We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, decent rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Ranked #45 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great service, decent rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Wife and I checked in very early morning on New Year's eve.

You can tell when you walk into the Ibis hotel in Botafogo that it's really a business hotel. But as far as business hotels go I found their staff to be extremely friendly, polite and helpful.

They were very helpful with tips on travelling to and from the celebrations on Copacabana beach, on how to stay safe, where to avoid, where to eat, what to wear etc. etc. They weren't set up to make dinner reservations or book taxis, but they would always point us in the right direction.

The rooms were a bit cramped, and with lots of fluorescent white lighting. Not very relaxing. The bathrooms were nice and spacious and the showers powerful. There usually weren't enough towels but they would happily give you extra if you went downstairs. (There is no room service.). Also the AC could be a bit temperamental- a little too cold in the night and not cold enough by early morning.

Room Tip: Apparently some rooms higher up have a view of Cristo Redentor but the ones lower down have stronger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    983
    216
    38
    9
See reviews for
362
465
151
552
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We got what we expected: clean room, comfortable bed, good wifi. Staff was friendly and helpful. The location was close to the subway and in a safe area. We had a lunch in the restaurant and it was pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I had a good surprise with Ibis Rio de janeiro Botafogo, because I had already stayed at other Ibis hotel located in the city center and a had a bad experience then. I choose these hotel for the location, cause it's near to copacabana and Leblon neighborhoods as well to downtown. Another good surprise was the staff, very kind and helpfull, and need to mention the hotel restaurant is very good and cheap. Another quality is the cleanliness and silence of the rooms. I have no doubt to come back to this hotel next trip to Rio de janeiro

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joao Kleber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

To cut a long boring story short... I get there after 22h travel, and despite knowing I have paid, and having an email from the hotels', parent group (Accor), who's website I booked through, proving I have paid I have to pay again. They ask if I have my credit card statement with me, really who does, especially if you're away 3 months. To add to the misery, on checking out they try to get me to pay again, and I have to email them a photo of the receipt to prove that I have paid. Truly poor.

Apart from that the hotel was ok for budget. Room standard ibis fair. Quite poorly isolated from noise in hotel, but clean and comfortable.

I would award this a 4 if it hadn't been for all the administrative problems which wasted a total of an hour and a half and no doubt more time when I get home. I would also say the reception staff were very pleasant, but this Organisation needs to get it's house in order.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilherme M, Gerente at Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Custumer,

we are really sorry about the issue you declared above.

Probably, there has been some operation problem at the front-desk or a some issue during the online payment.

I would like to ask you for further information so we can feedback our team about this problem.

I will be available on this e-mail: h7547-dm @ accor . com . br.

Please contact us!

Once again, we are sorry about this and thank you for sharing with our community.

Best regards,

Guilherme Martins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This hotel delivers the typical Ibis experience: clean rooms, comfortable beds, reliable wifi and a good breakfast. Front desk staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The location was close to the subway, so we found getting around Rio very easy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MathYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

For a budget hotel chain, the Ibis in Botofogo was good.

Whilst the place is never going to win any awards for luxury or exceptional service, you shouldn't expect that with such low room rates. This hotel has all the essentials you look for in a hotel: safe, secure, clean and close to transport (Botofogo Metro Station was less than a 5 minute walk away).

Overall, staff were perfectly pleasant: the check-in and check-out process was efficient. The breakfast was cheap yet plentiful, and reflected the bargain price.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GazMan012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo
#86 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Botafogo
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
#70 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#60 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
#16 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#34 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Catete
Hotel 1900
Hotel 1900
#33 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel

Property: Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Address: Rua Paulino Fernandes, 39, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22270-050, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mr Basilio EDSON, the manager of the ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo hotel, would like to welcome you.The Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo is located close to the Botafogo metro station and 4.3 miles (7 km) from Santos Dumont Airport and the city center. The hotel has 270 apartments with air conditioning and minibar, as well as offering free WIFI. Paying car park, a restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, in addition to a 24-hour bar. The Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo is a strictly non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing