We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most amazing atmosphere in Rio!”
Review of Gaia Art & Cafe

Gaia Art & Cafe
Ranked #300 of 13,663 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$5
Cuisines: Brazilian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Gaia Art Cafe is a charming, cozy bistro which focuses on natural, vegetarian food, organic products and gluten-free options. Much more than a simple coffee, Gaia is a space for cultural and artistic expression as well as exchange of ideas. Tuesday nights : Live Jazz Thursday nights: Live Contemporary music Sundays at noon: Live Chorinho Opening Hours: Tues. - Sat.:Noon-10pm Sun.:10Am - 6 pm
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing atmosphere in Rio!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I visited Gaia Art & Cafe this July and August 2014 and I totally fall in love with this place!!!!
The owner Flavia and her mum are so friendly and sympathetic and will welcome you with a big smile! :) The food is also delicious, I had there several soups, salads, vegetable and fruit drinks, and especially organic Acai! The best I had in Brazil!! All that in a very nice place near the beach with a great athmosphere, that makes Gaia a place, where people will always return for more positive vibes and delicious food! I TOTALLY recommned!!! :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lusigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    73
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“truly brazilian experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

don't miss gaia cafe - food, people, interior and sound, all outstanding. we ate fejoada and falafel and there was brazilian sound.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Change of Pace in RJ”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This cozy cafe was not very busy when we arrived around 3 in the afternoon and remained calm until we left around 4:30. The service was excellent compared to most restaurants I've gone to in Rio, and the food was pretty fantastic. We ordered Pao de Alho ((garlic bread)) for an appetizer. It was delicious! Soon after, our veggie burgers arrived--once again proving to be very satisfying. The portion of Manioc was a bit smaller than I would have liked, but honestly for the price ((R$25)) WHO could really complain. At this time, there is no English-translated menu available for tourists, which is a bit surprising but they assured us that there was one in the works. The only other thing that was a bit of a bother was the pesky mosquitoes buzzing around, but it's really hard to help something like that and I wouldn't blame the restaurant for something that Mother Nature throws into the mix. Next time I'm in the area, I will definitely try to make it back over!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank imok_ruok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and great food”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice little restaurant. Excellent and friendly service. Nice vegan / vegetarian choices. We had an enjoyable evening!
Restaurant is right on the corner, left hand side when coming from the beach.

Helpful?
2 Thank DartmouthOxford1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This cafe was opposite our hotel (which was awful), so it was a wonderful find for coffee or a beer.

It has a real community feel to it. On our first night a group were listening to readings of Brazilian poetry. When the reader realised we were from the UK, he gave us a few lines in English.

Next evening, there was a group playing a word game in French which appeared to be aimed at improving their knowledge of the language.

On our last day, Sunday afternoon, we spent a couple of hours listening to a Brazilian jazz band, which created a great atmosphere.

We didn't eat here but many customers did and the food looked good.

Far cheaper than the hotel across the road, better beer and far better service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GableEndie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaia Art & Cafe also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Gaia Art & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing