We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & clean, but spoilt by poor staff service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Ranked #46 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading, UK
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great location & clean, but spoilt by poor staff service”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Overall it is a good hotel, with all the Ibis characteristic but unfortunately was spoilt by poor service.

Pros
- Good location
- Clean
- Plentiful breakfast at 16 Real but not as appetising as it could have been

Cons
- I tried to book a cab to the airport which was recommended to me. The taxi firm did not speak English. I asked Clarissa, at reception, if she could help call on my behalf and she refused to help me.
I was quite appalled by her attitude and that has spoilt my experience at Ibis. Being an experienced traveller, I have visited many hotels and not once have i encountered a refusal to help.
- No tourist maps kept at reception
- Generally unfriendly staff but the security chaps did manage to squeeze a smile out for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    1,004
    219
    38
    9
See reviews for
366
476
154
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juiz de Fora, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was my first time at an IBIS hotel. Location is very good. I arrived by subway and it was a 5 minutes walk to the hotel. Quite easy. The area is also very nice, with lots of markets, bakeries and bookstores. There are malls nearby (two of them within walking distance) and even a movie theater.

The hotel itself looks quite new. The lobby is very nice, with a nice coffee, a lounge and free to use computers.

The receptionist was not very friendly, but I find this to be a rule, rather them an exception, in Rio. Check in (and the check out) was very quick. Which is always a plus.

The room itself is not huge, but it's comfortable and clean. The shower is good, the bed is pretty comfortable and there's a nice TV (didn't turn it on, though).

Wi-fi works good at the room I was at (5th floor) and also at the restaurant. Breakfast, which is not included at the fee (it was R$16 when I was there) is nice, which fruits, different kinds of bread and cheese, juices, coffee and so on.

Moving in and out of the hotel is fairly easy. There's the subway and buses, all nearby. You can also park you car at the garage (which, again, is not included in the fee, and costed R$30) or you can get a taxi (though they will inform you you'll have to go to the street and take it yourself because they won't call it for you).

My only real complain is about the elevator noise. There's this amazingly annoying bell which is going to beep all night long whenever the elevator arrives at a floor (and you can hear it stopping not only at your floor). They should REALLY turn that thing off. There's no need for it. The room walls also seems to be very thin, so you should pray you don't get any noisy neighbors. Since I had to wake very early in the morning I went to bed at 9 PM and was woken a few times by the bell and one time by what I believe was the maid getting some stuff from the locker which was just outside my door.

As for the price, Ibis Botafogo is definitively overpriced. You can get the same kind of comfort for a lower price.


TLDR:

The good:
- Location
- Rooms
- Access
- Neighborhood
- Wi-fi signal

The bad:
- Way overpriced
- Receptionists are not very friendly
- They will die if they call a cab for you

The ugly:
- The elevator bell of doom which is going to sound all night long

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gustavo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I was at the ibis only for a night. The hotel's location is excellent and the rooms passable, but the staff at breakfast wore obstipated dour expressions, and were curt and uninformative with no eye contact or desire to help. I asked one female staff member if they had any ketchup, and all I got was a curt and dismissive "No!" This was in stark contrast to the overall Brazilian experience of friendliness elsewhere. I don't see how such establishments will rise to the challenge of hosting guests arriving for the World Cup, and then the Olympics.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandrashekhar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilherme M, Gerente at Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for your comment!

We hope that we will be able to improve our services with your opinion.

We are really sorry about the issue related above! We assure you that this was an unique fact and does not fit to our service.

Anyway, we will be relating to ours employees your observation and also to the restaurant manager.

best regards,

Guilherme Martins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here during the Carnival weekend because the hotel price was way too high in Copacabana and Ipanema area. Overall it was a present say.

The only problem we had was the key cards suddenly didn't work during the last day. We went to the lobby and got new cards. When we got back to the room and found out the safe box could not be opened. We went to the front desk and told a guy (in his 20s wearing glasses) about the safe box. He acted like he never heard such thing. I asked him if there was anybody else speak english, he replied he did speak English but he didn't understand a single word I was saying.

Finally he asked a more senior guy, this guy immediately understood the situation and called the maintenance people to our room to open the safe box.

I do feel most people working in this hotel is very helpful. However occasionally there was few people either doesn't speak English well or just didn't want to help.

The plus is the WIFI is fairly fast. Also I think the breakfast is good value. The breakfast food is basic, but it is only 16 Rs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great Ibis close to the Metro in Botafogo which is also good for eating / shopping etc. Rooms are standard Ibis, clean and functional.

The staff on reception were very helpful and even let me check in early (7:30am) with no problem at all.

A note on Rio in general. Dont believe the scare stories about security. Sure you need to be careful but you are missing out on the greatest party on the planet if safety puts you off!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marraminga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo
Ibis budget RJ Botafogo
#100 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
177 reviews
Botafogo
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
Mercure Botafogo Mourisco
#65 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
939 reviews
Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
#16 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#60 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,011 reviews
Botafogo
Quality Suites Botafogo
Quality Suites Botafogo
#138 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
838 reviews
Botafogo
Zii Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Zii Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#142 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel

Property: Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
Address: Rua Paulino Fernandes, 39, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22270-050, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Best Value Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mr Basilio EDSON, the manager of the ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo hotel, would like to welcome you.The Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo is located close to the Botafogo metro station and 4.3 miles (7 km) from Santos Dumont Airport and the city center. The hotel has 270 apartments with air conditioning and minibar, as well as offering free WIFI. Paying car park, a restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, in addition to a 24-hour bar. The Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo is a strictly non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., ACCOR and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing