We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
US$397
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,977)
Filter reviews
1,977 results
Traveller rating
651
1,038
236
41
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
651
1,038
236
41
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssubway stationbreakfast costfresh papayanice bedfront desk staffinternet servicerooms are smallhotel is modernbars and restaurantssafe locationroom safeminute walkbudget hotelspoke englishcristo redentoreasy accessfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 1,977 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great Ibis close to the Metro in Botafogo which is also good for eating / shopping etc. Rooms are standard Ibis, clean and functional.

The staff on reception were very helpful and even let me check in early (7:30am) with no problem at all.

A note on Rio in general. Dont believe the scare stories about security. Sure you need to be careful but you are missing out on the greatest party on the planet if safety puts you off!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marraminga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Having stayed here for Carnaval weekend, we were greeted at check-in with staff dressed up for the festivities - which was a welcome, light-hearted sight after a long trip. That said, it took an age to actually check-in due to an issue with allocating the key card - fair enough, but leaving us standing there whilst the receptionist fumbled about and kept going missing with no explanation whatsoever was a little frustrating.

The bedroom was small but had slightly better fittings than expected for an IBIS - flat screen TV and an excellent shower, for example. It's a short walk from the local metro station, which allows getting around Rio quite easy. The bed was comfortable enough and for three nights' stay this IBIS done the job well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We chose this hotel as our base for the ‘big sights’ of Rio. This ibis, is much like any other ibis I’ve stayed in - functional, comfortable and perfectly clean.

Check-in was fine, I was recognised as a Le Club Accor Platinum member, and received a complimentary welcome drink from the bar. The room was laid out like most other ibis hotels, which was functional and very clean.

On one evening whilst redeeming the complimentary drink mentioned above, we had a great chat with the barman, he spoke very little English, and we spoke very little Portuguese, but with the power of google translate, we had a great laugh, the staff were all very friendly.

This hotel is well located in the Botafogo area of Rio. Nearby is a shopping centre, restaurants, bars, the underground station and there is a large supermarket next to the hotel. We were also able to walk to the Sugarloaf Mountain from the hotel.

My only gripe with the hotel was the wi-fi was pretty poor, despite this being a new hotel.

Overall, this hotel delivered to the usual ibis standard, it’s well situated to explore the major sights of Rio.

Room Tip: There are some rooms from which you can see the Christ the Redeemer, so request one of these.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarrenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great price, close to everything by metro (which is within walking distance). Very clean. The a/c worked excellent. Had a refrigerator and bathroom was surprisingly comfortable in comparison to the ones in Paris. The only thing was the elevator!!! One was out of service so it took a long time!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was a very new hotel in the Ibis chain and so everything seemed new and modern, but the room was small, there was no view, and it was nothing more than a place to sleep. Price was so-so, I paid $100US on advance pay with no refund.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews