We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great buzz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #6 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great location, great buzz”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Fasano enjoys all the benefits and downfalls of a design hotel: beautiful people (staying and working), interesting/disposable design, expensive trendy food, and a wonderful rooftop pool. I would stay here again just for it's location, but I'm looking forward to the opening of the Emiliano Rio (the Emiliano Sao Paulo is one of my favorite hotels in the world). Right now the Fasano's main contender is the wonderful Copacobana Palace which is great, but it's in Copacobana.

There are a lot of wonderful staff here and nice touches like the side entrance for showering when you come back from the beach (where these is great, free beach service). This is a great place to hang out and a good base for enjoying all of Rio.

Room Tip: The ocean facing rooms are very nice both because they have stunning views, but also because the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We appreciate the time you put aside to write this review about our Hotel, and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    305
    111
    48
    23
See reviews for
177
610
107
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We just returned from a seven night stay in one of our favorite cities in the world, Rio de Janeiro. We have stayed in the area south of Leblon and on Capacabana. Rio's two luxury hotels are Copacabana Palace across from Copacabana Beach and Hotel Fasano across from Ipanema Beach.

This is our new favorite hotel in Rio. We loved it. The building is eight stories high with modern interiors. Our room had magnificent views of the beach and beyond. We also had a balcony, so we were able to sit outside. The rooms are average size, not large.

One of the best features of Hotel Fasano is the attentive beachside service that they provide across the street on Ipanema Beach. They provide beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels. Hotel Fasano is expensive. Rio hotels are all expensive. But, in one of the most fantastic citites on the planet, we splurged, and we're glad that we did.

Max at the concierge desk was friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. He arranged several great tours for us. One thing to keep in mind when visiting Rio. Most people here do not speak English. They know a few words for hospitality/service purposes. It's not like in Europe where everyone speaks English. Learn a few Portugeese phrases, expect good service (but not American/European standards of service), and stay in safe neighborhoods, and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PacificHeights7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We appreciate the time you put aside to write such a thoughtful review, and we are pleased to know that you had a good time while with us.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

i really don't know what to write , but ill do my best , the hotel for brazil is ok and for some people is very good and for other is poor , that depends on where usually you travel or stay in yes this is the main things , you cant compare it with W Barcelona or so , it wasn't that bad they were so friendly with me but maybe i used to stay in very very good hotel so this is the problem ,
and i am sure you cant find better hotel in RIO then Fasano so no option :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

Constructive comments and feedback are always the best way to overcome our guest's expectations.

We hope to serve you even better in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpierce64
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Pros: Excellent pool/view, nice/new rooms with marble bathrooms (though if you don't have a sea view you basically look directly at the back of residential building that is adjacent to the hotel), great beach service, pleasant breakfast

Cons: Expensive/questionable return for what you pay, small rooms, curtains in the lobby are strange, R$50 per day for WIFI, R$60 for valet parking (for which they park your car on the street in front of the hotel, not in a garage)

Bottom line: You are paying London/Paris/NY prices and you are not getting the same level of service/care/commitment from the staff that you would at 5 star properties in those cities (this is NOT a Brazilian thing; stay at the Copacabana Palace if you need the service to be at this standard in Rio or at the Emiliano if in Sao Paulo) and the rooms are likely smaller and not as functional as you would expect for the price. But the place is clean, trendy and nice; the pool and views are outstanding; and the location is very good. These are essentially the things for which you are (over?)paying. If you accept all of this and accept that the place prioritizes squeezing money from you rather than ensuring you stay is pleasant/comfortable then you will enjoy your stay here. If the weather is good then hopefully you won't be in the hotel much anyways. FYI service is better if you speak Portuguese.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpierce64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for not achieving the level of quality in service that we strive for during your stay with us. Likewise, we really appreciate the time you took to write this review, as it is only through constructive feedback that we can constantly monitor and improve our services and facilities.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

This modern hotel, in excellent location ( Ipanema just across the beach) is a creative achievement.
Located in an 8 storied building undistinguished from the rest of the waterfront buildings, the architect designed an interior that matches the contemporary 5 star ultra modern decor fashion.
We had a Deluxe room facing the ocean of average size, with a very ample balcony.
The compartimented full marble bathroom had a excepcional comfortable and ample shower cabin, WC + bidet.
On the 8th floor a shallow infinity pool, plus bar and solarium present a stunning view of Ipanema beach and environments. This is complemented by a beach service just acroos the street with umbrella, towels and sun chairs.
The restaurant is very good ( italian fare ) and breakfast has all you would expect in a 5 star hotel.
The staff is well trained and very kind.
WIFI in all areas with an exceptional high speed of 18Mbps.
My only negative comment is that when you check in at a hotel with published double room rates above 1000 US$/night you expect no discomfort. An this cannot be said of FASANO.
It seems the architect never slept in a room.
Otherwise he would have designed drawers in the writing desk ( to put work papers or laptops away ), he would have put a light above the reading chair ( at night it remains in darkness unless you read on a kindle or Ipad ) and he would have put drawers in the night tables besides the bed to enable you to put your intimate articles, books or contact lenses away. The AC was noisy at night, but I do not know if it was only in our room or it is the quality of machinery they bought.
In conclusion : a trendy designer hotel but with practical uncomfortable details unacceptable for the market they try to serve

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro. Constructive comments are always the best way to overcome our guest's expectations.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us; and thank you for dedicating your time to write such a thoughtful review about us.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Fasano gets great reviews of course for such a great city as Rio there is not competition at all .Hospitality beeing very poor in Brazil. Location on Ipanéma is great of course..Reception staff is ok. But the hôtel is not as everybody says designed by Stark..he did not get along and left the project, it was done by one of his ex designer. So the curtains in the entrance are alwfull..the lobby with a lack of colour. The italian restaurant is ok but nothing special . the deluxe rooms are fine with the wood but the bathroom has no bath only a shower..The corridors are not well kept and smell humidity.. The rooftop bar and pool has beautiful view..but the pool is never cleaned and although full of stains as it has not been re-painted in a long time. The staff does'nt speak English ..and there is definitely a lack of training. We stayed there 7 nights in december and have never seen any management around..and it is supposed to be a busy period as far as we know..( but with around 60 rooms don't tell me they do not have the time to take care of their guests ) The bar upstairs closes at 10pm..and if you want to have a drink after dinner you have to go at the back downstairs where they make a big story to let you in even if you are a guest at the hôtel ..They offered us the promise of some service to be able to be organized on the beach..but it seemed so complicated that we forgot about it.. Well there is not really another boutique on the beach in Rio ... So THEIR PRICES ARE CRAZY.. but the price value is absolutely not there..and do not tell me that this is Brazil..and not easy.. because there is time to find another excuse.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for the time you put aside to write this review.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Fasano, RIGHT ACROSS FROM THE BEACH, is lovely and the staff is incredible. They arranged private tours and reservations at the best places in town. The food from the restaurant was great, and the rooms (while a touch small and oddly shaped) were always clean and comfortable. The area couldn't be nicer, and I highly recommend it. The pool is, needless to say, incredible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterNYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We are here to serve you, and we are pleased to know that you had a good time with us.

We hope to welcome you back at the Fasano Rio.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,276 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#39 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,710 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,663 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,180 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro

Property: Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 80 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-002, Brazil (Formerly Fasano Hotel & Restaurant)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Avenida Vieira Souto, in the heart of Ipanema beach, the long awaited hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro combines the sophistication of Rio’s most coveted address with modernity and efficiency in design and service. Envisioned by Philippe Starck, everything has been thought out to reverberate the glorious Bossa Nova era, when Ipanema was blossoming into the most charming neighborhood of Rio. The hotel caters to both leisure and business travelers and offers the latest technology in its accommodations and meeting rooms. Guests can experience Fasano's gastronomic legacy at the elegant Fasano al mare restaurant and enjoy signature cocktails and light meals at the ‘scenery’ Baretto-Londra. The breathtaking view from the rooftop swimming pool overlooks the beach and constitutes an attraction in and of itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fasano Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing