We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location good breakfast friendly staff: would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Ranked #47 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for 5 days in Mar Palace, staff was always helpful with directions and tips. The location is great you are literally 2 streets (2min walk) from copacabana beach and around the hotel there are lots of bus stops and shops. Breakfast was also great with varied fruits bread juices. The rooms were good. Worth going up to the rooftop and admire the incredible view over the Corcovado.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cocz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

If you want to enjoy the beach, this is the hotel because of its location, less than one minute from Copacabana white sands. It is definitely not at the level of a 4 star hotel however staff are excellent and helpful especially Anna and Nevena who always have good tips for a city tour.
Rooms need upgrade. Breakfast is generous but same variety every day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JobelK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel is in a good location, not far from the beach and close to the metro, buses, internet cafes and restaurants. Our room was very spacious and was kept nice and clean. My friend and I had a double bed and a single bed to choose from, a table and chairs and a desk. On the whole most of the staff we spoke to were helpful and friendly. However, I did find a couple of the members of staff on reception a bit condescending when we asked the usual kind of questions you would ask when on holiday. This was disappointing because apart from that we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LexScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The location is perfect! (Close to the beach, Metro station and restaurants.)
We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet with lots of fruits, chocolate cake and breads.
Lobby has a computer with a printer so you can print your tickets to go to the Corcovado and very friendly front desk staff - specially Werner.
The only minor issue was: Wi-Fi was slow in our room and you had to pay an extra fee for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WizardFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We booked this hotel through Expedia at a reasonable rate (compared to the prices of the other hotels around that area). Because of our flights, they were able to accommodated a very early check in.

I found the front staff great and very helpful (especially the lady and one of the gentlemen there). All of them spoke fluent english. They were helpful in finding us tickets to a Confederation Cup game which made my trip (we scored awesome seats as well)! Booking tours through them was hassle-free.

The room itself was what I expected - not much of a view but it was clean and spacious. I wish there was a clock in the room though as I had to use my iPad for an alarm.

The view from the patio was great. We didn't really use the pool or the gym but the sauna was good. I looked forward to having breakfast at the hotel everyday during our stay. There was always a great selection of hot and cold dishes, coffee, juices, etc.

There was no problem letting our friends (who did not stay in the hotel) up to our room, or just simply hang out at the lobby drinking coffee, etc. They just had to register with the front desk - no charges or anything unlike what another person was saying on here...

There was an small issue with payment of a room service charge (a waiter claimed that we did not pay for a dish we ordered, although we had in cash) but the staff dealt with it right away and trusted what we had said.

All in all I left very satisfied and would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Situated a short distance from Copacabana beach, and a few minutes walk from the Metro, Mar Palace is in a great location for those looking to spend some time at the beach and exploring Rio. The hotel is clean and the service is impeccable. From carrying cases to the room to reserving cabs back to the airport, the staff were willing to help. Language barrier? Not at all.
The rooms were large and equipt with a free safe and multi-channel TV. Wifi was available in the rooms for a 15 real per-day fee or could be used for free in the hotel lobby.
Breakfast has a wide choice, however for those who are a little fussy finding something plain might be difficult. Personally, I thought the food was of a very good standard, with a wide range of fruits, breads, cakes, cold meats and cheeses available.
The only negative aspect was the size of the pool. IF your looking to have a morning swim then head to the beach as the pool is very small. The views from the rooftop however make it up for considerably, with Christ visable at both day and night.
But at the end of the day, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1991Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a good base for visiting Rio. Good, clean accommodation and reasonably priced considering the location. Overall, the staff were friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast offered a varied choice. Leisure facilities were limited and the rooftop pool is more like a hot tub. No real complaints an I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Lower rooms at the rear of the hotel have views of the air conditioning units. Higher rooms a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryCestria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#43 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,056 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
751 reviews
Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#89 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#78 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,421 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#74 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,059 reviews
Copacabana
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
#82 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana

Address: Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana 552, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £50 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar Hotel Copacabana Palace offers a great location in the heart of Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro. It is just 80m from the beach and 150 meters from the Metro station Siqueira Campos. In the lobby of the hotel, the restaurant offers a variety of dishes. The terrace has a pool and a bar, where we offer drinks and snacks in the evening. We have spacious and confortable apartments. Services of personal trainer are available at an exclusive area at Copacabana beach. Hotel Mar Palace is nationally known as the sports hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Palace Copacabana Hotel
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing