We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fasano” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #5 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“fasano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

the roof top is amazing and obviously the place to be. the food is delicious and it is a little slice of calm away form the madness. however the mad noise from the hotel on my floor and surronding area at night made for not a very good nights sleep and finding the cleanign staff in my room late at night was somewhat unnerving.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcentric103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for putting some time aside to write a review about us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    297
    108
    48
    23
See reviews for
166
578
107
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is an incredible place thanks to the amazing GM. Always there to meet and greet and give good tips or say good bye. Lovely rooms over the sea, incredible attention to detail like typical beach snacks waiting on my balcony overlooking the beach and locally sourced organic chocolate. Really nice rooftop pool for that morning swim. Much better beach then Copacabana

Room Tip: seaview a must, well worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnookie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for putting some time aside to write a review about us.

In addition, I would like to also thank you for the nice words regarding our General Manager.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in a near future!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I spent five days in Rio. We spent two nights at the Fasano (two nights we spent in the center at Santa Teresa). We had a fantastic time at the Fasano. The set-up is very chic and sleek. The service was very good, although a few times more promised than delivered. Overall the staff wins guests over through attentive charm and an easy manner taking care of you. The roof terrace is a must, even if you don't stay there... The pool is cool, the view great and the barman knows how to mix his drinks. It is one of the few places you can have Caipirinha da Caju (on the basis of the fruits of cashew nuts): best with a bit of lime and minimal sugar, and the samba can start... The rooms are minimalistic, and if you have a choice, make sure you are as high up in the building as possible. We were on the second floor and it was noisier than expected. We took the honeymoon package, only available in Real, and totally worth it. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for the view and make sure you stay on as high a floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for putting some time aside to write a review about us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

One of the great views of the world. The Hotel has it's posh policies for sure, and you feel you need to be wearing Chanel head to toe to enter. But the food is divine, which you're paying for of course, and the view from the rooftop is worth your visit alone. Do not miss if you're in Rio!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chichinyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for putting some time aside to write a review about us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I checked in mid week (still off season --two weeks before Easter) and they told me the hotel was full and an upgrade was not possible. Having not been to Rio in a number of years, this hotel was recommended by some Brazilian friends as one of the most popular in the area. When I checked in to my room with its Miro-esque mirrors and small hand mirror on the ceiling above the bed, they were trying to hard to be hip and failing miserably. When I go to open my computer, there were actually bugs on the desk -- yes bugs!! I immediately went downstairs and explained the situation. "What type of bugs?" Was the question they asked. Are you kidding me???? Does it matter??? They then tried to give me a lesser room telling me it was the only one that was clean. I asked for the manager who only showed up 20 minutes later. I recanted the same story and he did not even offer an apology. I was finally given a room next door to my original room which was very dark. That night I returned home from dinner with friends about 11 pm and went to bed. At 4:30 am on a Wednesday, there was a drunken group of guests who decided to continue their lobby on my floor and literally woke up the entire floor with its paper thin walls. You could hear several people yelling through the walls for them to quiet down. I thought I might have taken a wrong turn on my evening run and ended up in the favela down the road instead of this grossly overpriced hotel. Stay away!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: For a good room, stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Miami2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us, and for not achieving the level of quality in service that we strive for.

Thank you for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our Brazilian adventure. The hotel is very well located towards one end of Ipanema beach. We had a deluxe ocean view room on the fifth floor which had a great view of the beach. Room itself was smallish and quite dark. The rooftop swimming pool was frequented by a very self-conscious crowd, so if you are into posturing this is the place for you (it wasn't for us though). Lifts slow-coming at times. One thing that was very irritating was the staff's insistence on telling you their name at any interaction. This policy of trying to create some friendly atmosphere in fact had the opposite effect on us (just felt very insincere). Breakfast was served in the restaurant and was the best thing about the place. After we got back from our holiday we realised that we had left an item of clothing in the room. The good thing was that they had it in lost/found. The bad thing was that they charged more than £100 to send it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakse_Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for putting some time aside to write a review about us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you want a fashion hotel with great decoration, good food an service that's Fasano. The terrace with pool is a postcard of Rio, a must. The lounge bar is another standout of the Hotel.
Service is very good, almost a Four Season or Ritz level.
If you like to surf even better as Arpoador is one of the best surf points of Brazil and you can always lend a skateboard to ride on the beach bike/skate path.
A great place to feel Rio with style.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuizLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for putting some time aside to write a review about us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#34 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#9 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,543 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#14 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro

Property: Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 80 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-002, Brazil (Formerly Fasano Hotel & Restaurant)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Avenida Vieira Souto, in the heart of Ipanema beach, the long awaited hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro combines the sophistication of Rio’s most coveted address with modernity and efficiency in design and service. Envisioned by Philippe Starck, everything has been thought out to reverberate the glorious Bossa Nova era, when Ipanema was blossoming into the most charming neighborhood of Rio. The hotel caters to both leisure and business travelers and offers the latest technology in its accommodations and meeting rooms. Guests can experience Fasano's gastronomic legacy at the elegant Fasano al mare restaurant and enjoy signature cocktails and light meals at the ‘scenery’ Baretto-Londra. The breathtaking view from the rooftop swimming pool overlooks the beach and constitutes an attraction in and of itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fasano Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing