We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For conventions inside the hotel, go there!”
Review of Windsor Barra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Windsor Barra
Ranked #33 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Hotel is located in Barra da Tijuca, a neighborhood far away from the main tourist sites in Rio The structure of the hotel is good, the rooms are large and there is an anteroom. The bathroom is good. The bed is good, but they could improve the sheets. The breakfast is same all days. There is a large convention center inside the hotel which makes the stay a little unpleasant. If you are attending any convention in the hotel is worth staying there, otherwise, escape from there.

O Hotel fica localizado na Barra da Tijuca, um bairro muito afastado dos principais sítios turísticos do Rio. A estrutura do hotel é boa, os quartos são amplos e com ante-sala. O banheiro é bom. A cama é boa, mas eles poderiam melhorar os lençóis. Existe um grande centro de convenções dentro do hotel o que torna a estadia um pouco desagradável. Se você vai participar de alguma convenção dentro do hotel, vale a pena ficar hospedado lá, caso contrário, fuja de lá.

Room Tip: Ask for the front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardorios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Windsor Barra Hotel during your visit to our city and also for taking your precious time sharing your impressions with us and with other travelers.
Your comments are the best tool for us to improve our services.
We hope to have you back in a near future when all our staff will be at your complete disposal to make your stay even better than the last one.



Sincerely yours,

Marcos Bezerra
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is a good business hotel, I was there for a large conference. The rooms are spacious and well outfitted. There is a pool on the rooftop terrace and they are right next to the beach. Only downside is that while they are near the malls in Barra, it takes quite a while to get to the main attractions in Rio.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Your comments are our tools to improve and to adjust our product to the needs of highly demanding guests such as you, thus offering the best in services and facilities.

Thank you very much for your precious collaboration. We will be looking forward to your next visit to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congressos, where our team is always at your disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.


Sincerely yours,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

I really can't fault the attitude of the staff in this hotel. They were simply wonderful on a very busy week when the FIFA delegation were staying there. The breakfast was first class and the location could not be more special in such a huge city. The problem is the layout of the hotel which is irreversible. Unlike the nearby Sheraton which has used every square inch to maximize our ocean view and interior space plus spacious balconies, this hotel ended up with uninspiring medium sized rooms with awkward and minimal ocean views. The rooms consist of a small table located in the darkest corner of the room. The bellboy had to warn me not to get my fingers hurt when opening the window, a design flaw that seems incredible in this day and age. It's a pity that a potentially great hotel is stuck with mediocrity due to ridiculous planning.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karim Samer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress and for bringing to our knowledge important impressions related to your visit to our hotel.

Your comments are our tools to improve and to adjust our product to the needs of highly demanding guests such as you, thus offering the best in services and facilities.

We will be looking forward to your next visit, where our team will always be at your disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.


Sincerely yours,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a great business hotel, and a pretty good vacation hotel. It is very clean, modern and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and good at their jobs. If you want to stay in Barra, the Windsor is a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask to face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanbaril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for the preference given to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress, and for bringing to our knowlegement important impressions refering to your stay here at our hotel.

We are really satisfied to know that our services had gone up your expectations. It is by the comments of our guests that we try to adequate the needs, trying to always offer an excellent stay with us.

Our staff was very honored by your compliments and send sincere thanks.

Reiterating our thanks for your valuable contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro, where all our staff will be at your entire disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.


Sincerely yours,


Marcos Bezerra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed at the Barra Windsor while attending a conference recently. It looks and feels like a 3-star hotel although they claim 5-star status. The location by the barra beach is one of the redeeming features though this is quite far away from city attractions of Rio. It is clearly over-priced for what it offers. What is worse, I had to pay the full amount in advance four weeks before the stay which I thought was outrageous. The hotel has an apology of a gym on the top floor. Service levels are barely passable.

All in all a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdavis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congressos and for bringing to our knowledge important impressions related to your visit to our hotel.

Your comments are our tools to improve and to adjust our product to the needs of highly demanding guests such as you, thus offering the best in services and facilities.

Unfortunately, the payment of the full amount in advance was part of the deal made between us and the congress you were attending to guarantee the accommodation of the entire group, as we were over booked for that period.

We will be looking forward to your next visit to our hotel when our team will always be at your disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.


Sincerely yours,


Marcos Bezerra
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

It's a very good corporate hotel. It's a chain and you know what you're getting. It's American conference-style. You get good service, excellent breakfasts but you pay for 'extras'. Is wifi an extra?

Well-located if you want to be in Barra. It's a long way into the centre of the city and the traffic is.......!!!

But if it ticks your boxes as above then you'll enjoy it. Local chic it is not, good all-round corporate it is.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your relevant comments and that will be very helpful for our future as we are always in search of perfection regarding accommodations and services.

Thanks for your valuable contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro where all our staff will be at your entire disposal.

Cordially,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Because of the pictures and the prices you assume that it is going to be an excellent hotel. First, staff only knows Portuguese, had a lot of trouble communicating. Second, the nightstands had dust everywhere. Third, food is too expensive and so so.

The pool is great, more if you go in the night. The pool service was good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference given to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress and for bringing to our knowlegement important impressions refering to your stay here at our hotel.

Your valuable contribution will be very helpful in our human resources development.

Thanks a lot!

Cordially,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Oceanico
Windsor Oceanico
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
992 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
#14 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
721 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#28 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Gran Nobile Rio de Janeiro Barra
Gran Nobile Rio de Janeiro Barra
#136 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,451 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#31 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
597 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Barra

Address: Avenida Lucio Costa 2630, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22620-172, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £62 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Barra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Barra Hotel Barra Da Tijuca
Windsor Barra Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing