We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality with a great view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)
Ranked #26 of 348 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Marta is a great woman who even fixed football tickets for the Flu-Fla game in the new Maracana. Our room was big enough for 3 persons with a huge cupboard. The private bathroom was down the hall but that was no problem.

Breakfast is served in the living room. Everyday fresh bread, orange juice and homemade cake (or brownies or sweet bread :-)

The guesthouse is situated at the Copacabana, you only cross the street and you are on the beach. Busses are around the corner and metro is about 7 minutes walk.

It is worth the price you pay for it.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Biggles75Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaRIO, Owner at Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House), responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear guests, thanks for your stay. It was a great pleasure receive you at our Guesthouse. Have the opportunity to help you was my pleasure, and happy this work well and you have had his great experience of a football game in Rio. Hope you will be back again to Rio, will be an honor receive you again. We will appreciate if you recommend to your friends and family. Best regards, Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed for 9 nights at Martha's guest house in September 2013.
It was a real pleasure staying there.
The location is perfect. 30 sec walk from Copacabana beach and 5 min walk from Arpoador and Ipanema beaches, All others facilities such as bus, metro, restaurants and shops are close by as well. I would say it is one of the best location in Rio.
The duplex flat is wonderfull with an amazing terrasse and view on Copacabana and the sugar loaf.
Rooms and private bathroom are simple but clean.
Breakfast is really great
Martha the owner and Luzia the assistant are very kind and helpfull, always smiling.
You really feel at home
Really recommend this place.
Would definitely return to this place if I would visit Rio again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaRIO, Manager at Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House), responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear guests, thanks for your stay. It was a great pleasure receive you at our Guesthouse. Thanks for the nice information you add at your review, I am sure will be very helpful for other guests understand the neighborhood around the Guesthouse. Hope to see you in a soon future, and will be great to receive you and your family and friends again at our Guesthouse. Best regards, Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Since the first time that I was there in 2008, I went again another four times, both alone and with my husband.
During my five visits, one of them in the period of the New Year's Eve, I tried 4 different rooms and all of them were very comfortable, clean and silent.
The last room where I stayed was the smallest and cheapest, anyway it is good for a single person or a couple of friends. The bathroom is outside the room, but it is for exclusive use of the room itself and Marta and her lovely waiter pay a lot of attention that anyone else uses it.
During these years further improvements have been done in the rooms and in the terrace, therefore the guesthouse has become even more comfortable and nicer than in the past.
The breakfast continues to be excellent and huge, much better than in many other places where we stayed in Brazil.
The owner, as usual, is very friendly and available to provide to her guests great suggestions on tours, restaurants and local amenities, since she uses to experience them before recommending them to other people.
The view from the terrace is amazing and it's wonderful to stay there to relax during the day and at night.
I highly recommend this guest house and suggest to stay there during the New Years's Eve: the party organised by Marta when we were there was fantastic and from the terrace we had the best view of the the fireworks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ViajGPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Staying at Rio Guesthouse was a fantastic experience for getting to know RIO. The Guesthouse location across the street from Copacabana beach could not have been more perfect. The view from the dining area was spectacular and it was great to experience that everyday. My room was clean and comfortable. Marta was flexible with the breakfast and was often checking with guests as to what they would like to eat or if they needed anything. She was very helpful in offering tips and advice about traveling in the city. With her warm generosity and personal welcome, I felt more like I was staying in someone's home than in a hotel which was great. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 159barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just had the most wonderful experience at Marta's Rio Guesthouse. The guesthouse is very clean, with a great deck right on Copacabana Beach. The rooms were very comfortable, with good bathrooms and plenty of hot water. The common space is great: the huge open deck on the top floor of a small apartment building, big living room and dining area, stereo with lots of great choices (we liked the Samba), and a big screen tv for those futbol matches. The breakfasts are fantastic. Lots of fresh fruit, fresh juices, good coffee, eggs, cheese, ham or smoked turkey and fresh pastry. But it is the warmth and hospitality of Dona Marta that really makes this place special. She has wonderful tour and restaurant recommendations. She makes you feel that you are part of her extended family. She is helpful but not meddling. It was perfect for our family including our teen age son. We give the Rio Guesthouse our highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have their own bathrooms while others have private bathrooms just steps away. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sftravelers83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

One can hardly find a better place: 12th floor, breakfast view over the whole Copacabana, friendly staff, super breakfast with fresh fruit and eggs, good English (and German) knowledge. And Marta knows EVERYTHING about Rio. When you cannot decide what to do first: Ask Marta! A top place in a superb city! Hope to come back there soon!

susanne & tim

Room Tip: Copacabana view from the room is not important because the breakfast view and the terrace are so gor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and stayed at Rio guesthouse, exclusively due to the reviews we read on Tripadvisor. We were certainly not disappointed. The Art Deco building right on Copacabana Beach is a delight and the wonderful view only pales in comparison to the energy and enthusiasm of our host, Marta. We can certainly recommend this establishment highly.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Hennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mc Flats Ipanema Beach Star
Mc Flats Ipanema Beach Star
#208 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
34 reviews
Botafogo
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
341 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Diplomata Copacabana
Hotel Diplomata Copacabana
#48 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#9 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
124 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#2 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
420 reviews
Copacabana
Jucati Season Apartments
Jucati Season Apartments
#13 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)

Address: Rua Francisco Sa 5, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 348 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £94 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer and special service and are prepared to help our guests since the start of the preparation of the trip to Brazil. In a very spectacular location in front of the Copacabana beach, and with the most beautiful views. Our Guesthouse offers comfort and have a very family atmosphere, and Marta is there to help the guests to find the best places to enjoy the city. With experience in tourism, Marta can help you with the best indication of tours, restaurants and what to do in Rio. Welcome to Marta's and be home at our Guesthouse ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Guest House ( Marta`s Guest House) Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing