We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Ipanema Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ipanema Tower
Ranked #163 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2008

Location can't be beat in Ipanema, one block away from the beach (almost just behind the Cesear Park Hotel). Lots of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance.
As for the apartments my reviews are mixed. Really enjoyed the spacious balcony every night. The bedrooms, living room and dining room were in good condition, comfortable and a safe at no charge in one of the bedrooms was nice to have. The kitchen was very small and did not offer too many utensils, the ones they did have were quite old. If you want to do your own cooking and not eat out a lot this is not the kitchen for you. If you just want to stock the fridge with drinks, snacks, left overs it suits fine. Both bathrooms were in need of repairs- toilet flooded twice, bathroom doors rotting at the bottom in both bathrooms and floors need replaced.
Always felt safe in and around hotel and breakfast buffet (included in rate) was fine, would like to have seen more variation in food but it was kept clean and well staffed. There is a computer for guest use, it's not free but only a small charge each 30 minutes. Pool area small (like all others in the area) but kept up well. There is also a sauna and small work out room. On site salon was a nice touch. Would have liked to have seen the front desk offer more brochures for tours and excursions, there are a few but not many to pick from. (Ended up going to the Cesear Park for advice, tours etc, they have much more to offer in that area and it takes about 3 min walk).
Used rio shuttle service to and from airport for R 10 per person- and recommend it. [--]
The BEST seafood meal all week was at MARIUS in Copacabana. You choose to eat on the meat or seafood side. Highly recommended. marius.com.br
Two places for casual dining near the residence I recommend Itahy restaurante for pizza and Garota de Ipanema for sandwiches, salads, pasta, meats, etc.
Overall a good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Diane44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2007

Fantastic! Such a great hotel/apartment.
Please note, this review is for their entry level apartments, there are two further levels of apartments above this (naturally more expensive).
Our apartment was generously spacious, well presented and all round excellent value for money (£40 per night approx.). Also has a swimming pool, sauna, gym & a restaurant downstairs.
The staff were very helpful and spoke english, gave sound advice and even arranged for a memorable trip to the Christ Statue which will live in the minds eye forever - I reccommend this, the best £15 I have ever spent in my life. And probably ever will.
Absolutely fantastic location, 1 block away from Ipanema Beachfront (2 min walk). Huge numbers of trendy bars/cafes/restaurants and lots of shops to buy your essentials from.
Its in the heart of Ipanema and the place is bustling with the energy and vibrance you would expect from Rio, more importantly, you will feel safe in this area as there are no street merchants, the area is well looked after with no riff-raff whatsoever.
Will definately go back, can't wait to book this place again!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank globetrekker82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2007

We booked Ipanema Tower through a travel agent (located via a website) for a two-night stay, but when we arrived, the front desk informed us that a guest had overstayed their reservation, and they had no rooms for us. In talking to the front desk the next morning, he was wishy-washy about the actual reason for the issue, and said something about being oversold. They did not promise to get us into their hotel for the next night. They did re-book us into a nearby residence, and indicated that we could have breakfast at Ipanema Tower since the other residence did not offer breakfast. The problem is that the other residence (Ocean Flats) was nowhere near the quality of Ipanema Towers. We saw a cockroach in the lobby, the living room smelled of urine, the sheets didn't fit the bed (and rode up to bare mattress the entire night), and there were holes in the ceiling above the shower. We ended up calling the travel agent who originally booked. He had talked to the hotel two days before our arrival and confirmed.

The hotel did get us into Ipanema Tower for the second night. The apartments in Ipanema Tower are serviceable and clean. The furniture and physical plant within the rooms could stand to be updated, but are completely reasonable. The breakfast room was quite nice, and the breakfasts were ample and varied - lots of different breads and fruit as well as some hot food (eggs and sausage).

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gooeythebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2007

Before going to Rio with a group of young females, I was inundated with suggestions and recommendations on safety. I was nervous as to what I was going to expect! I had absolutely nothing to worry about. During my 8 nights in the Rio area I never once was concerned about my safety. This hotel residence is located in the heart of Ipanema, banks, grocery stores, eateries, shops, anything you need is within walking distance. Our room was so nice, big and clean and it had a washer and dryer inside for added convenience. We had a 2 br, 2 bath room and it was more than I expected. I highly recommend this residence for the price and location. It is 2 short blocks from the beach in the area in front of the Cesar Park hotel section, post 9. Rio is beauitful, but having a nice place to rest your head at night made it even nicer. Also the hotel's web site doesn't list most of the services they have. They have a full scale salon for hair and nails, a little bar in the lobby, restaurant with free breakfast every morning as well as other meals during the day that you have to pay for. They were renovating a new pool on the 1st floor deck area. We took a lot of public buses during our stay and most of them stop within feet of the hotel. It is also very easy to get a cab at any hour of the day in front of the hotel. I can't say enough how nice this place is and the staff is also very helpful. Contact me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank lov33na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2007

The apartments were large, but needed some updating. Great location - right in the center of Ipanema, 2 blocks to the beach and 1 block to a decent park with a Farmer's market on Sundays. We dined one night at the on-site restaurant - skip unless you absolutely do not want to leave the property. Because of the value and the space, we would definitely stay at the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandjinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2007

Great place. The price is reasonable. The people are very nice and the beauty parlor inside the building is excellent. We have stayed in this hotel in two different trips. We would stay there again. Great places nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mariela_Fernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2006

We spent a weekend at Ipanema Tower. The best thing is that the beach ( posto 9- Ipanema)is just two blocks ahead and there are a lot of very good bars and restaurants just as close as the beach. The apartament has two bedrooms and two bathrooms, a small kitchen and a living room. Some of the apartments( bathrooms to be specific) are very, very old and need to be re-build. In fact they are already doing some changes there. But we had a good time there and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sarhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Promenade Visconti
Promenade Visconti
#144 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
374 reviews
Ipanema
Mc Flats Ipanema Beach Star
Mc Flats Ipanema Beach Star
#208 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
34 reviews
Ipanema
Everest Rio Hotel
Everest Rio Hotel
#160 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Ipanema Vieira Souto 510 Residence Service
Ipanema Vieira Souto 510 Residen...
#251 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
12 reviews
Ipanema
Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro...
#131 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
671 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#77 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Tower

Address: Rua Prudente de Moraes 1008, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 23065-066, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £131 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ipanema Tower 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Ipanema, one block from the legendary Ipanema beach, abilità Suites Ipanema Tower combines the joy and charm of Rio de Janeiro. In Ipanema you can find libraries, cultural centers, shops, cinemas and sophisticated bars and restaurants. We offer spacious apartments and suitable for those traveling on business or leisure with friends and family and all staff prepared to provide the best experience on your trip to Rio de Janeiro. Easy access to Leblon and Copacabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ipanema Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Tower Residence Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Ipanema Hotel Residence
Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Ipanema Tower Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing