We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Ranked #34 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Nice Location”
Reviewed 11 November 2010

This is a very nice Hotel, with helpful staff. It's very safe and clean, the room was perfect. If you're single and think about taking someone into your room, then you must know that it's not allowed, for all the rest, I highly recommned this very nice Hotel, where you'll feel very safe.
Just loved Martinique Copa and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    556
    160
    23
    9
See reviews for
149
514
85
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

None of the hotel's rooms have a view so even though my room was described by the hotel wesbite as having a panoramic view, they are not being truthful. The hotel is on a quiet side street just off a main thoroughfare and a half-block to the ocean. None of the hotels in Copa are right on the beach - you must first cross a busy avenue. The room was small but clean, basic and efficient. I found the beds too hard. There's a small safe and plenty of closet space. Copa is a bit dirty; I imagine it's somewhat like if Brooklyn, New York were located on a scenic beach. It wasn't a bad choice by any means but should I return to Rio it's unlikely that I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridgebackfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The staff of the hotel is great and very professional. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The bathrooms are new and rennovated in marble.

The pool on the roof top is small, but who needs the pool when you are right on the beach.

The metro is just down the street 5 minute walk; and its a 2 minute away from Copacabana beach posto 5. Its close enough to lovely Ipanema to walk there, 15 min about, and its safe.

There is a 24hour internet place around the corner, and on the other corner there is a supermarket.

Its easily accessible from the main avenue (Avenida Atlantica), its enough in the action that you can walk around the hotel and feel safe.

I highly recommend this hotel, you will not regret it!!

Definitely I would return, no questions asked!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montreal_Traveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpk4
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We loved this place. We got a great deal on this place through hotels.com and we stayed there for 3 nights. The rate included breakfast which might have been what took this place from a good clean hotel, to really great. I'm vegetarian and there was plenty for me to eat - several types of smoothies, lots of fruits, eggs, toast, pastries, etc.

The people were also really nice and helpful. They helped us find good restaurants and get dinner reservations, and they also gave helpful travel tips for getting around the city.

Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mpk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Last August I had been on the Windsor Martinique Hotel with my husband and my parents and I can say that it is a good hotel. It is not very new and the rooms (and the bathrooms) are a little bit small. The staff is very friendly and they gave us many information about the city and the best (and safety) transport ways. The breakfast is very good. I would like to recommend a exceptional restaurant, called "O Rei do Caranguejo" (address: Rua Barata Ribeiro, 771 - Copacabana), it is a small restaurant and it is not in guide books but it is very known by the local people and the food is super! It is not a elegant place but it's worth going because of the food and the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeannieBelluno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We wanted to experience the different sides of Rio during our stay, so we spent two nights at a beautiful B&B in Santa Teresa and two nights here, near Copacabana beach.

The room was average (we didn't have a view or anything) but clean and quiet. The people on the desk, and the porters and the waiting staff, were always absolutely polite and lovely. The location was great and we always felt safe. Breakfast was wonderful!

If you're looking for a good value option in Copacabana, I would definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fozzy_Bear_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I am on a 3 month trip around some of the world and we started off here in the Windsor Martinque. Perfect location for the Copa beach rooms were nice not too big. Buffet breakfast was just lovely there was such a hugh choice I was very happy!! Staff are lovely, only problem I would point out is we were given a room at the back of the hotel the view was less then plesent as it was just onlooking backs of apartments. Room 320 so I wud ensure you get a room with a view if you can. No WiFi was a big problem for me we had to get a cable to hook up netbook to wall to get any internet. Overall experience very positive.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZZAM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#42 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,030 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
730 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#53 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Rio Design Hotel
Rio Design Hotel
#52 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
593 reviews
Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
#28 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,302 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Martinique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Martinique Hotel

Property: Windsor Martinique Hotel
Address: Rua Sa Ferreira, 30, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-100, Brazil (Formerly Martinique Copa Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#33 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Martinique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Martinique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Martinique Copa
Martinique Copa Hotel
Martinique Copa Rio De Janeiro
Windsor Martinique Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing