighborhood and Sao Conrado. Situated 500 meters away from the Vidigal Beach and 5 minute bus ride from Leblon Beach. The hostel has WIFI and a computer with internet access for free. A big terrace where on Sundays BBQ's with Brazilian music and lots of 'caipirinhas' are served, a shared kitchena and 4 bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vidigalhouse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vidigalhouse Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing