We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a leading hotel of the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #4 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Fasano gets great reviews of course for such a great city as Rio there is not competition at all .Hospitality beeing very poor in Brazil. Location on Ipanéma is great of course..Reception staff is ok. But the hôtel is not as everybody says designed by Stark..he did not get along and left the project, it was done by one of his ex designer. So the curtains in the entrance are alwfull..the lobby with a lack of colour. The italian restaurant is ok but nothing special . the deluxe rooms are fine with the wood but the bathroom has no bath only a shower..The corridors are not well kept and smell humidity.. The rooftop bar and pool has beautiful view..but the pool is never cleaned and although full of stains as it has not been re-painted in a long time. The staff does'nt speak English ..and there is definitely a lack of training. We stayed there 7 nights in december and have never seen any management around..and it is supposed to be a busy period as far as we know..( but with around 60 rooms don't tell me they do not have the time to take care of their guests ) The bar upstairs closes at 10pm..and if you want to have a drink after dinner you have to go at the back downstairs where they make a big story to let you in even if you are a guest at the hôtel ..They offered us the promise of some service to be able to be organized on the beach..but it seemed so complicated that we forgot about it.. Well there is not really another boutique on the beach in Rio ... So THEIR PRICES ARE CRAZY.. but the price value is absolutely not there..and do not tell me that this is Brazil..and not easy.. because there is time to find another excuse.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for the time you put aside to write this review.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,478)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 1,478 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Fasano, RIGHT ACROSS FROM THE BEACH, is lovely and the staff is incredible. They arranged private tours and reservations at the best places in town. The food from the restaurant was great, and the rooms (while a touch small and oddly shaped) were always clean and comfortable. The area couldn't be nicer, and I highly recommend it. The pool is, needless to say, incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterNYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We are here to serve you, and we are pleased to know that you had a good time with us.

We hope to welcome you back at the Fasano Rio.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent five nights at Hotel Fasano over Christmas. it was absolutely fantastic. The location is perfect. The pool deck and view are stunning. The service was terrific - from Julia and Max at the concierge desk (who went out of their way every time we spoke to them and were warm and welcoming) to the front desk staff (shout-out to Brito who bent over backwards to be sure we enjoyed our stay) to the pool crew. The staff helped us with everything from restaurant reservations, to bicycle rentals, to tour guides (ask for Marco, he was fantastic) to picking up medicine at the drug store and delivering it to our room.

We've travelled all over the world and have been lucky enough to stay in some of the best hotels and the Fasano is right up there on every count.

A few more things...

-The ocean-front rooms are worth the extra money, they're bigger and the views are amazing; we had one of each, one "courtyard" and one ocean-front and there is a significant difference
-The beach is lovely although it gets crowded - there is great beach service via the hotel (chairs, water, umbrellas)
-Nothing is cheap - if you are price-sensitive this isn't the hotel for you
-The experience - the hotel and Rio in general - for our family at least, was priceless

And don't forget you need a visa to travel to Brazil from the US! We had friends who had to cancel their trip because they didn't get visas. Ugh.

Looking forward to a return visit to Rio and to the Fasano.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLCChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to share your impressions of the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

It is a true pleasure to know that you and your family had a wonderful time while with us.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

In Rio de Janeiro there are two hotels top level: Fasano in Ipanema and Copacabana Palace in Copacabana. The best location is Ipanema, smaller, safer, nicer. Fasano is brand new, well designed, stilish, modern, hip, trendy. Small rooms, maybe overpriced, but forget it, you are in the best place of one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Compared to this money is nothing. The swimming pool on 8th floor rooftop is remarcable, it leaves you breathless.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro. It is a pleasure to know that you had such a great time with us

We hope to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel has a wonderful location right on Ipanema beach. The front desk was welcoming, wonderful in fact. A basket of fresh fruit awaited which was a relief after a long flight. The room had a terrible view however (of a back alley, into a courtyard) which is the only negative. The hotel explained they were full to capacity which is completely understandable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael01UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro. Constructive comments and feedback are always the best way to overcome our guest's expectations.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Horrible management!
As soon as we arrived we were denied uor automatic upgrade due to FHR program; based on no availability.... I was able to book an upgraded room online 30 min after arriving.
Mr. Francis at the front desk/Concierge will make you feel ready to go home, or start your vacations somewhere else.
Of Course I already notified FHR program to review their policies and contract with Fasano.
The Concierge service at this hotel is practically non-existent; Was told that they were unable to book dinner at a nearby restaurants; we showed up at the restaurant , by the time we wanted the reservation,and were seated in 5 minutes and the maitre told us no one from Fasano called before.
All the service,wait staff are great; more helpful than front desk and management with a very few exceptions.
Come for the location and view if staying on a waterview room, the sunset from the pool is fantastic; Mr Diego at the pool bar was able to dissipate the bad taste from the experience with a fantastic caipirinha!
This Hotel should look into re-arrange some of its management team; such a design gem and a superb location do deserve a more suitable supervisory personal staff.

Room Tip: Arrange with their website, confirm your room, do not count on upgrades done by FHR or Black Amex...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I always stay here. I come to rio at least once a year. The view from the pool is great. The music in bareto londra the hotels bar is fantastic. I love it. (house music) but this hotels provides generally poor service and is still succesful because the hotel choice in rio is so limited. The pool staff are great. Everyone else hardly says hello. We had a sea view room, its nice but small. As i said, normally i stay here because the choices are so bad in this city, but this time i split my stay between here and copacabana palace. Once u visit copacabana palace u realise how u have been treated like a mug at the fasano, so poor service is not just a brazilian thing. The service does not compare. Yes location is not as good but get a cab. Fasano is a hotel where they dont care if u enjoy ur stay. The food is expensive and awful. The cocktails are the same and the icing on the cake is charging for wifi. Go have a coffee in a small cafe in brazil its free. Go to a pousada (guest house) on a remote island its free. At fasano? No way. These guys could get blood from a stone. I dont mind paying money for something thats worth it but i hate been ripped off and i always get this feeling here. Im leaving copacabana palace today on top of the world. Next time il be staying at CP for sure. I recomend u do the same.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sean180183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
3,307 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#41 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,725 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,698 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,202 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro

Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 80 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-002, Brazil (Formerly Fasano Hotel & Restaurant)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £425 - £692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Avenida Vieira Souto, in the heart of Ipanema beach, the long awaited hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro combines the sophistication of Rio’s most coveted address with modernity and efficiency in design and service. Envisioned by Philippe Starck, everything has been thought out to reverberate the glorious Bossa Nova era, when Ipanema was blossoming into the most charming neighborhood of Rio. The hotel caters to both leisure and business travelers and offers the latest technology in its accommodations and meeting rooms. Guests can experience Fasano's gastronomic legacy at the elegant Fasano al mare restaurant and enjoy signature cocktails and light meals at the ‘scenery’ Baretto-Londra. The breathtaking view from the rooftop swimming pool overlooks the beach and constitutes an attraction in and of itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fasano Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing