We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view ...that's about it .... never ever a 4-5 star place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #5 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Nice view ...that's about it .... never ever a 4-5 star place”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

do not get me wrong, these 2 stars don't mean you are paying 2 star pricing. this is a giant scam ...to put this still polite. I stayed there last week for the World Cup and could not believe the actual value (LOL) for money you get in this overrated MEGALUXURY (being sarcastic) hotel.
It started at the check-in....no one actually cared at all about you ...it does not matter you were going to spend an astronomous fortune on an IBIS STYLE HOTEL. The funny curtain and the absurdous lobby decoration (you can see PHILIPPE STARCK IS FRENCH because the decoration is mediocre like in a Parisian 5 star hotel) is not at all suitable for the self proclaimed best hotel in rio.
okay after almost getting angry they finally noticed me and my 10000 AUD booking...good for me. I got me suite thanks to visa black concierge booking and even a balcony.
THE VIEWS ARE TO DIE FOR .....THE BILL TO DIE AFTER GETTING IT LOL.
I like the nice suites but they actually are tiny ...yes like a french hotel room somewhere in paris . the room service never ever even made it to get me some champagne.
so my wife and I we went up to the roofdeck where fat ,greasy old men gave her their business cards...nice atmosphere .....
so what kind of joint is this ???
we took it jokingly and embarrassingly for them ...pointing them out and laughing ...but this place is neither decent in pricing nor in clients....
I would consider vthis a 3 star hotel at its best with 7 star prices !!!
ridiculously overpriced. i paid 500 aud for a bottle of champagne....
even in gorgeous and expensive sidney this would have been no more than 150 us....even at the star casino....
ahhh///this place is really noisy....and in spite of charging a fortune in rates and they easily could afford solid 18k gold walls they just made them out of paper...
if you like to stay up late, door bangers and yelling gentlemen (or whatever they were) this is the place....
if you have money to burn and like your girl being harassed by w.....s this is the place lol
if not try the jw. marriott where we will stay in the future.
rio itself is a gorgeous city which is well worth a visit.....
have fun mates !

Room Tip: get a suite ..... street front...back is terrible ...parking lot slash construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro and for dedicating your time to write such detailed review about us. It is only through our guests’ constructive feedback that we can constantly monitor and fine-tune our services and facilities.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for all the inconveniences you have experienced.

Thank you again for sharing your impressions and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    299
    109
    48
    23
See reviews for
170
584
107
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

You immediately notice tht they gave it some thought when they were having the room decor set up, cozy. Very nice staff, the roof top was great to relax and have a drink, and the location was just perfect for me, a good 2 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

the first impression you got just at the very beginning while enter to the reception zone and enjoy welcome drinks during the registration, the interior if this hotel was created by philipp Starck and you feel his style in every sq m of the hotels. Rooms are nice and the swimming pool at the rooftop gives you the best view to the Ipanema beach.

Room Tip: visit the restaurant Gero, owned by the same company as the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Best view by the Pool, VIP service and social/Brasilian lifestyle. The location in Ipanema by the beach is priceless, you will be in walking distance. Great restaurante and bar at first floor, but the "Must" is whatching the sunset at rooftop/pool drinking Caipirinhas. Only bad review is about the overprice (Rio over charge). Enjoy it

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cabraljoaopedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed there twice in 2013 and have mixed feelings. It is stylish and the whole vibe is cool.. But if you get a room on the lower floors you will not sleep due to traffic and the coming and going of guests. The rooms however are large, chic and impressive. The roof top bar/pool also hits the spot. But the place is just trying a bit too hard, like some of the guests and it also suffers from one of the curses of trying to be cool... good looking staff who are not the most attentive at service. If I go back to Rio, would I stay again. Probably not.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel!

Incredible location... Roof top pool and bar are fantastic. Rooms were in good condition with cool design. Worth going for the view and balcony.

Staff couldn't have been more helpful and polite.

Recommend in an instant!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SebastianVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write a review about us, and it is a pleasure to know that you had a great time with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel has great location and amazing bar and poll on the roof - awesome for sunset watching. But the staff is obviously a little bit bored with so many tourists spending great money in the hotel.
We have booked room without ocean view which means the view on extra ugly wall of next building. Don't do it if you don't want to pay overprised ocean view room. It would be better to stay in another hotel e.g.The Copacabana Palace.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Fasano-RJ, Manager at Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your visit to the Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro.

We offer no excuses but our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3,155 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,322 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#38 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,148 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,570 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#4 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro

Property: Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 80 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-002, Brazil (Formerly Fasano Hotel & Restaurant)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Avenida Vieira Souto, in the heart of Ipanema beach, the long awaited hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro combines the sophistication of Rio’s most coveted address with modernity and efficiency in design and service. Envisioned by Philippe Starck, everything has been thought out to reverberate the glorious Bossa Nova era, when Ipanema was blossoming into the most charming neighborhood of Rio. The hotel caters to both leisure and business travelers and offers the latest technology in its accommodations and meeting rooms. Guests can experience Fasano's gastronomic legacy at the elegant Fasano al mare restaurant and enjoy signature cocktails and light meals at the ‘scenery’ Baretto-Londra. The breathtaking view from the rooftop swimming pool overlooks the beach and constitutes an attraction in and of itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fasano Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing