We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week in Rio at Casa Aurea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique
Ranked #49 of 347 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My wife and I spent one full week in Rio de Janeiro in August at Casa Aurea in Santa Teresa and highly recommend it. Casa Aurea is a warm, relaxed and friendly place. The staff are interested, enterprising and helpful, but were never pushy or overbearing. There always seems to be at least one person who speaks English, and each of them helped us in different ways with our various plans (even including a brief, unexpected visit to the Seventh Day Adventist Hospital). The neighborhood is charming, and although it is quite an easy walk to the Gloria Metro station, taxi service is also readily available for those less inclined to walk. We traveled all over Rio by Metro, bus, taxi, boat and foot; the Casa Aurea team even helped us get to some out-lying places (plus a fascinating 4-hour walk through the large favela situated right above Ipanema Beach). There are excellent eating spots and interesting shops in the Santa Teresa area, as well as plenty of great views. Potential problems which had concerned us prior to our visit did not prove to be significant at all for us (language; possible noisy neighborhood; age issues (we are 73 and 69); reported "smoking" issues). The other travelers/visitors we met at Casa Aurea (all ages), were pleasant, informative and very friendly. We both definitely recommend that you consider Casa Aurea for your next visit to Rio!

Room Tip: An excellent choice would be a room on the main floor with a shared bath, both for convenience and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed at Casa Aurea during the month of July for 10 days. The accommodation I stayed at was very modest and basic, although because it was located in a basement under the kitchen it was quite dark, with views of a construction zone, and no window in the bathroom (thus chilly in the evenings and morning). There was a lot of noise on the ceiling of my room, from foot traffic in the main house's kitchen very early in the morning, and the wifi signal was very weak in the basement bedroom. Even though this rusticity is part of the "charm" that Casa Aurea advertises, I feel that for the price that one pays, one does not really get very good value or much comfort. While Casa Aurea costs less money than other hotels in Rio, it is not inexpensive either. The pousada's decoration is indeed charming and the courtyard appears as a welcoming place. However, I found that I could not stay at the courtyard as much as I would have liked to, because smoking is allowed in all areas at the house, and I am allergic to smoking. And even though the courtyard is somewhat open, the constant smoking, even during the breakfast service, really made it very uncomfortable for me. Also, smoke would filter into the bedroom as well. I think that Casa Aurea owners should advertise that the pousada is a smoking place and that non-smokers won't have a lot of spaces that are smoke free. The staff is very friendly and helpful, although not everyone. Gene and Leda were great.

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper part of the house will probably have better views, but they have no private bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sofia286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAurea, Owner at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

We would like to thank you by our casa aurea team for taking the time to write us a feedback.
Usually a feedback, is to give inspiration to maintain the service good. And your words made us realize that it is time for changes. So we got the solution to separate some special smoking areas, so we can compromise with both, the smokers and non smokers.
And like this to make it comfortable for everybody.
Coming back on the comment that it was noisy, surprised us. usually we hear the opposite.
But we take your feedback serious and will be aware.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed in July which is low season. Service is personal, pleasant and relaxed. Cornelius, the proprietor made us feel very much at home. We stayed in a room with shared bathroom, which was just outside our room and as it was quite quiet, we had it to ourselves. The pousada is in a great location in Santa Teresa, close to the bars you want to visit, but otherwise in a quiet street. Worth mentioning is that Santa Teresa is a very hilly neighbourhood, with cobbled streets that are often STEEP, so bear this in mind if you are not up for some exercise!
Nice breakfast with fresh food and eggs of your choise was served on the garden patio. Internet was rather slow, but when on holiday, this is just a reason to go out and enjoy other things instead! We would recommend this little haven of quiet, when visiting Rio.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiinaVirtanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This place is really nice - set in the hilly surrounds and cobbled streets of Santa Teresa, it is a very welcoming hotel with an exceptional ambience and atmosphere. My room was clean, comfortable and nicely-furnished, with a good bed with mosquito net,a desk and en suite bathroom. Don't expect TVs, minibars, etc, it's not that kind of hotel. I wouldn't use the word basic to describe Casa Aurea - the place has far more than that - but it's not over-the-top luxury, more a modest type of accomodation. There's a beautiful garden/courtyard, where breakfast is served, you can help yourself to tea, coffee and drinks, and use the kitchen facilities. And lots of little nooks and crannies, courtyards and stairs to sit out in and enjoy the balmy Rio evenings. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and service is excellent. Good, fast, and free wi-fi is also a plus. Overall a big thumbs up, and at prices that are far less than most options in Rio.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

At Casa Aurea, there is a huge gap between what is promised and what is delivered, especially with respect to what is listed on Tripadvisor. Casa Aurea is a marginal lodging at best, appropriate perhaps for large youth groups and/or those on an extreme budget. It is totally inappropriate for senior citizens with heavy luggage due to the requirement to navigate two sets of stairs, one very narrow, to access the private room. Our shower had no hot water the two days we were there. There was the very strong smell of sewer gas in our room. Internet service is slow and very intermittent. We were very surprised because we had done substantial internet research before reserving here. We were extremely disappointed with the facilities.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at Casa Aurea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davidhgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAurea, Manager at Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

We would like to clarify some topics mentioned in this review.
The stairs leading to the suites have 11 degrees of official size and in the last 11 years of operation of Casa Aurea there was never any comments about it. Still, we decided to put 2 handrails to improve safety for older people.
In Brazil, almost all the showers are electrical and it is an easy common practice the exchange of the heating element when burned. It doesn't take us more than 10 minutes to replace it and solve the problem of hot water. But obviously we need to know.
As for the smell of sewage, it was a leak in the public sewer in the street outside the inn who spread bad smell throughout the region and it was repaired by the prefecture after two days.
Casa Aurea has a modern and efficient system of internet speed with 20 kbp and three independent modems to cover the large area of the house. But you need to log in to the strongest network to have a perfect internet access anywhere in the house. For some people this may be to complicated.
Conclusion: I believe that with a little more communication all the problems mentioned could have been solved here and on time. We continue to receive exemplary mature aged travellers: as you can see in the review of Gordon S, published on the 6th of september of 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is a beautiful and extremely friendly and welcoming pousada in the heart of the stupendous neighborhood of Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro. There is a wide choice of rooms and prices, and a gorgeous and very cosy luxurious shared covered garden / patio where breakfast is served and guests can cook up their diner or hang out and socialize. The shared bathroom is full of character and the amenities are simple but charming and very clean.
The best thing about Casa Aurea is the wonderful, helpful, interesting and generous staff, I found that their welcome made me stay very special. Whether on business, leisure, a Carioca-connaisseur or a first time explorer, I'm sure you will enjoy your stay here as much as I did and also meet a lot of very interesting people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Very nice pousada in a classic, colonial ambiance, where we felt at home immediately after a warm welcome at arrival. Friendly and helpful personel, they'll do anything to satisfy their guests. Also the location in the area of Santa Teresa is worth visiting, there is so much to see. No doubt we will visit it again next time when going to Rio de Janeiro (hopefully very soon, because Rio is a great place to be. We just love it!). Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Andre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#87 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,390 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Midas Rio Suites
Midas Rio Suites
#216 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
165 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#72 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,453 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#22 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,690 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#90 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique

Address: Rua Aurea N 80 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-210, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 347 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £50 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Casa Aurea is a great retreat from the heavily populated tourist areas. the pousada upon the hills of Santa Teresa where the winding cobblestone streets and an old-fashion tram Bonde, gives the neighborhood a historical charm.The very special thing about this guesthouse is connecting people, making friends.The Casa Aurea Inn has 13 rooms with a variety of accommodations ranging from dormitory style to private rooms with washrooms. There are plenty of communal areas which add sociability to the place.Complete Breakfast with tropical fruits includedSuites with refrigeratorFree Use of BBQ Grill & Pizza OvenEnglish, German, Portuguese, Spanish and French spokenExternal guest kitchenLaundryTelephone (via Skype) and broadband internet access available 24/24Wireless internet connectionClose to transport links, taxi rank, supermarkets, health centre, police station, and restaurants24-hours street security guardTourist Information Info DeskTour guides availableAirport PickupBook ExchangeAs well there is a guest kitchen too in case you want to dine in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Aurea Pousada-Guesthouse Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Pousada Casa Aurea Boutique Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing