We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in great location”
Review of Promenade Visconti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Promenade Visconti
Ranked #158 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in great location”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We got what we wanted - an unpretentious, efficient and very pleasant hotel in the heart of Ipanema.
The beach is just a block away and there are shops, bars and restaurants nearby. The rooms are ample with good air-conditioning while the reception staff were genuinely interested in helping us. The breakfast had quite a lot of options, including plenty of fresh fruit. Just out of curiosity, tried the jacuzzi and sauna but neither were more than warmish. Overall though, this is a well-run, good value hotel with everything we were looking for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandAnna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    179
    54
    16
    13
See reviews for
56
160
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week during Carnaval and loved it. Located on a safe residential street one block from Posto 9, it was an easy walk to the beach and the best shops and restaurants in Ipanema. During the festivities, we could walk a few blocks in one direction to be a part of the “blocos” or a few blocks in the other direction if we wanted a more low-key evening.

Because we wanted some space to spread out, we choose a Junior Suite, and it was so nice to have the sitting area and kitchenette instead of just the standard tiny two beds/desk arrangement. The staff was attentive and accommodating, providing assistance whenever we needed it – one of the front desk staff was even kind enough to place some telephone calls for us when we experienced some issues with our Samba parade tickets. On our last day in Rio, we had a late flight out, and the hotel allowed us a late checkout and offered us the use of the showers in the pool area so we could freshen up before our long journey home.

The daily breakfast buffet was lovely and included a variety of hot (scrambled eggs and sausage) and cold (tropical fruit, yogurt, breads and pastries) items in addition to coffee, tea, and freshly squeezed juices. One evening we ordered room service from the restaurant, and the steak was one of the best we had while in Rio.

The location, the spacious suites, and the exceptional staff make this hotel an outstanding value. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: This might not be a good location for you if noise is an issue - there is a bar and nightclub adjace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleLawyerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Staying in this good a location usually comes with a huge price tag. We were pleasantly surprised by just how comfortable we were at this hotel for the price. Rio is expensive. Staff was very helpful and as a result we were able to get around easily by bus / taxi when needed. Full breakfast including fresh squeezed orange juice and eggs. Safe area which is a big plus...... we were able to walk there at night. They also have a pool / shower area which we took advantage of on our day of checkout; we had them store our luggage, toured the city some more, came back for a swim, showered, then headed for the airport late afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aatkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at Promenade Visconti for four nights during Carnaval so the room was wildly expensive (as with anywhere in Rio during that time).

The best feature of the hotel is it's location. 1 street back from Ipanema beach between Posto 9 and 10, close to shopping and some great restaurants within easy walking distance e.g. Garota de Ipanema, Porcao, Zaza Bistro Tropical. The location was particularly good for Carnival, as we only needed to step outside and there'd be a street party/bloco. Generally we found it fairly safe walking around near the hotel.

The room itself was good, large and fairly modern with a flat screen TV, free in room wifi and shower screen in the bathroom. The housekeeping was exception and cleaned thoroughly during our stay (it got messy fairly easily after a trip to the beach). Front desk was also very helpful which was greatly appreciated due to our distinct lack of Portuguese.

Breakfast buffet was fairly good with a range of fresh fruit and yoghurt to accompany the usual bread and pastries.

The only major downside was the noise at night from the neighbouring bar which went on til quite late.

Overall, we thought it was a good option for our stay during Carnival considering the relative price and location.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably quieter but the trade off is having to wait for the slow and small elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tez0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culpeper, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We arrived at this hotel after having traveled a day and a half from the U.S. and were not happy to have to stand at the front desk for 45 minutes before being checked in. The room was relatively clean although the shower needed some attention. The room was pleasant enough, but a bit worn and nothing special.

Both the Wifi and the TV were outdated.

On the positive side, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good, especially the fruit. You can't beat the location. You can walk a short distance to the beach and lots of shops and restaurants.

In general, if we were to go back, I'd look for a different place to stay, maybe shelling out a bit more money for something with a little more uniqueness.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scriptspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I had booked for 3 nights in this hotel (junior suite)
Clean, nice staff and clause to beach (one block) and restaurants like ..zaza and garota de ipanama 2 min. walking
Note that this hotel is outside sound insulator
Location for breakfast is small but enough to enjoy your morning breakfast

Room Tip: to be to the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ghassan-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The staff was excellent, they accommodated us with a late checkout time, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the location was excellent. The breakfast was very good. It was a bit pricey, but we were focusing on location and safety. We felt very comfortable here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amcgillycuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#84 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,178 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#65 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,134 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#115 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
#97 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
624 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#44 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
218 reviews
Ipanema
Everest Rio Hotel
Everest Rio Hotel
#175 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Visconti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Visconti

Property: Promenade Visconti
Address: Prudente de Morais 1050 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-042, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#57 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Promenade Visconti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the charming district of Ipanema, near the Plaza of Our Lady. Peace and a few steps from Posto 9 on Ipanema Beach, the Promenade Visconti is one of the best accommodation options in the South Zone of Rio de Janeiro. The hotel features an elegant and personal atmosphere, plus comfort and personalized service to ensure a stay more than enjoyable! Your accommodations are unique, have ample space and are designed for maximum comfort. Decorated with dark wood furnishings and warm colors, the resort offers the refinement for an unforgettable stay: queen-size bed, table and chairs, sofa, split air conditioning, LCD TV with cable channels, internet WIFI. Complete the services offered: sauna, whirlpool and fitness room. The Promenade Visconti parking service account for the convenience of its guests (upon availability / charged separately). Pets: Allowed on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Promenade Visconti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Visconti Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Promenade Visconti Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing