We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in a kitsch luxurios building”
Review of Windsor Barra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Windsor Barra
Ranked #36 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hotel offers great service, has very nice and helpfull staff. The food variety and quality are amazing. The decoration is a bit too kitsch for my taste, yet it is very comfortable. Some rooms, as well as the pool on the roof, offer great views of the surrounding beach and hills. The location is not very suitable if you plan to visit Rio's centre or its main attractions - on rush hours the displacement between Barra and Ipanema can be a nightmare!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNFilipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time in providing your constructive comments about our structure and services.
We hope we can have news opportunities of being welcoming you in our city when all our staff will be at your entire disposal to offer you the best we can.


Regards,

Marcos Bezerra
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Perfect for spending the whole day in Barra beach or Barra shoping malls. Far from city. Staff professional. Breakfast poor. Gym smelly. Avoid hotel taxies. Expensive. Take yellow cabs nearby. Swimming pool on the top is small. Go to beach. They have been nice to us: we checked in at 09:00am without extra cost.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kzmkzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congress for your stay in our city.
We appreciate your relevant comments and that will be very helpful for our future as we are always in search of perfection regarding accommodations and services.
Reiterating our thanks for your valuable contribution and, since now, we are waiting for the next opportunity to receive you in Rio de Janeiro where all our staff will be at your entire disposal.


Cordially,

Marcos Bezerra
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The hotel is a standard, business-grade hotel. The rooms are good, beds reasonably comfortable and the AC works fine, although the sound level is annoying. I'm here for a conference (also at this hotel) and this is of course very good. The breakfast is good (almost excellent). The location is top notch, with Barra beach 30 meters away.

But.

Their approach to customer service when it comes to connectivity is stone age. The quality of the wifi is shaky at best, and they charge you for every single device. In a hotel in this price range, internet should be included as a part of the package. It is 2013 and people, not only business travellers, are used to be able to check in, communicate and use the web. I truly cannot see what Windsor Barra gains by providing this poor service. For every paying customer there are five or more dissatisfied ones that are determined to never stay at a hotel that does not respect the basic demands of guests post 2010. For me, internet access is as basic as hot water and elevators. It should simply be a part of the package.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Per Olof A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for taking your precious time offering us your impressions about our structure and services.
That will be very helpful in our development.
We hope we can have new opportunities of being welcoming you in our city pretty soon.

Best regards,

Marcos Bezerra
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

nice place, nice service, good location, albeit far away from attractions. beach is quiet, but rough sea (that beach is not really suitable for swimming). Huge problem is that you can hear the dingdong every time on of the levators arrive on your floor in around 50% of the rooms!! I noticed this not before going to bed, first I thought someone was ringing the bell next door, but after I while I stepped out and realized it was the elevator. As I was dead tired I fell aslepp, but woke up at 430 when first guests started to move up and down and even plugs could not prevent the noise. Staff was aware of problem and happy to change my room , but if this palce is fully booked sleep is not guaranteed!!

Room Tip: as far away from elevators as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank witenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congressos and for bringing to our knowledge important impressions related to your visit to our resort.

Your comments are our tools to improve and to adjust our product to the needs of highly demanding guests such as you, thus offering the best in services and facilities.

We are very sorry about what you related. We are going to verify what happened in your stay here because this kind of complain is very unusual in our hotel. Normally, the sound of the elevators does not disturb our guests…

Once again, we would like to thank you very much for your precious collaboration. We will be looking forward to your next visit, where our team is always at your disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.

Sincerely,

Marcos Bezerra
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Visited the hotel for 2 nights for business. Hotel is some distance from the airport and is located south of Rio but is adjacent to a very nice beach (across a busy road). Accordingly, those who have an opportunity to have a room that is located towards the front of the hotel have unhindered views of the ocean front. Staff were courteous, attentive and professional and most possesed an acceptable proficiency of the English language. Roof top views (swimming pool and gym) of the beach/ocean are very good as indicated by previous contributors. Food in the singular restaurant was a perpetual buffet (moderate quality) but there are several "local" restaurants within walking distance. Conference facility and services were well managed - perhaps worth noting for those who may be visiting on vacation (they may be competing with attendees for services).

Room Tip: Request for a room that is located towards the front of the hotel and above the 8th floor for unfett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seng100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congressos and for bringing to our knowledge important impressions related to your visit to our resort.

Your comments are our tools to improve and to adjust our product to the needs of highly demanding guests such as you, thus offering the best in services and facilities.

We will be looking forward to your next visit to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congressos, where our team is always at your disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.


Best Regards,

Marcos Bezerra
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Hotel is located in Barra da Tijuca, a neighborhood far away from the main tourist sites in Rio The structure of the hotel is good, the rooms are large and there is an anteroom. The bathroom is good. The bed is good, but they could improve the sheets. The breakfast is same all days. There is a large convention center inside the hotel which makes the stay a little unpleasant. If you are attending any convention in the hotel is worth staying there, otherwise, escape from there.

O Hotel fica localizado na Barra da Tijuca, um bairro muito afastado dos principais sítios turísticos do Rio. A estrutura do hotel é boa, os quartos são amplos e com ante-sala. O banheiro é bom. A cama é boa, mas eles poderiam melhorar os lençóis. Existe um grande centro de convenções dentro do hotel o que torna a estadia um pouco desagradável. Se você vai participar de alguma convenção dentro do hotel, vale a pena ficar hospedado lá, caso contrário, fuja de lá.

Room Tip: Ask for the front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardorios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Windsor Barra Hotel during your visit to our city and also for taking your precious time sharing your impressions with us and with other travelers.
Your comments are the best tool for us to improve our services.
We hope to have you back in a near future when all our staff will be at your complete disposal to make your stay even better than the last one.



Sincerely yours,

Marcos Bezerra
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is a good business hotel, I was there for a large conference. The rooms are spacious and well outfitted. There is a pool on the rooftop terrace and they are right next to the beach. Only downside is that while they are near the malls in Barra, it takes quite a while to get to the main attractions in Rio.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcos b, Gerente geral at Windsor Barra, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Your comments are our tools to improve and to adjust our product to the needs of highly demanding guests such as you, thus offering the best in services and facilities.

Thank you very much for your precious collaboration. We will be looking forward to your next visit to the Windsor Barra Hotel & Congressos, where our team is always at your disposal to guarantee the excellence of our services.


Sincerely yours,

Marcos Bezerra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Oceanico
Windsor Oceanico
#19 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
963 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#26 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
495 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Gran Nobile Rio de Janeiro Barra
Gran Nobile Rio de Janeiro Barra
#134 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
Windsor Marapendi Hotel
#14 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
701 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da Tijuca
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Barra da ...
#29 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
587 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro
#20 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Barra

Address: Avenida Lucio Costa 2630, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22620-172, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £62 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Barra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Windsor Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Barra Hotel Barra Da Tijuca
Windsor Barra Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing