We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tours in rio. Of the beaten track”

Bravietour Incoming Tour Operator
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bravietour is a local tour operator that provides packages and tours focused in the interaction with the local culture, taking visitors to less visited locations and thematic tours based on well known brazilian caracteristics. Such as Backgrounds of Carnaval Tour, Football Culture Tour, Favela Hiking, Walking Tour Historical city center of Rio, Visit to a Social Project, Nightlife as a local etc.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great tours in rio. Of the beaten track”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Rodrigo and his collegues provide great insights into brazilian culture. Not just the standard stories. We ve visited the favelas, did corcovado and a city tour with 25 dutch entrpeneurs.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jasperb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo B, Proprietário at Bravietour Incoming Tour Operator, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello Jasper,

Thanks a lot and it was pleasure to assist you in Rio. Looking forward to meet you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Fascinating favela visit”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We visited the favela Pavão-Pavãozinho, between Copacabana and Ipanema. The full experience was excellent, from booking to the final goodbye. Our guide Gabriel speaks fluent English and being from the favela himself, knows its situation and history well. The views are wonderful. Bringing children is not a problem, as long as they can walk themselves or can be carried. We visited on a very hot day, and because of this, Gabriel adjusted the tour so that we shortened the walk a little (we brought six children) but got to see another areas of the community. The kite-flying and the city views are wonderful. Absolutely recommendable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank margrethe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo B, Geschäftsführer at Bravietour Incoming Tour Operator, responded to this review, 1 December 2014
Our sincere thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouray, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gabriel is wonderful Guide, Tours were Excellent”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My mother (72), my husband and I took 2 tours with Gabriel. His english is very very good and he is easy to understand. His knowledge of Rio and the Favela near Copacabana Beach is firsthand as he lives there.

We took the Favela tour which provided great insight into the life of many people in Rio. It is eye opening, but, not threatening. The residents of the favela were courteous and friendly. It seems that they are proud and encourage some tourism as it brings jobs and money to locals.

Gabriel seems to know just about everyone there, we were welcomed into the neighborhood and had a great lunch at a small restaurant near the top with great views of Copacabana Beach below.

This tour required a lot of walking, up and down narrow alleys and stair cases but participants are rewarded with incredible views. Gabriel does a remarkable job.

In the afternoon, Gabriel took us to Santa Theresa neighborhood which is the home to many artisans and small galleries as well as a unique staircase lined with tiles. This too was worth a trip and once again, hiking uphill is a must.

No sandals here, sturdy shoes are a must for both tours!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo B, Geschäftsführer at Bravietour Incoming Tour Operator, responded to this review, 1 December 2014
Thanks a lot for your words, Gabriel is sure a great guide and shows with passion and pride his community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing favela tour”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Favela hiking tour of Bravietour was recommended to us by friends. We went on a Saturday morning and it was absolutely worth it! The tour is amazing; you get to see wonderful views of the city and it enables you to get an insight into one of the favelas of Rio de Janeiro. Our tour guide Gabriel gave very interesting explanations about the history and the current situation of the favelas. It is a tour you cannot miss when visiting Rio!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank D0minique1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo B, Geschäftsführer at Bravietour Incoming Tour Operator, responded to this review, 1 December 2014
Thanks a lot! You're very kind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great day tours with Bravietour”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Recently took two different day tours with Bravietour - day tour for Petropolis and day tour of Rio city center and favela tour. Rodrigo - the owner and also the guide was great. He was very knowledgeable and speaks perfect English amongst other languages. He was prompt and getting back via email with any queries that I had. Had great time with him and will definitely strongly recommend him for tours around Rio area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nanotechusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodrigo B, Geschäftsführer at Bravietour Incoming Tour Operator, responded to this review, 1 December 2014
Great meeting you guys!! Thanks a lot and also about the tips on indian films.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bravietour Incoming Tour Operator also viewed

 

Been to Bravietour Incoming Tour Operator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing