We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in Rio de Janeiro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Ranked #48 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
giussano
Level Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Rio de Janeiro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I've been there end of December for the New Year holiday. Room are ok and clean, and the hotel is very close to Avenida Atlantica where there is Copacabana beach. Avenida de Nossa Senora de Copacabana offer a big variety of shops and restaurant. As the Hotel is not Sea Front, price is also less expensive than other Hotel that are on the beach. Breakfast was quite good with an excellent selection of Fruits. People in the Hotel were always kind and helpful.
Internet was decent, and when not working they didn't charge.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enzo1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    425
    133
    16
    17
See reviews for
279
231
20
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
217 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Althought the hotel is in a great location, the staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. When asking about trips etc they just direct you to the internet which you have to pay for!! Even in the mornings at breakfast the head waiter did not acknowledge you and the waiters never even smiled. One receptionist was having a conversation with me, then stopped mid flow and went on to talk to someone else. They even charge you for the safe which most hotels do not.
The place is a bit run down but the room was big and cleaned quickly and efficiently. It could do with a make-over and some lessons in customer services..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Corcodova.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoRo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We had a hard time finding a hotel where the reviews did not describe uncaring staff, non-functioning AC and clogged toilets. Well - whaddayaknow - this one was no different. We asked for 1 double and 1 single bed, but we got 3 single beds. Our toilet clogged up after first use (and yes, we did throw toilet paper in the trash can, not down the drain) but our request to fix it were ignored, and we ended up filling the tank with water from the sink every time. The AC did not work, luckily we could open a window on the 12th floor. The hotel advertised free WI-FI, but it cost 20R an hour, which actually didn't matter because it didn't work at all - with no apologies from the management. We asked the person at reception to help us make a reservation for a restaurant, since we do not speak Portuguese and she irritably handed us the hotel phone to manage by ourselves. The lobby looks great, and the breakfast was generous. The rooms are spacious. The location is good, only 2 blocks from Copacabana beach and the neighborhood seems safe - we walked out every night. But the staff is indifferent and maintenance lax and for close to $300 a night this was unacceptable and we would NEVER come here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YOLO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I stayed there twice during my trip to Brazil in november-december 2011!
Excellent service, kind people, good breakfast (with fresh fruits, but too many sweets for me) and great rooms even with view over Christ the Redeemer!! :) Very clean!
Next time I'll travel to Rio de Janeiro I'll book this hotel!
And very close to Copacabana.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Having a room with a good view of Christ the Redeemer and a short walk from Copacabana I should not really complain. Worst part of the hotel was breakfast with the scrambled huevos cold every morning, coffee of indifferent quality, and service likewise. Our room and the public areas were cleaned to a high standard and I can have complaints in that area. Bar service was slow and indifferent and coupled with this and the breakfast experience we did not dine in the hotel.
The location of this hotel probably makes up for its shortcomings but I would probably look for something else if I were fortunate enough to visit Rio again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SansPeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1,246 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,724 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Cleanliness is impeccable and the staff´s attention is fautless. Rooms are comfortable, with quite modern facilities and, what is more, they are more spacious them the surroundings´average. An excellent breakfast with a wide range of tropical fruits, juices, cakes and breads impressed us too. As if it wasn´t enough, you are right in the middle of the "nervous center" of Copacabana´s main avenue and, at the same time, just 2 blocks from the beach. Excellent value for money. Worth it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GUSDALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

This hotel is nothing to write home about. The rooms are ugly and boring, but it was a perfectly adequate hotel in a city where that sometimes is hard to come by. The location is great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#57 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#82 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#29 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#59 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#140 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana

Property: Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Address: Nossa Senhora de Copacabana Ave. 552, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#44 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar Hotel Copacabana Palace offers a great location in the heart of Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro. It is just 80m from the beach and 150 meters from the Metro station Siqueira Campos. In the lobby of the hotel, the restaurant offers a variety of dishes. The terrace has a pool and a bar, where we offer drinks and snacks in the evening. We have spacious and confortable apartments. Services of personal trainer are available at an exclusive area at Copacabana beach. Hotel Mar Palace is nationally known as the sports hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Palace Copacabana Hotel
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing