We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greatest Tour Guide”

Bernard - Rio de Janeiro Private Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: I'm a tour guide that do private tours with my car in Rio de Janeiro for Christ, Tijuca Forest, Lapa Steps, Sugar Loaf, Santa Teresa district, Chinease View, Downtown, Santa Marta favela etc.
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Greatest Tour Guide”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Bernard was a amazing your guide. We booked him for 2 x 6hour tours and he was very flexible and adjusted the days so we could see everything we wanted to see. He suggested new places and had lots of unique spots and showed us where the locals go- which was great as most tours only go to the tourist spots. We went early in the morning to go to sugar loaf mountain and Christ the redeemer which was great as we missed the crowds and long lines. He also took us to Santa Marta Favela and we felt very safe with him as he is so friendly and knows many local people in the favela. He taught us about local foods and where the markets were so we could go in our own time.
His service is very professional and he is a very trustworthy person. I would recommend to anyone to book a tour with Bernard!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shery B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great guide - possibly nicest person on the planet too!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Bernard helped us out with transfers at some crazy hour of the morning to and from the airport, but was super professional, courteous and answered all our questions even though we were over-excited and he must have been exhausted. He takes his job seriously and genuinely wants his guests to have a great time in Rio. However, he was relaxed, approachable and very warm. We checked out some night life and local cuisine in Lapa- he was very knowledgable and adaptable and would chat to the other locals to find out what was going on. Had the best time with Bernard - we would definitely recommend!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Host”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Bernard knows the city inside out! He knows the history well, is a good host and makes you feel comfortable. I definitely recommend a day in Rio with Bernard :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasiba R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Great tour with guide in Rio”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The tour was great, with lots of relevant information and good suggestions. Everything was easy to discuss in English with Bernard. Well prepared visit to a favela. Comfortable car, at least for two-three persons.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claes35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great ambassador for Rio :)”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Bernard took us to Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer one day.

We arranged this through our hotel pretty last minute but Bernard was able to accommodate us within an hour.

It was great having Bernard show us around, he knew everyone at the sites and so we walked through the queues like a boss.

He is good fun, relaxed and makes potentially stressful, overly touristy locations very chilled

A great ambassador for Rio :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZehraJabeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bernard - Rio de Janeiro Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bernard - Rio de Janeiro Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing