We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Ranked #49 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel is in a good location, not far from the beach and close to the metro, buses, internet cafes and restaurants. Our room was very spacious and was kept nice and clean. My friend and I had a double bed and a single bed to choose from, a table and chairs and a desk. On the whole most of the staff we spoke to were helpful and friendly. However, I did find a couple of the members of staff on reception a bit condescending when we asked the usual kind of questions you would ask when on holiday. This was disappointing because apart from that we had a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    428
    135
    16
    17
See reviews for
281
232
20
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The location is perfect! (Close to the beach, Metro station and restaurants.)
We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet with lots of fruits, chocolate cake and breads.
Lobby has a computer with a printer so you can print your tickets to go to the Corcovado and very friendly front desk staff - specially Werner.
The only minor issue was: Wi-Fi was slow in our room and you had to pay an extra fee for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WizardFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We booked this hotel through Expedia at a reasonable rate (compared to the prices of the other hotels around that area). Because of our flights, they were able to accommodated a very early check in.

I found the front staff great and very helpful (especially the lady and one of the gentlemen there). All of them spoke fluent english. They were helpful in finding us tickets to a Confederation Cup game which made my trip (we scored awesome seats as well)! Booking tours through them was hassle-free.

The room itself was what I expected - not much of a view but it was clean and spacious. I wish there was a clock in the room though as I had to use my iPad for an alarm.

The view from the patio was great. We didn't really use the pool or the gym but the sauna was good. I looked forward to having breakfast at the hotel everyday during our stay. There was always a great selection of hot and cold dishes, coffee, juices, etc.

There was no problem letting our friends (who did not stay in the hotel) up to our room, or just simply hang out at the lobby drinking coffee, etc. They just had to register with the front desk - no charges or anything unlike what another person was saying on here...

There was an small issue with payment of a room service charge (a waiter claimed that we did not pay for a dish we ordered, although we had in cash) but the staff dealt with it right away and trusted what we had said.

All in all I left very satisfied and would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Situated a short distance from Copacabana beach, and a few minutes walk from the Metro, Mar Palace is in a great location for those looking to spend some time at the beach and exploring Rio. The hotel is clean and the service is impeccable. From carrying cases to the room to reserving cabs back to the airport, the staff were willing to help. Language barrier? Not at all.
The rooms were large and equipt with a free safe and multi-channel TV. Wifi was available in the rooms for a 15 real per-day fee or could be used for free in the hotel lobby.
Breakfast has a wide choice, however for those who are a little fussy finding something plain might be difficult. Personally, I thought the food was of a very good standard, with a wide range of fruits, breads, cakes, cold meats and cheeses available.
The only negative aspect was the size of the pool. IF your looking to have a morning swim then head to the beach as the pool is very small. The views from the rooftop however make it up for considerably, with Christ visable at both day and night.
But at the end of the day, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1991Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a good base for visiting Rio. Good, clean accommodation and reasonably priced considering the location. Overall, the staff were friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast offered a varied choice. Leisure facilities were limited and the rooftop pool is more like a hot tub. No real complaints an I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Lower rooms at the rear of the hotel have views of the air conditioning units. Higher rooms a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryCestria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

On arrival the hotel looks amazing. Very expensive for what you get. If you want to run into a celebrity then this place is for you. Could think of many other hotels to go to which provide the same service for a great deal less. Overall this was an experience. Name does not live up to expectations at all. + side pool is big, rooms are spacious and service is good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berns23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Just one block back from the fabulous Copacabana Beach Hotel and walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and Copacabana Beach - this hotel was extremely well located and reasonably priced.
Our triple room with three single beds was very spacious and clean and there were enough bathroom amenities. Beds were comfortable enough but there was only one pillow provided per bed, and when we asked for extras, it was a bit like pulling-teeth!
Plugs for charging our electronics were plentiful but as thee people, all needing to log in to our various devices at the same time, we had difficulty due to the fact that only one device can be authorized to log on in each room. Reception simply told us we could use the free internet in the lobby. This was not really good enough considering the hotel sells itself as having free WiFi in the rooms which had been an important consideration for us in terms of choosing a hotel!
Breakfast was extremely good with yogurt, fruit, pastries/breads, eggs and other hot foods and a range of juices which changed daily.
Reception staff were mostly fairly unhelpful or perhaps just disinterested. When we asked for recommendations for restaurants and tours they just referred us back to the internet.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255100Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#42 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#58 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#82 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2
#59 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#141 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana

Property: Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Address: Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana 552, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#44 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar Hotel Copacabana Palace offers a great location in the heart of Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro. It is just 80m from the beach and 150 meters from the Metro station Siqueira Campos. In the lobby of the hotel, the restaurant offers a variety of dishes. The terrace has a pool and a bar, where we offer drinks and snacks in the evening. We have spacious and confortable apartments. Services of personal trainer are available at an exclusive area at Copacabana beach. Hotel Mar Palace is nationally known as the sports hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Palace Copacabana Hotel
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing