We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beach House Ipanema
Nearby Hotels
Praia Ipanema Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
US$141
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windsor Florida Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$42
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Copacabana Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atlantis Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Copacabana Sol Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vila Gale Rio de Janeiro(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
114
142
89
43
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
142
89
43
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedsperfect locationcommunal areasmeet other travellerspool areaquiet streeta great stayfew blocksstayed here for nightssafe arealockersipanemahammocksriocons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The worse 2 nights I had. It was a disaster right from the start. We were told to stand aside when we walked in to reception as they were expecting their friend with a cake - so that they can sing happy birthday to her. Thought paying a bit extra for the en-suite would be a good idea but it was literally horrible. The bed had a sheet which obviously has seen better days and didn't even stay on the mattress. When we wanted to speak to the manager, she couldn't even bother to stop smoking to come in to the reception from the garden but was talking to us through the window. We were supposed stay there 5 nights but managed to find somewhere else and moved out as soon as we could. They didn't want to give us a refund either but they found someone else to take the room eventually and we managed to recover 2 nights and lost a night.

This might be an OK place for a very young back packer but it certainly wasn't the place for me. The only good thing about it was the location which at the heart of Ipenema!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeynep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

First of all, let me say that I have travelled a lot across the world and to some pretty remote places and this is the first time that I review a hotel.  We've stayed there at the begining of april in the so called suite (basically a closet with a place for a double bed and a broom closet for the bathroom and this for 100$ us a night) and I can tell you one thing this place is terrible.  First, the guy at reception is totally unsympathetic.  When we arrived after our 10 h flight he did not want to let us check in at 11 and we would have to wait till one for the check in even though our room was ready.  When we finally got the room it stank, had mold in the bathroom and was dirty.  All our bags and some clothes had some kind of white chalk deposit on it.  We asked the guy at the front desk to rent some of the bike they were offering and after pretending to do some stuff on his computer, like he always does, told us there was no bike left even though we could see some in the back.  He also tried to make us charge for a bottle a water and soda we did not buy and not give us our money back when we bought something.  What a guy! The backyard is quite nice though and the kitchen and breakfast are not bad.  But what i look for in a accomodation is a CLEAN and QUIET place to sleep.  At night it can get a little noisy with some of the people wanting to party in the backyard even though it is not allowed after 10 pm.  Not great if you want a quiet sleep.  This place could be ok if you want to party and sleep in the bunk bed in the dorm, but for anything in the world do not book their private room.  For the rude management and bad room, do yourself a favor, spend a little more and go somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebsebx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Great atmosphere with lovely and caring staff! Even on easter holiday when all over rio was fully booked out they figured out a place to sleep for me and my friend - thanx again!
Fibnally we ended up staying almost 4 weeks in the hostel :)

Great breakfast with lovely staff preparing it, cool and safe location close to the beach, clean pool and lovely inside area!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuulipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

It's the place to stay if you're looking for party or just to relax in Rio. The staff knows everything there is to know about nightlife, tours and beauty hideouts within the city, and they are very helpfull too! The area is safe and you can always go for a stroll without feeling unsafe. It's perfect location (only 3 min walking from Ipanema beach) makes this place the best in Rio!

// Oscar & Kalle Lindhe

Room Tip: Stay in one of the rooms close to the sitting area in the back of the hostel. Go for a morning swim before breakfast or just chill in the evening.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oscar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Loved the location, atmosphere, breakfast, music and nice back- and frontyard. I recommend the ipanema beach house hostel to everyone who doesn't only valuate price. Me and my fellows stayed more than two weeks.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidmattsson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews