We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oceano Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Olinda Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Premier Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Astoria Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apa Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royalty Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (891)
Filter reviews
891 results
Traveller rating
263
453
142
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
453
142
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo blockschrist the redeemernice bedminute walk to the beachlocation is greatnice breakfastan excellent hotelroof terracesmall gymair conditioningthe hotel stafftop floorwificopacabanariometrotaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 891 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The name of the hotel conjured up an exciting prospect of the first stop on my South American tour. Unfortunately, the name did not live up to my expectations. It is situated on a very busy street where cars find it difficult to stop outside and getting out of the car is hazardous to say the least. The hotel entrance is clean and the staff welcoming. The room was adequate but the view at the back of the hotel was not pleasant and I left the curtains drawn for the stay. If the mist had cleared it would have been possible to see the Christ statue, but that didn't happen. The photographs of the roof swimming pool promised much, but the reality was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

A relatively standard mid range hotel, in a good location in copocabana with pricing slightly better than normal. Parking is a really useful extra if you have a car - means no hassle with finding a space in safety. Bit tight with charging for wifi and only allowing one device access per room (if you sign on with one, it kicks the other off). But otherwise fine,

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Waldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Hotel was perfect for our first trip to Rio. We had two triple rooms as there were six of us. The front desk was very helpful with area restaurants and local bus service. They spoke good english. Rooms were clean and large enough. Internet was mostly OK, but sometimes did not work perfect. Only could have one internet device(phone or ipad) on in the room with access at a time. Did not understand why and it was not that big of a deal. My wife and I just spent 5 nights there with our 4 children. The breakfast was excellent. I will stay there again if in Rio.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The included breakfast is very delicious and easily worth $20-$30 of the price. The location was two blocks off the Copacabana beach. The rooms at the back have a beautiful view of the "Christ the Redeemer" statue that you can't see from many of the Beachfront hotels. Just a beautiful sight as you get ready for bed.
The rooms are a bit spartan but very clean and well kept-up. The front desk could not have been more friendly. The lady that met us at the front desk spoke perfect English and had great restaurant recommendations nearby. For those traveling to/from the US, the hotel is very accommodating to early arrivals (when rooms are available) and holding luggage at the hotel for late departures.
I made my reservation at the very last minute so this hotel was the lowest "nice" one available and I was very pleased with my stay.

Room Tip: I like the rooms at the back of the hotel and near the top because you can see the Christ the Redeemer statue.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukeChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The hotel is in a great location, being only two blocks from Copacabana beach and within a reasonable distance of all of the action. The room had only the bare essentials, which in a city like Rio de Janeiro is not a problem as you are not going to be spending a long time in the hotel. If you are looking for any mod-cons in the room, it isn't the hotel for you. My room was on the twelfth floor, and I also got a lot of external noise and clanking from God knows what. The breakfast buffet was also a very limited selection, and not all that appetising. The hotel also only has two lifts, and one was broken during my stay, which during high season meant waiting nearly 40 minutes on the 12th floor to come down to the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smallblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews