We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marta is amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)
Ranked #26 of 334 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marta is amazing”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

When you are in a foreign country the first thing you want is welcomed where you spend the majority of your time - the place you sleep, recharge and plan your days. Marta at Rio Guest House does that, and then some. She is always smiling and in a great mood and constantly asks how you are doing, what your plans are for the day, while offering suggestions. The kitchen is open all day so if you buy food you have a way to prepare it, Her breakfasts, which come with the price, are plentiful and very good.
Marta's house is beautiful and it makes you feel like you are at home - as long as you live across the street from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. There are plenty of places to hang out, but none better than the open terrace on the top floor overlooking Copacabana Beach. You can see Sugarloaf Mountain the left and Ipanema Beach to the right. The rooms and bathroom are spacious and clean.
I don't think you can find a better place in the city at this price point.

Room Tip: There are a couple rooms that view Sugarloaf Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradleyj1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    35
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
143
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at Marta's place with out two small children. Marta was very accommodating and kind. The location is excellent, right on the beach and the guest house has a spectacular view. We would definitely stay at Marta's Guest House again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanyaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My girlfiend and I decided to stay at Marta's guesthouse after seeing the wonderful reviews and the competitive prices compared to hotels in the area. We chose the emerald room with the ensuite bathroom after Marta answered my countless emails. The room was perfect for our stay and the shower (with what seemed like an endless supply of hot water) was perfect after a long day of hiking through Rio. The guesthouse itself was gorgeous with the views of Copacabana clearly the highlight, followed closely by the delicious breakfast every morning.

Marta was absolutely amazing! Incredibly warm, friendly, and welcoming. I chose to stay in the guesthouse because I thought I would get some tips on how to visit Rio and not miss hidden gems or go to tourist traps. I was not disappointed: every morning I would tell Marta of our plans and she would happily suggest other items to hit along the way and was incredibly helpful in finding us amazing restaurants within Rio as well as making suggestions on which spots truly captured the Rio nightlife! Truly a wonderful person to know, especially if you don't know Portuguese like us.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms with ensuite bathroom are worth the extra money. The Emerald suite was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

i found marta's rio guesthouse on trip advisor and i agree with most of the other reviews. this place is a joy to stay in and marta certainly make every effort to make sure you feel like a welcome guest in her own private home. reasonable prices and great location right near the juncture of south copacabana beach and arporador/ipanema beach. splendid view over looking copacabana from the living and dining room balcony. the room was comfortable and clean. bathroom was private and functional but not inside the room but down the hallway. i had no problem with this but my wife found this a bit inconvenient. the shower runs on a tankless water heater with a timer on it, so you have to shut off the water and restart every 2-3 minutes in order to have a consistent hot water shower. the weather was hot and sunny so this did not inconvenience me at all but i could see this as an issue in cold weather. another thing is, i did not see any emergency escape staircase in this guesthouse. the only access to and from this guesthouse is from 2 elevators. i tried to ask the brazillian cleaning woman if there was an emergency exit and i think she said no but i could not be sure from the language barrier. finally, this guesthouse does not accept credit card. you must pay a deposit via paypal (plus fees) or a direct bank wire transfer, then pay the balance in brazillian cash. again, i knew this policy going in but it did maxx out my ATM withdrawal limits twice. just know this in advance and you will enjoy your stay here. marta is a very hospitable host who will assist you in making your stay safe and comfortable.

Room Tip: amethyst room was a pleasure, with an indirect view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shithappens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaRIO, Owner at Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House), responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guests, thanks for your stay. Was a great pleasure receive you at our Guesthouse. I did not know you have had some problem with hot water, sorry for this inconvenient, but I could help if you would ask me. This is not a tank water, but is very sensible regulation, and if for some reason the someone did change, then will not work as suppose. Regarding the stair we do have one other exit on the back of service entrance. I will organize to be informed. Hope I would see you again in Brazil, and hope next time we would have one of the 3 en suite bathroom we have available, so your wife stay more comfortable. Best regards and thanks you very much for the nice words, I ma sure will be very helpful for other guests. Regards, Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norge
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The elevator, that reminded me of a film from the 1930s, took me up to the penthouse flat. The house is in Art Deco stile. The huge flat is decorated with art and furniture that gives it an elegant, charming and unique presentation. The view over Copacabana from the roof terrace is fantastic!
I was warmly welcomed by Marha, the hostess, and some other guests,relaxing on the terrace.
My room was silent and had an en-suite bathroom, AC and a large double bed, where I slept very well. But there where no room to open a suitcase beside the bed, so I had to put it on the bed.
It should also be noted that this is a Bed and Breakfast with no reception and Matha cant be available at all times for your needs.
The the breakfast is good, but simple, and is enjoyed together with the other guests. This is very nice. You get to know people from any country, and may exchange experiences of what to do and what to not do.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Marta is a great woman who even fixed football tickets for the Flu-Fla game in the new Maracana. Our room was big enough for 3 persons with a huge cupboard. The private bathroom was down the hall but that was no problem.

Breakfast is served in the living room. Everyday fresh bread, orange juice and homemade cake (or brownies or sweet bread :-)

The guesthouse is situated at the Copacabana, you only cross the street and you are on the beach. Busses are around the corner and metro is about 7 minutes walk.

It is worth the price you pay for it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Biggles75Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaRIO, Owner at Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House), responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guests, thanks for your stay. It was a great pleasure receive you at our Guesthouse. Have the opportunity to help you was my pleasure, and happy this work well and you have had his great experience of a football game in Rio. Hope you will be back again to Rio, will be an honor receive you again. We will appreciate if you recommend to your friends and family. Best regards, Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed for 9 nights at Martha's guest house in September 2013.
It was a real pleasure staying there.
The location is perfect. 30 sec walk from Copacabana beach and 5 min walk from Arpoador and Ipanema beaches, All others facilities such as bus, metro, restaurants and shops are close by as well. I would say it is one of the best location in Rio.
The duplex flat is wonderfull with an amazing terrasse and view on Copacabana and the sugar loaf.
Rooms and private bathroom are simple but clean.
Breakfast is really great
Martha the owner and Luzia the assistant are very kind and helpfull, always smiling.
You really feel at home
Really recommend this place.
Would definitely return to this place if I would visit Rio again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaRIO, Manager at Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House), responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear guests, thanks for your stay. It was a great pleasure receive you at our Guesthouse. Thanks for the nice information you add at your review, I am sure will be very helpful for other guests understand the neighborhood around the Guesthouse. Hope to see you in a soon future, and will be great to receive you and your family and friends again at our Guesthouse. Best regards, Marta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Rio Design Hotel
Rio Design Hotel
#51 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
608 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Debret
Hotel Debret
#180 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
681 reviews
Copacabana
Olinda Rio Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel
#92 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
#74 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,142 reviews
Copacabana
Copa Sul Hotel
Copa Sul Hotel
#54 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
841 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)

Property: Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)
Address: Rua Francisco Sa 5, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer and special service and are prepared to help our guests since the start of the preparation of the trip to Brazil. In a very spectacular location in front of the Copacabana beach, and with the most beautiful views. Our Guesthouse offers comfort and have a very family atmosphere, and Marta is there to help the guests to find the best places to enjoy the city. With experience in tourism, Marta can help you with the best indication of tours, restaurants and what to do in Rio. Welcome to Marta's and be home at our Guesthouse ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Guest House ( Marta`s Guest House) Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing