We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service, no help with theft from room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Promenade Princess Copacabana
Ranked #145 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I booked this hotel because of its proximity to Copacabana beach. I did not receive the room I was promised. The first two nights I could not sleep because of a loud beeping sound emitting from a building across the street. Hotel management told me that there was nothing they could do. The next day i walked across the street, spoke with the management of that building and voila...noise disappears.
Worse though on my 3rd night there, I discovered a gold necklace was missing from my room. The next morning I spoke with reception prior to leaving for an all day meeting. Not only was I not informed that i would need to file a police report, but the hotel manager,Maria, was unwilling to help me after I arrived back in the US. She said that "there was nothing she could do" . Therefore I have been unable to file an insurance claim.
Extremely poor attitude..hotel itself was not inexpensive and these folks could have cared less about my comfort. I was in Brazil to have meetings with the Central Bank. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, there are much better and less expensive alternatives nearby as i found who actually understand the meaning of customer service. If you are a tourist and do not really care about quiet rooms, good breakfasts or a caring staff, then this hotel is for you...everyone else can do much better.

Room Tip: Book a high floor, or better yet a high floor in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed for business. Very big room, nice shower, average breakfast. One lazy elevator didn't want to work every time, complicating everybody's early out for work rush... Nice free internet, tv. Good location in central Copacabana, not far from the beach, near taxi and bus stops. I would not complain if i'd have to stay there once again. The only bad thing was being charged R$ 9,00 for a tiny toothpaste (with nowhere near to check the price tag).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igornvidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Just what we wanted...good location...friendly and helpful staff....nice rooms...super breakfast....and a dodgy lift!!!!

Yes all good here bar the lift which was forever breaking down. But that is the only negative, all else was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GringoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Service was OK, breakfast was nice but nothing special, but the rooms were great. Apart from the AC being a bit loud they were veery satisfactory. Small pentry with fridge, stove and sink. We actually lived for a few days like in an apartment after an accident, cooking meals etc. The hotel was not very cheap but if you dont like to eat out its perfect, or if you're grounded because of injury. Keep safe and watch out for thugs!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

wasnt allowed to check in at 3 pm, even though check in starts at 2 pm. when we finally got our room, we realised we were downgraded, without anyone informing about it. tried to call reception; phone didnt work. went down to confront receptionist, who turned out to be well aware about the problem, but showed no regret. "hotel fully booked". room and lobby not in the best condition; worn. We were offered a room in another hotel in another part of the city. very weird conduct. do not recommend, will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Unremarkable hotel but brilliantly located for exploring the city. It's on the Copacabana beach end but very close to the metro and within walking distance of Ipanema beach. Ask for a room on the pool side as that should be quieter than the street side.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piccola_Oliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a nice hotel, located very close to Copacabana beach. The room is quite spacious and offers kitchen facilities. However there are very few utensils and charged 15 Reals for one broken glass. The free wifi was great and the staff were very friendly. Not the best value for money, but I guess that is Rio hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BronwynP337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
#126 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
252 reviews
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#124 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
787 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#40 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#33 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,134 reviews
Ipanema
Promenade Visconti
Promenade Visconti
#160 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
365 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Savoy Othon
Hotel Savoy Othon
#99 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Princess Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Princess Copacabana

Address: Rua Xavier da Silveira, 58, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22061-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Promenade Princess Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent option in Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, the most famous beach in Brazil ! Centrally located in the most "carioca" neighborhood of Rio de Janeiro , the Promenade Princess Copacabana is close to numerous attractions , entertainment, shops, bars , restaurants and a few meters from the Metro station, with connections to various parts of the city. With complete facilities , all accommodations feature a balcony and mini kitchen . And for your relaxation , sauna, pool and fitness room. A delicious breakfast buffet offered by Zum Bistro Café complete the facilities available to you and your family. Experience the comfort and amenities offered by Promenade Princess Copacabana ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Promenade Princess Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Princess Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Princess Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Princess Copacabana Hotel
Promenade Princess Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing