We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights in Rio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #73 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“3 nights in Rio”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Augusto's is in a good location, handy for sea front and easy to take a bus from there. Our room had very noisy air conditioning and the service lift ground its way up and down 13 floors most of the night.

Room Tip: Stay away from service lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosek963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    382
    207
    55
    35
See reviews for
164
330
76
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Just got back from Rio (5th Dec 2013) after an enjoyable one week stay at Augusto's Copacabana Hotel. Excellent room / breakfast / service / location--close to Beach / Shops / Resturants / Church. The Staff were very friendly and helpful especially Captain Rudolfo at the door, Dimas and Gleise at the desk.
Les & Winnie Kerr

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony facing Sugar Loaf Mountain / Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

There were some positive and negative things on our stay:
Good: the bed was confortable, it was quiet at night, location was close enough to the beach and to main bus stops, food (dinner) was good quality, you can change money at the hotel
Bad: we had to pay for wi-fi (when it was advertised otherwise on their website), breakfast bufet could be improved, communication with the waitress (dinner) was terrible (she couldn't communicate in Spanish or English), rooms were a bit outdated and not very well cleaned, the air conditioning was very noisy.
Overall, for a regular business or holiday trip where don't spend much time on the hotel, it is ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Electranieda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAMBRIDGE UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The staff were very helpful, fluent in English and concerned. If building work made the place noisy that was not their fault. The only real complaint was a lack of hot water at the beginning and end of my stay.

Room Tip: t the moment rooms on the street are quieter than side facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidpiggOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. When we entered, we suffered a flash back to the past, sometime between the 80's or beginning of the 90's. I think that "Old fashion" is the correct word to describe both the lobby and rooms. The staff was attentive.
The room's size was ok, as well as the bathroom. We had hot water and an adequate flow of water at the bath-tube. We also did use of the gym, that was well stuffed considering that it belonged to a hotel.
Breakfast was fine. It included some fruits, bread, juice, cheese, tea, and a very heavy coffee.
It is well located, just a few blocks away from the beach, bus stop, supermarkets and some "lanchonetes".
Wifi service had an additional cost, not included in the fare. As far as it is not a cheap hotel, I think it should be free for the guests!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmsol80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This 3 star hotel is located minutes away from the famous Copacabana beach. There at a few supermarkets and food stalls along the street. A launderette just next to the hotel.

The reception staff were very helpful but without a smile. All the staff in this hotel do not know how to smile which seem pretty unfriendly.

Our room was clean. The queen bed was hard which I love but the pillows were too soft. One of the pillow has a hole on it. The room needs to be refurbished. I have not seen an air condition like that before, it was very noisy when it turned on. there was no remote control for the air condition, so I had to climb up to the unit to adjust the temperature. The entire room only has one wall power socket, no coffee and tea making facility and tissues. I was surprise they have a flat screen TV on the wall. The safe in the closet was old, I couldn't figured how it works. I stayed on the first floor with balcony facing the street which is very noisy. I could hear every car that drove by!

The bathroom was small with a walk in shower. The hot water in the shower never works. It won't get hot no meter how long I had it turn on. The water pressure at the sink was weak. It took me longer time to brush my teeth and wash my face . I did like the super powerful hair dryer in the bathroom though

Wifi service is was not free. They charged Rs 15 ( USD7.50) for 24 hours

Breakfast was very good. There is a small gym and pool on the top floor.

The room rate was very expensive (USD244) for a worn out 3 star hotel. Perhaps it was because of the Rock festival during my stay but I think I could do better with this kind of rate.

The cons are more then the pros, I think I would stay someway else in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst we visited Rio. The hotel is extremely well located, only a 5 minute walk from Copacabana beach - which was brilliant! The hotel staff were very friendly, especially on our last day when they helped us to check-in online for our return flight and printed off all of our boarding passes for us - great service. The breakfast was nice and varied - cereal, toast, other cobs, juices, scrambled egg, crepes, cakes, yoghurts, fresh fruit, toasties. Only thing was the staff in the breakfast area were slow to react when certain foods ran low.
The room itself was ok - basic, but we only slept there so it didn't bother us at all, and I guess if you're staying in Rio, you won't be spending the day in your hotel room! Only thing was, the air conditioning is an old unit, which could become quite noisy, but it never kept us awake.
Pool at the top of the hotel is great too, which I used briefly whilst waiting to be picked up for the airport. Never saw anyone else up there. Overall, friendly hotel, and great for what we needed for three days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomad_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel
Augusto's Rio Copa Hotel
#72 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
708 reviews
Copacabana
Mirador Rio Hotel
Mirador Rio Hotel
#87 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
626 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Savoy Othon
Hotel Savoy Othon
#103 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
#136 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
241 reviews
Copacabana
Copa Sul Hotel
Copa Sul Hotel
#58 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
831 reviews
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#54 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusto's Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusto's Copacabana Hotel

Property: Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
Address: Rua Bolivar 119 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22061-021, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Augusto's Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Augusto's Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Augustos Copacabana
Augustos Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing