We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem in Rio, not to be missed”
Review of Mama Ruisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mama Ruisa
Ranked #2 of 343 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I travel the world for my business and must communicate my wonder and delight at having found this hidden gem in Rio. Ensconced in the quiet but hip neighborhood of Santa Teresa, with a commanding view of Sugarloaf, Mama Ruisa offers the traveler a quiet and beautiful oasis from the bustle of Rio life.

The owner and proprietor Jean Michel Ruis, has taken this century old walled manor home and transformed it into his personal gallery with Contemporary and Tribal art as well as antiques living side by side with some of the most outlandish and comfortable furniture ensembles I have ever seen. The details throughout this property are magnificent and many. There is always a wonderful floral scent from either the fresh cut flowers or from fragrances wafting from the opulent gardens. each guest room, only 8 on property, has its own color scape and theme. The main hall is a visual delight with marquetry flooring, high ceilings, and copious coffee table books on diverse subjects.

Breakfast is a sumptuous affair, top of the line, made to order, and served with silver service and porcelain. A delight coupled with the wonderful and attentive staff, I give this property my highest rating ever. A rare gem, a true delight on the eyes and senses, and please do not miss the evening candle lighting around the pool and gardens. Breathe it all in, feel your feel glide along century old burnished marble on the veranda., as a soft evening rain evokes rainforest melodies on all the plants below you.

A rare oasis of pleasure, relaxation, and delight. I stayed 4 nights and wish my schedule allowed for 4 more. If you come to Rio, for any reason, put this on your list, Jon Fink Charlottesville, VA

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms here. Arrive and leave your worries behind you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed just 2 nights at the wonderful Mama Ruisa in April 2014. We had a junior suite with a lovely view of the city, breakfast on our balcony was a real treat. Jean Michael was a super host and the all the staff very attentive. We had a very relaxing morning by the pool with a light lunch (great crusty bread). All the furniture and fittings are very tasteful and the overall standard is excellent. I would recommend this as the place to stay in Rio, so near to the cool bars of Santa Teresa.

Room Tip: Our jr suite had it's own dressing room wow !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We spent 4 nights at Mama Ruisa in March 2014. Our experience was simply wonderful. First of all, the people working there are outstanding and helpfull, from calling taxis for us to going out at the street to let the taxi know where we wanted to go. They would suggest ways for us to go to attractions, bars, etc. Always smiling.
Breakfast served on the balcony with different fresh tropical juices every morning, fresh cereals, French bread and more.
The whole house is decorated with charm and taste.
We enjoyed walking up and down Santa Teresa. Restaurants just around the corner.
The pool was perfectly clean and surronded by bougainvilliers, orchids, to name a few. We had a room (Colette) with a nice view on the bay and, in bonus, had a full moon!
We would love to go back.

Lise from Montréal, Canada.

Room Tip: Room Colette with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the first 2 nights of our holiday in Rio at Mama Ruisa. It's really a quiet and nice old house, beautifully furbished with just 8 rooms and a very large living room. Nothing to do with a modern anonymous hotel. Breakfast was excellent and served on our private small terrace, which we found wonderful. Our room was beautiful and large, with a very spacious bathroom and wardrobe. The owner and all the people working there are really very kind. There are for sure other places in Santa Teresa with a better view of Rio, but staying there is really very good. We would definitely recommend it and we'd like to go back once.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 211gabriella_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Mama Ruisa is a lovely small hotel in the interesting historic area of Santa Teresa. Great location for wandering around high above the Rio coastline. Good bars and restaurants within a few minutes walking. Easy taxi ride down to the beaches and other Rio highlights. The hotel is beautifully furnished and has a good sized pool surrounded by lovely plants & shrubs. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were delicious. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie-on-the-coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed 4 nights the week before Carnaval and could have been more in love with Mama Ruisa! Ask for the Amazon room - which is conveniently located close to the pool. More of a stylish home, Mama Ruisa is like staying with chic friends who know where to go and how to get around. Owner Jean Michael and Lydia know the best of Rio and where to go - from taking a day trip to Praihna or to shopping at Dona Coisa. A must for anyone who appreciates design, comfort and personalized living. I definitely will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the Amazon room - it's beautiful with great views of the bay, close to the pool, big roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in Mama Ruisa during carnival. The hotel and it's staff are simply amazing! Our room was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent and the location of the hotel is very convenient in cozy Santa Teresa. Not cheap but definetely worth it!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BramSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#9 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
339 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
808 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#3 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#4 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
115 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#13 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
115 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#9 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Ruisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Ruisa

Address: Rua Santa Cristina 132, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-250, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £91 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mama Ruisa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Mama Ruisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Ruisa Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mama Ruisa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing