We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but expensive !”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Windsor Barra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Barra
Ranked #31 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Not bad but expensive !”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Rio de Janeiro is a very expensive city and with the country's economy general improvement, cost of life in this city became horrendous. Despite the economical benefit, services in general didn't follow and this hotel is no exception. The hotel is not bad, but for more than US$ 300.00 a day you surely would expect much more. The hotel is decent but do not be surprised to see in your expensive room an old tube TV. The bar at the top has a nice view of the seaside but is quite modest for the standart of the hotel. Rooms are clean and silent enough. Breackfast is Ok, but again, for more than 300 I'm sure you would be expecting something really great which is not the case.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FlavioBrazil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mr. Flavio,


We would like to thank you for sharing with us your impressions about our Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress.

Regarding your comment about the TV's, we made the change of all the rooms for a modern model and we invite you to return to give us a new comment about it.

Reiterating our thanks for your valuable contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro, where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.
Thanks again, and come back often!

Cordially,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    541
    168
    34
    29
See reviews for
292
257
53
704
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

If you are looking for a convenient location near the Riocentro exposition area and a nice, relaxing beach for jogging, this is the hotel to choose. Located in front of the beach at the more recently developed "Barra da Tijuca", the hotel space is generous, from lobby to rooms. The staff is professional and discrete, but ready to help you reaching the most famous atractions of the city, like the Ipanema and Copacabana beaches, the Sugar Loaf and the Cristo Redentor Statue, all about 30 to 40 minutes by cab.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cesar_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Mr. Cesar,

We would like to thank you for the preference given to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress, and for bringing to our knowlegement important impressions refering to your stay here at our hotel.

We are really satisfied to know that our services had gone up your expectations. It is by the comments of our guests that we try to adequate the needs, trying to always offer an excellent stay with us.

Reiterating our thanks for your valuable contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro, where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.

Cordially,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Unfortunately, my trip to Rio was in winter and for business. Therefore, I wasn't able to take the most out of this beautiful hotel. I stayed here for 5 nights. It is located just in front of the beach. However, there is nothing more interesting than the beach near the hotel. The famous Ipanema and Copacabana beaches and other tourist attractions are away from the hotel. You should take a taxi to go there. Do not forget that Rio is also famous for being a dangerous city. If you are in Rio just for pleasure, stay close to the main attraction districts.

The hotel in general is a luxury splurge hotel. It is a classic vacation hotel. The rooms are big enough, furnitures are high quality and breakfast is simply delicious. Staff are all kind and helpful.

If you can afford the luxury hotels in Copacabana, stay there. Otherwise you can always stay in this hotel, but be a little bit outside of the fun.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantikiroglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I was in a very fast stay in Rio and unfortunately couldn't enjoy more of the hotel. The rooms are high class and very comfortable.

Great food, great view, great staff. The only thing that I couldn't understand is why they charge internet?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuliopb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Mr. Tulio

We would like to thank you for the preference given to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress, and for bringing to our knowlegement important impressions refering to your stay here at our hotel.

We are really satisfied to know that our services had gone up your expectations. It is by the comments of our guests that we try to adequate the needs, trying to always offer an excellent stay with us.

About internet we still can not provide free access, but we're checking with suppliers to try to reduce the value of these services, or perhaps a bonus this service.

Reiterating our thanks for your valuable contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro, where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.

Cordially,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. The hotel would be rated 4 star in the UK. Rooms were large clean and quite. My room just had a shower. It had a sea view but unfortunately on one side of the window the double glazing had blown and it was almost completely frosted with condensation. I noticed that other rooms seemed to have the same problem. The fixed bathroom hair dryer stopping working on the third day but otherwise everything else was fine.

Food in the hotel seemed to be purely buffet in nature. No other a la carte menu was offered and whilst there was good choice of fish, meat and vegetarian food both as starters and main course it was disappointing that freshly food cooked to order like steaks did not seem to be available. When conferences are being held the hotel gets very busy and although the large conference area is at the back of the hotel participants spill out into reception and the restaurant. It is clear that conferences play a big part in this hotel’s income and I have to say our conference was very well facilitated by the hotel. The staff at reception I found to be particularly helpful especially when it came to helping me locate my luggage which had separated from me at Madrid airport

A smallish swimming pool with separate plunge pool is sited on the 17th floor at the top of the hotel form whether there are excellent views both inland and out to sea.

Barra is about a 30-40 minute taxi ride away from the main attractions of Rio depending on the time of day you travel. This could be seen as a disadvantage of staying here although the neighbourhood seems quiet and importantly safe. Barra is a largely commuter suburb of Rio with hundreds on condominiums lining the beach road.

The beach is excellent with white sand and the hotel has chairs on the beach for residents’ use. Unlike the well-known Rio beaches this area is relatively quiet except on Sunday afternoons. Along the beach are various bars and cafes where mineral water can be bought at a fraction of the cost of that in the mini bars in the bedrooms. Swimming in the sea looked definitely precarious with large 15ft waves and rip currents. We saw one helicopter rescue whilst we were there. However it was their Winter.

This is not a luxury hotel, it is not close to the sites of Rio and can be very busy during conferences. Having said that if you want a hotel in a quieter, safer, environment and don’t mind having buffet meals with little variance from day to day and are prepared to pay to go and see the sites, this could be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference given to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress, and for bringing to our knowlegement important impressions refering to your stay here at our hotel.

We appreciate your relevant comments and that will be very helpful for our future as we are always in search of perfection regarding accommodations and services.

Reiterating our thanks for your valuable contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro, where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.

Sincerely yours,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I tend to concur with most of the other reviewers regarding the Windsor Barra. The rooms are nice, clean etc but I would not say this is a true luxury hotel. It is opposite a lovely beach but it is some distance from the tourist areas. The positive of this is that the area is safe but taxis and tours can be expensive. The hotel will organize one for you but an individual driver is around $40 per hour. My driver was perfectly charming but did take every opportunity to join the Rio traffic rather than taking the more direct route back to the hotel which earned him another $40, not unusual in these parts but worth watching out for. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is also good. Caipirinhas in the bar on the roof at sunset is recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailblaser22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress for your stay in our city.

We appreciate your relevant comments and that will be very helpful for our future as we are always in search of perfection regarding accommodations and services.

Reiterating our thanks for your valuable contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro where all our staff will be at your entire disposal.


Cordially,

Marcos Bezerra
Gerente Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
275 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

All the other reviewers are completely right - the hotel is not a true luxury property, but it is neatly maintained with nice bathrooms to compensate for unspectacular rooms, and excellent breakfast with superb crew from the front desk to the wait staff. It is surprising that with such a gorgeous location the architects chose not to create picture windows for the rooms. But the proximity to the beach with private hotel attendant and chaise/umbrellas made up for all other short comings. Being away from the main tourist action in Copacabana and Ipanema was a plus, to my mind, although perhaps others may want to be in the middle of the scene.
We were perfectly satisfied with the hotel and had a memorable stay in Rio.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room on higher floor which have windows on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Oceanico
Windsor Oceanico
#20 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
596 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
#7 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
540 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Hotel
Sheraton Barra Rio de Janeiro Ho...
#125 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#25 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
491 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
#14 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
771 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Hotel Praia Linda
Hotel Praia Linda
#32 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Barra

Property: Windsor Barra
Address: Av. Lucio Costa 2630, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22620170, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Barra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Barra Hotel Barra Da Tijuca
Windsor Barra Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing