We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rio Guest House - Fabuloso!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)
Ranked #26 of 343 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed with Marta over New Year's Eve this year and feel extremely blessed to have found her and the Rio Guest House. From the day we arrived, my husband and I and four teenagers, Marta was the most awesome hostess, tracking down our delayed luggage, showing us the city, and recommending places to exchange money and buy clothing until our bags could arrive. We felt at home from the moment we arrived. The breakfasts were delicious and served on the fabulous terrace overlooking Copacabana beach. What an awesome view!! The rooms are very comfortable and Marta welcomed us with a grace and passion for her city unrivaled by any of the other places we have visited. What an experience for our family. Certainly a week long celebration of New Year's none of us will ever forget. Thank you Marta and Lucia and to Barbara, Christian and Ana Clara and we mustn't forget Victoria. Love to you all from your new Kansas family.

Room Tip: The bed in the Emerald room is so comfortable and the room is very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7twobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

It's hard to add much more to the wonderful reviews already posted about Marta and the Rio Guesthouse. It's all true--the location is spectacular, the hospitality is warm, and the experience is one of a kind.

We took advantage of the New Year's Eve package and were so happy that we did. Our seven night package included airport transfers, Samba school visit, and a swanky New Year's Eve party that overlooked Copacabana Beach and the festivities for which Rio is famous. If you can make it to Rio for New Years and stay at the Rio Guesthouse, you will not be disappointed. Marta throws one helluva party, complete with cocktails, waiters, DJ, authentic Brazilian cuisine, and the best view of the fireworks that you can get. We met people from all over the world and celebrated the New Year like never before. Watching the crowd of 2.3 million from the balcony, all dressed in white, made it an evening to remember.

Besides the New Year's party, the Rio Guesthouse provided us with a central base upon which to explore Rio. Marta provided us great suggestions for things to do, arranged for a city tour, and gave us "rainy day" options for when the weather turned. She even invited us to the Guesthouse a few days early when we had an extended layover in Rio. Marta offered us a shower, a place to rest, and airport transfers, which made our 5 hour layover at the Rio airport a highlight of the trip!

We made great friends, experienced amazing things, and hope to one day return to Rio and the Rio Guesthouse. Marta is the best ambassador Rio could get!

Room Tip: Get the Aquamarine Room if you want a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BodogArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Rio Guest House in November for 5 nights. Though we didn't stay in the room that we had reserved, we were very comfortable with our double room and a private bath close by. Marta was very helpful with tips for restaurants and sight seeing and also very accomodating at helping us with our rusty Portuguese. Breakfasts were fine and we really enjoyed having the lovely veranda overlooking Copacabana Beach to ourselves most of the time. Having a small kitchen to use with a fridge and filtered cold water was great. We would absolutely stay with Marta again on our next trip to Rio. WE had a great time in a the Cidade Maravilhosa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 38Dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The Rio Guest House location is ideal - being close to beaches, accessible to public transportation, and offering outstanding views. Marta was very willing to share ideas on dining, accessing sites and utilizing public transportation. However what was most appreciated was her honesty and desire to help. We accidentally overlooked a large number of traveler checks in the back of the room safe upon departure. When Marta became aware of this oversight she immediately contacted us via email and subsequently took the initiative to arrange the return of the missing checks. It is great to know there are still people like Marta who are honest and go the extra mile to help.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 100nations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This fantastic Penthouse, situated in a prime location, occupies the 11th and 12th floors of this sea frontal property. From the beautiful Lounge / Terrace / Breakfast Room there's an amazing panoramic view over the Copacabana Beach and the Sugarloaf Mountain. The bedrooms rooms are lovely, with great décor throughout the guesthouse. Around the corner is Ipanema beach
When we arrived, Marta welcomed us with kisses and hugs; her arms were outstretched just as long as the 'Christ the Redeemer' statue itself!!
She arranged many things for us, from being pick up/drop off at the airport, to having an English speaking taxi driver while we were in town; to recommending the best Samba Clubs to go to; She also made many phone calls to get the best offer for a ‘Ilha Grande Tour’ for us and much more
The breakfasts are very tasty and plentiful with a different choice each day. At breakfast, it’s the social time to meeting other people, making friends, exchanging information and having a laugh with them.
Indeed, I did feel it’s like a wonderful holiday home with friends staying and that we should all meeting, up very soon!!! I miss the place so much; I wish I go there tomorrow!!
I would recommend everyone to stay there, for the place, the view, the location and the hospitability, everything you need, in a ‘Nutshell’
The Guesthouse is amazing and Marta is a wonderful woman, a very hospitable host, great guide and we left, with the feeling we met a 'Fab' friend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoseyDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Objectively - Marta`s Guest House is the best and the most beautiful place to stay in Rio. The best one, beacuse it is situated on the beach of Copacabana, in the neighbourhood of many luxurious hotels. The most beautiful - because Marta has the lovliest house with the terrace opening the amazing view of the city. Memorable evenings on the terrace, nice conversations with the landlady, wonderful service. "Be at home," Marta says and she means it! You can feel at home in Rio while staying at her Guest House. I came from the other side of the planet and enjoyed the time from the first moment. Pleasance, safety, reliability. Thank you for the life experience, which - of course - I would like to repeat and I definitely won`t stay anywhere else. Marta and Rio, I miss you both! Ottozinho from Slovakia :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ottozinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The RIo Guesthouse was a perfect choice for us to make for a very memorable visit to Brazil. We were very lucky to get the last room available. Marta was a very hospitable hostess and made us feel very welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived. The location is perfect and as good as it gets in Rio. The guesthouse has beautiful views overlooking Copacabana Beach and Sugarloaf mountain. Ipanema beach is also just a short 5 minute walk. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. We met so many nice people from all over the world. The feeling of staying at the Guesthouse is much different from a hotel. It feels much more like home with friends and fabulous views. The morning breakfast are fabulous with fresh juices, fresh fruits, breads, cheeses, and eggs. The breakfast are different everyday. Marta knows Rio and she can be very helpful for first time visitors to arrange transfers, tours, restaurant recommendations and she can assist with any issues. The hardest part is leaving. Hope to return to this great place in Rio one day.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an In Suite Bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R0bert22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
808 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
217 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#3 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Fullano Bed & Breakfast
Fullano Bed & Breakfast
#52 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
12 reviews
Ipanema
JM Guesthouse Ipanema
JM Guesthouse Ipanema
#15 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
35 reviews
Botafogo
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)

Address: Rua Francisco Sa 5, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £95 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer and special service and are prepared to help our guests since the start of the preparation of the trip to Brazil. In a very spectacular location in front of the Copacabana beach, and with the most beautiful views. Our Guesthouse offers comfort and have a very family atmosphere, and Marta is there to help the guests to find the best places to enjoy the city. With experience in tourism, Marta can help you with the best indication of tours, restaurants and what to do in Rio. Welcome to Marta's and be home at our Guesthouse ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Guest House ( Marta`s Guest House) Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing