We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People watching”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #7 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Small luxury hotel facing Ipanema beach. Get for watching the beach which is directly across the road. See one of the best sunsets from the rooftop swimming pool area whilst enjoying a glass of wine. The restaurant is excellent. Its a short taxi ride or a longish walk to Copacabana Beach . Its another great people watching place and also cooler in the evenings.
Rooms need brighter lights

Room Tip: You have to have beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria1976_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for dedicating part of your time to write a review about us.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We hope to serve you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

We arrived at 4PM at the Hotel Fasano and were immediately taken care of by the door man who made sure our luggage was unloaded. The receptionist however informed us that our room was not ready even though check-in time is 3PM! He asked us to wait on the roof top of the hotel by the pool. Whilst the roof top is gorgeous and the view is breathtaking we were not dressed for the pool which meant the stay there felt rather warm. They also could not tell us exactly when our room was ready which is unacceptable. We asked for Wifi access to bridge the time but the code did not work at first which meant we had to go down again to get a new code which is just not up to 5 star hotel standards. The staff at the front desk also had a bit of an attitude. After waiting for another hour we complained and demanded to speak to the manager Nayara. She was very apologetic and friendly and offered complimentary breakfast and wifi through out our stay which was appreciated. She was the only staff worth remembering as the rest was in general rather average. It took another 20 minutes until we finally arrived in our room. The room is very well appointed and the interior is spectacular. However as our room was on the first floor the room did feel a bit dark. Also the street noise is really loud and did disturb our stay a bit. This however will be addressed we have been told. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom whilst big did not have enough hangers to hang towels etc and the shower was not enclosed which meant water did spill on to the floor at times. The toiletries were very nice and felt luxurious.
Unfortunately the weather was not that great during our stay so you could not really enjoy the roof top which is the best part about the hotel.
The gym whilst small had everything you would need and they even provided headphones, power bars, fruits and water which was a nice touch.
Breakfast was buffet style and was of high quality and decent quantity. However do not expect a big elaborate spread as the restaurant is rather small.
Service in the hotel is in general ok and friendly but it lacked the finesse and professionalism of other great 5 star hotels in the world.
I would stay here again as the rooms are great, the location is great and the hotel is rather spectacular. However service does need some improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetlife888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, and I take this opportunity to also thank you for putting some time aside to write such a thoughtful review. Your feedback is the most valuable tool that we have to constantly adapt and improve our services and facilities.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

... if you are willing to pay for it. The location is perfect, the roof top terrace is the best place to relax in entire Rio from my point of view. I have stayed several times at the hotel and seen the different rooms. I think it is worth investing in the ocean view rooms since they are bigger and the ones in the back depress you a bit. Breakfast is one of the best I have had in a hotel and also the food on the roof top is great.

Overall, the hotel is fantastic, however, EVERYTHING is very pricy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for the comments regarding your stay.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay so many times.

We hope to serve you again in a near future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed there a year ago and found it a little overrated. Rooms with a view are quite noisy and it's hard to sleep at night. The rooms are comfortable and well decorated but still a big difference from the good 5* hotels. The pool is good and has a great view, but can become overcrowded with Brazilian socialites. Would have preferred to stay at the Palace.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Ana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Sure it is expensive. But it is what it takes to be in the best hotel in Rio with an unbeatable location and a breathtaking view from the pool bar. Food is decent. Service is reasonable for Brazil. Rooms are small but good design. Concierge is outstanding esp. julia. Ask for her. Having a great concierge is a must in such a country.
We were there with 2 kids and although the place is quite full of people, we never had the feeling the kids were not welcome.
One negative esp. at this price, you have to pay for wifi. This must change.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Micha3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for the time you took to write a review about us.

We are glad to know that you had a good time and we also thank you for commending our Concierge Julia.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at Hotel Fasano as a treat to ourselves at the end of a 3 week vacation in Brazil.

The other reviews on this site were largely reflective of our experience:

- the poolside experience (views, service, other patrons etc) is incredible
- the rooms are quirky but clean and comfortable
- the breakfast (albeit expensive) is bountiful and delicious
- the location is without parallel
- the staff mean well but often completely miss the mark when it comes to basic customer service

You needed to be very direct (whilst remaining polite and pleasant, of course) in terms of your needs/requirements and timing when dealing with staff.

We had mixed success - breakfast items were mixed up with neighbouring tables, drinks ordered at the pool never arrived and minor charges for things like internet in the room which we were told were free, were charged to our account.

At the end of the day, none of the above had a material impact on our stay and given the GBP/Real exchange rate we weren't too bothered to push the point. But it's little things like that hold this hotel back from being world-class.

All of that said, I would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor so you can use the stairwell to access the roof/pool rather than use the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottnothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for dedicating a moment for writing such a thoughtful review regarding your stay with us.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Every time I go to Rio I go to Fasano, still very good, still the best location, the best rooms, the best service, the best views from the pool, the best breakfast....it os really a home away from home.

Room Tip: is you book to Fasano, you have to take a room with Ocean Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmplolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We also thank you for dedicating your time to give us feedback about your stay and we are happy to know that you enjoyed it.

We hope to serve you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,376 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#45 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,767 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,769 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,631 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro

Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 80 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-002, Brazil (Formerly Fasano Hotel & Restaurant)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £408 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Avenida Vieira Souto, in the heart of Ipanema beach, the long awaited hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro combines the sophistication of Rio’s most coveted address with modernity and efficiency in design and service. Envisioned by Philippe Starck, everything has been thought out to reverberate the glorious Bossa Nova era, when Ipanema was blossoming into the most charming neighborhood of Rio. The hotel caters to both leisure and business travelers and offers the latest technology in its accommodations and meeting rooms. Guests can experience Fasano's gastronomic legacy at the elegant Fasano al mare restaurant and enjoy signature cocktails and light meals at the ‘scenery’ Baretto-Londra. The breathtaking view from the rooftop swimming pool overlooks the beach and constitutes an attraction in and of itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fasano Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing