We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon
Ranked #172 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 28 November 2012

It's a nice hotel, located just next to Rio's most trendy neighborhood, Leblon. The rooms are ok, I stayed at a double with a balcony facing the sea. Although it is strategically located, I think that it is overpriced, as most of RJ hotels are.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at Windsor Atlantica for 3 nights and Ritz Plaza for 5. Leblon beats Copacabana by far -- I would never ever stay in the tourist trap that is Copacabana. What the Ritz makes up for in location and rooms, it completely lacks in the quality of front desk staff. For a boutique, trendy hotel, you generally expect good service from front desk staff. Also, there's no concierge -- just a pushy tour seller.

Pros: LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. Also, the rooms, amenities, and the general look of things are AMAZING.
Cons: No real concierge (in a city like Rio you really need them, especially if you don't speak Portuguese), bad quality of front desk staff, pushy tour seller/'concierge'.
Cherry on top: They don't have a loaner iron. If you need your clothes pressed, you have to get pressing services at the laundry, or if it's after business-hours, well, you are out of luck -- what kind of a hotel doesn't have an iron to lend guests?

Generally, I think they have a great infrastructure, great location and AMAZING rooms. Just need a few small touches and definitely some helpful/energetic/well-trained front staff, plus a real concierge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldfromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The best in this hotel is the location. Right in the heart of the Leblon, the coolest neighborhood in Rio. The lobby is very nice and looks like a boutique hotel.
Unfurtunately the rooms are not like the lobby. Old beds, uncomfortable mattresses and the biggest problem, no sound isolation. I spent 2 nights there and was very hard to sleep. The area is busy with lots of restaurants and bars, so the noisy is very high all day/night.
Breakfast is just ordinary, and they charge R$ 30 p/day for the wifi and R$10 p/day to use the safe box in bedroom. This is a shame.
My advice is: go to the Palladium Promenade, a aparthotel, close to Ritz but very modern and much confortable

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aleteles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed in one of the "apartments" at the Ritz Plaza hotel for the holiday weekend Sept 7th. It was quiet, very chic, eco friendly, and excellently located for a weekend of fun in Rio. Leblon is a great neighborhood. It reminded me of Soho if New York was on one of the most beautiful beach fronts in the world. You would have the best of everything. Restaurants, Shopping, Bookstores. Amazing Restaurants actually!! Jobi Bar, ViaSete, Belmonte etc, etc, etc, It was a perfect location for the weekend!!

Room Tip: Try the apartments if you don't want a hotel room. The bathroom was amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I spent one night due to a business trip. The location is excellent both for business and tourist purposes. The room had a great size and was very clean. I liked the breakfast mainly because there was a lot of fruits.

Reading other reviews, I can say that I had NO problem with the staff. By the contrary, they were very polite. As reported by another user there was indeed a strange noise (maybe a generator) in the room. However, it does not jeopardized my sleep quality.

There is a street close to the hotel with a lot of excelent restaurants options (2mins walking distance). Dont miss!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThiagoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Expensive rooms with no window, poor sound isolation, unprepared staff, mediocre food service. The only positive thing is the location, but it's not enough. I was awoken in the middle of the night by a terrible loud noise, it was an electricity genarator that sounded like it was installed inside my room. But no lights or ar conditioner were provided; the thing served only the elevators!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This hotel is really good ! I could stay at a suite with my husband and two kids. Only two blocks from the beach in a really safe area. I totally recomend ! The staff is nice and helpful ! The pool is small but who is going to stay at a pool in Rio ????

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RASSIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Leblon
Promenade Palladium
Promenade Palladium
#116 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
370 reviews
Leblon
Hotel Marina Palace Rio Leblon
Hotel Marina Palace Rio Leblon
#99 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,296 reviews
Leblon
Hotel Mercure Leblon
Hotel Mercure Leblon
#257 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leblon
Leblon Inn Flat
Leblon Inn Flat
#207 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
40 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,630 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#9 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon

Address: Avenida Ataulfo de Paiva 1280, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22440-035, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leblon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £102 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Plaza Leblon is a charming 4 star hotel located in the best areas of the city of Rio de Janeiro, surrounded by literary cafes, restaurants, bars, bookstores and is two blocks from Leblon beach. The Ritz is synonymous with design and elegance. It has 70 modern and comfortable rooms, equipped with LCD TV, cable channels, minibar, air conditioning, sound, hair dryer, phone and individual safes. The hotel offers Wi Fi high-speed service. For leisure time, guests have at their disposal a pool, sauna and gym with the latest generation equipment. The Tropical Lobby Bar invites you to relax and enjoy specialty cocktails. The best food is present in the restaurant, which offers a full breakfast, and room service. Friendliness and professionalism are part of the commitment of the staff of Ritz, who spared no efforts to delight customers. The Ritz is close to the point of gourmet Rua Dias Ferreira where are located the best restaurants in the South Zone of Rio, with the best venues in town. The hotel is located only 200mt from Leblon beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Ritz Plaza
Rio De Janeiro Ritz
Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing