We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great area very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acapulco Copacabana
Ranked #30 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

i was here for the world cup and this place was a great find. right next to the beach and the world cup fan area. hotel room very nice, clean, and large. i asked for a double room for a single and it was nice and large. this hotel is worth staying at if for no other reason than the staff and especially Allan(left handed with glasses). he was a great help in finding places and things to do in a hectic time(world cup). i would stay here again!!

Room Tip: get a double for size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnschulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Situated 1 minute from the beach. 2 minutes from main street. My room was good, large bed and decent size with a view of front street and you could see the street, on the 13th floor. Very large selection at breakfast. I had contact with lovely staff. The hotel is right on the border of Copacabana and Leme. Busses close by. On my last night my room was wet, I think from the air conditioner, the changed me to the 11th floor suite and took my wet clothes to dry. It was no problem to them, the did it gladly, which is what you want when things go wrong. My wifi worked well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed from July 7 to July 15, 2014. It is about 30-35 minutes away from the airport. Hotel has excellent location just one street away from beach. Best part of hotel is FREE breakfast (good quality with lots of variety). Rooms are decent, but the beds suck...they are so small and suited for a young teenager rather than an adult. Noisy at night and somewhat hard to sleep. Depending on where your room is the view may not be so great (back of hotel). Rooms have a safe but there are no locks and safe is not digital so dont leave valuables in there. Staff is friendly and people at front desk speak english. Hotel is a little pricey, but cheaper than other hotels. Rio and Copacabana in general is expensive. Has AC and small bar fridge. Elevators are small and only a few people at a time can fit. The hotel could do with some cosmetic upgrades but it is still generally nice. 2 computers in lobby and wi fi in lobby too, but the wi fi in the rooms sucks.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maltonsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Good location between the beach of Leme and Copacabana.
Two minutes walk to beach. Excellent breakfast service!
Unfortunately the WIFI signal in the rooms is veryyyyy weak!
The price per night is a little bit high, but it's worth the money.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Soemanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nice little hotel with great access to Copacabana. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast selection - the tropical fruits and the cakes! Yum. Clean and tidy, comfy bed, room on the small side but the bed is huge, the shower was hot and good pressure. Overall very good hotel - i would recommend for good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bowlar '
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed at the Acapulco Copacabana hotel with 2 friends for 14 nights during the World Cup. The location is excellent less than 5 minutes walk from the Leme end of Copacabana beach. Transfer from the main International airport takes about 25 minutes in a taxi and costs approx 75 Reals.

The hotel is not luxury but does all the basics incredibly well. Check in and check out was straight forward, although only one member of staff spoke excellent english.

Room was huge with a large bed, ample storage space and not one but two televisions!! Bathroom was clean and spacious with a large walkin shower. The maid cleaned the room daily to a high standard.

Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of cold items, some hot items and others could be made to order.

There is a simple lobby bar with everything you would need for a quick drink before heading out or when coming in at night. Although it is not the sort of bar your could spend a great deal of time in.

Staff were polite and helpful although english was occasionally a problem.

The only minor complaint I would have is the lifts sometimes were a pain at peak time (8am-10am) and if you were staying on the top floor like myslef it could take a while for one to arrive and there could be many stops on the way down and back up.

In conclusion I was perfectly happy with the hotel for the 2 weeks and would have no problem recommending it for people not looking for the height of luxury.

Room Tip: Stay rear of the hotel for less traffice noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elpeepez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a very wide selection of food. The location is fantastic, only a block away from the Leme end of Copacobana beach. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We did have difficult using our debit cards to pay for the bill and ended up having to withdraw cash instead, but this is not uncommon in Brazil. Overall, we thought this hotel was fantastic value and a great place to stay in Rio.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
#28 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,364 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#38 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
753 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#35 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arena Leme Hotel
#11 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
542 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,927 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acapulco Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Copacabana

Address: Rua Gustavo Sampaio 854, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana , Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £74 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acapulco Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Acapulco Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acapulco Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Acapulco Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing