We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best location!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Martinique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Ranked #41 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

For the money, this hotel is more than sufficient plus who wants to stay in your room in this magnificent city?! I thought our room was a nice size, we had a king size bed, & my husband and I stayed 7 nights here. The A/C worked great, the shower was roomy, & overall I was super surprised/ pleased, especially considering some reviews. The hotel was also very quiet which was shocking since it's just off the Copacabana. The staff was extremely kind, helpful, & spoke great English. Unless you have the budget to afford the Windsor directly across the street, I would stay here! It's right by the lifeguard station & a few blocks from the Metro. Also, you're central to the beaches on this side of the Rio, from Leme to Leblon. The breakfast buffet was great. I'd say this hotel is nicer than a Days Inn but not as nice as a newer Hampton Inn (although there are obviously differences between Rio & the US). Notably, there wasn't an iron, coffee maker, or robe in the room which I am used to as an American but I never asked for one. Overall, this hotel is excellent & I'd stay here again (unless I win the lottery!).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vbr722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mireleg, Gerente geral at Windsor Martinique Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate your comments regarding your stay in our hotel.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your nice feedback and recommendations. We will pass your compliments on to our team.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Mirele Geiger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    545
    157
    23
    9
See reviews for
141
498
84
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Copacabana Beach (Posto 5) is just a 3 min walk far from this hotel. The staff is really good and the rooms are comfortable. Breakfast is included and has a lot of options. There is wifi in the rooms.Sometimes it takes a little bit longer to have hot water in the showers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel_Moulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Just off the Copacabana the location of this hotel is brilliant. Staff are all really friendly and the breakfasts are lovely too. One thing- the rooms are tiny. We asked for a bigger room and even it was too small. We ended up paying for an upgrade to a room 1/3 bigger. Good sized bed though and good enough bathroom.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeonoraMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our first morning in Rio, we were surprised to step out of the hotel to see beautiful Copacabana beach just one block away! It's also walking distance to several restaurants, juice bars and convenience stores. The rooms looked newly renovated and breakfast has an excellent fruit and bread selection, with super friendly staff :) Wifi can be slow or interrupted at times. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathchavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mireleg, Gerente geral at Windsor Martinique Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for choosing the Windsor Martinique Hotel to stay in Rio and for your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a big pleasure to know that we pleased our guests with our service and attention.

We will be very happy to have you as a guest again.

Best regards,
Mirele Geiger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Worst World Cup 2014 Experience EVER !

Rio has SERIOUS infrastructure problems and should NEVER be granted any major event until it's resolved. I genuinely feel sorry for the beautiful poor citizens of Rio but they can't help the tourists. You are a GRINGO when you visit Rio they clearly don't want or respect international guests especially at the World Cup !

HOTEL - At best a 2-3 star hotel. Requested a QUIET room all noisy rooms next to elevator, changed then NO airconditioning, staff lied to me about NO queen beds I eventually got one, finally Mexicans having loud sex next door after complaint was offered to MOVE for fourth time the noisy guest should be moved not me ! Favela's 100m from the hotel hear gunfire / fireworks so forget about sleeping. The breakfast was reasonable except for the coffee for cereal, even yoghurt is on ice ! Only positive is the breakfast staff and front desk ie Giovanna etc who tried to make the best out of a terrible experience for me.

RIO - Copacabana beach full of vendors selling you drinks/food but ZERO Brazil atmosphere NO samba dancing / bars, water is polluted not safe for swimming. After you see Christ the Redemmer and Sugar Loaf there is no reason to stay anymore. Don't take a photograph of the sand castle you will be chased for money.

BARS - Massive line up at Rio Scenarium in Lapa to catch a taxi and wait a hour entry to be told a single man in 40's NO ID NO ENTRY. Tried Miramar Hotel for a simple drink connected with "Windsor" brand rejected twice for not being a hotel guest.

RESTAURANTS - Ripped off because don't speak Portugese, cook it yourself and serve potato chips that come out of a packet with main meal.

SECURITY - Three people arrested at the Maracana for buying / selling tickets way too much police intervention spoiled the event. Inside then security will not take photogrpahs but then everybody moves seats !

AIRPORT - Arrived one hour early then a 3 HOUR DELAY for domestic flight from Rio to Salvador in a airport with only one bar, cafe and bookstore ?

SHOPPING Either expensive international brands or tack souvenirs plenty of Brazil shirts or haviana's if you interested but nothing in between.

TRANSPORT Chaotic no timetables on bus stops and no assistance on buses just strange looks if you don't speak Portugese.

Apologies to the beautiful "poor" peole of Brazil but I agree with the protesters fix your country BEFORE you hold a international event as the bitter experience has left me recommending everybody to avoid the Rio Olympics in 2016 ...you were warned !

Room Tip: Simple....avoid Rio !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mireleg, Gerente geral at Windsor Martinique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time writing about your experience in Rio de Janeiro. We always try to take positively all the points mentioned in all the comments received, to improve our service to offer the best to our guests.
I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with all your stay in Rio de Janeiro during the World Cup. I actually was very surprised with all your disappointment, but for sure I respect all your points and I sincerely hope, that you come back to Rio, to have the opportunity to change your impression.

Sincerely,

Mirele Geiger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
751 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

great location and close to the beach. we felt safe here and would recommend. yes, there are nicer hotels, but for the money, the rooms were clean, breakfest was good and the staff was very informative and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtez151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mireleg, Gerente geral at Windsor Martinique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am very satisfy to hear that you enjoyed our location, breakfast and that our staff were very attentive and helpful during your stay. Fortunately, we usually are very good qualifed in our category.

I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again, hopefully in the near future.

Best regards,

Mirele Geiger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpalecaso
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Positives:
1. Location-this hotel is literally steps away from the Copacabana beach. We were able to walk to Ipanema and Leblon.
2. Clean rooms
3. Awesome breakfast
4. Helpful, English speaking staff

Negatives:
1. Small rooms
2. The "pool" is a joke. It is probably the same size as the rooms.
3. The view from our second floor room was horrible. We did not open our curtains during our stay.
4. Not worth the price. We paid $460 a night for our stay during the World Cup for a hotel that is the equivalent of a 3 star hotel like Days Inn or Comfort Inn in the US.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alpalecaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mireleg, Gerente geral at Windsor Martinique Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking your time to write about your stay in our hotel. We were happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and that you liked our staff and location. We are really in a very good location in Copacabana beach. We have a 3 star hotel with a very good price/quality relation.

We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Mirele Geiger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#40 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#32 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#14 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#52 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#50 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#45 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Martinique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Martinique Hotel

Property: Windsor Martinique Hotel
Address: Rua Sa Ferreira, 30, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-100, Brazil (Formerly Martinique Copa Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#33 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Martinique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Windsor Martinique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Martinique Copa
Martinique Copa Hotel
Martinique Copa Rio De Janeiro
Windsor Martinique Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing