We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starck does Rio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #5 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Starck does Rio”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Rio + Ipanema Posto 9 + and a Rooftop Deck overlooking it all? Hard to beat it if you can pay the price. Very nice in that new-ish Phillipe Starck hotel kind of way (ie: polarizing > either supercool or super self-conscious). Cons: late night bass line sometimes pumps through the pillow and the 4th room I stayed in was musty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhkilbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    977
    303
    110
    48
    23
See reviews for
176
605
107
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

One of the best beach front hotel in the Americas.
The hotel is so modern, the staff is amazing.
The location cannot be better in front of Ipanema Beach.
Just cross the street and you are in the water.
The breakfast is delicious. The room is so design ! a little dark but so high end and well arrange.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with beach view ... is worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amores1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for putting some time aside to write a review about us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We are just coming to the end of a 4 month trip travelling around the world and to date we have stayed in 32 different accommodations. Of those, we rate the Fasano as the best. We thought it outstanding. The rooms had a spacious feel and were kept particularly clean. We had clean towels twice a day, free mineral water daily, and free wifi, which was very fast. All of the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, and most all of them addressed us by name.
OK, the place has been "designed" and some of the features were just plain daft (like a sink with no plug, and dark internal corridors with 'cupboard doors"), but nothing to spoil our comfort. We also found Ipanema a fabulous location, and having a balcony overlooking the beach was the icing on the cake. I should also mention that the fruit at breakfast was incredibly tasty. I have never had the like.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the beach is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 476David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for putting some time aside to write such a nice review about us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Britain, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The pros are:
-location on Ipanema & proximity to everything
-roof top pool & lounge has a great view
-very nice hotel compared to what is offered in the city elsewhere
-small building & attentive/friendly staff, especially at the front desk
-place is clean, (but small), & secure
Cons:
-price is too much for what you get (found a special promotion in off peak season, otherwise hard to justify)
-some disorganization in checking in/out-- had some confusion in booking/paying in USD and the manager was unable to answer simple questions about payment & being overcharged from the booking online through Fasano website
-room bill includes a transfer to Sofitel Hotel which was prob just a mistake.

There are some things guests should not have to worry about after paying this much in what us considered 5 Star Hotel... Overall, the building is beautiful with killer views & location. I'd recommend staying if you don't mind splurging and want a nice central hotel. It's not perfect but it may be one of the best Rio has to offer
-

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank campbell_jamesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

the roof top is amazing and obviously the place to be. the food is delicious and it is a little slice of calm away form the madness. however the mad noise from the hotel on my floor and surronding area at night made for not a very good nights sleep and finding the cleanign staff in my room late at night was somewhat unnerving.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcentric103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for putting some time aside to write a review about us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is an incredible place thanks to the amazing GM. Always there to meet and greet and give good tips or say good bye. Lovely rooms over the sea, incredible attention to detail like typical beach snacks waiting on my balcony overlooking the beach and locally sourced organic chocolate. Really nice rooftop pool for that morning swim. Much better beach then Copacabana

Room Tip: seaview a must, well worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnookie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for putting some time aside to write a review about us.

In addition, I would like to also thank you for the nice words regarding our General Manager.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in a near future!

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I spent five days in Rio. We spent two nights at the Fasano (two nights we spent in the center at Santa Teresa). We had a fantastic time at the Fasano. The set-up is very chic and sleek. The service was very good, although a few times more promised than delivered. Overall the staff wins guests over through attentive charm and an easy manner taking care of you. The roof terrace is a must, even if you don't stay there... The pool is cool, the view great and the barman knows how to mix his drinks. It is one of the few places you can have Caipirinha da Caju (on the basis of the fruits of cashew nuts): best with a bit of lime and minimal sugar, and the samba can start... The rooms are minimalistic, and if you have a choice, make sure you are as high up in the building as possible. We were on the second floor and it was noisier than expected. We took the honeymoon package, only available in Real, and totally worth it. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for the view and make sure you stay on as high a floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for putting some time aside to write a review about us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,242 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,377 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#37 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,633 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,283 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro

Property: Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 80 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-002, Brazil (Formerly Fasano Hotel & Restaurant)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Avenida Vieira Souto, in the heart of Ipanema beach, the long awaited hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro combines the sophistication of Rio’s most coveted address with modernity and efficiency in design and service. Envisioned by Philippe Starck, everything has been thought out to reverberate the glorious Bossa Nova era, when Ipanema was blossoming into the most charming neighborhood of Rio. The hotel caters to both leisure and business travelers and offers the latest technology in its accommodations and meeting rooms. Guests can experience Fasano's gastronomic legacy at the elegant Fasano al mare restaurant and enjoy signature cocktails and light meals at the ‘scenery’ Baretto-Londra. The breathtaking view from the rooftop swimming pool overlooks the beach and constitutes an attraction in and of itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Southall Travel, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fasano Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing