We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay”
Review of Castelinho38

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castelinho38
Ranked #44 of 334 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Cortona
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Castelinho four nights on our Rio trip! It is located in the must-see Santa Teresa area where there is the famous "bonde tram", even though, during my stay, it was not running due to a complete renewal of the line. The Hotel is really like a little castle and the view of Rio is gorgeous. It has a several levels garden full of tropical plants, but the best feature is the patio - attractive and spacious - overlooking Lapa and Rio. The bedroom are comfortable ad the breakfast on the patio is really relaxing. I met all the staff, that is friendly and helpful, and even the owner, a charming italian guy that moved in Rio few years ago! Fairly priced and highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Castelinho38, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castelinho38, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Google Translation
Caríssimo ,
Un Grazie di cuore. Sono soddisfazioni che danno morale e jóia...
Quindi mi sento di annunciare , che faranno a breve delle prove tecniche ,sulla prima parte del percorso del BONDE ultimato.
Entao , acho que o nosso querido Bonde " va voltar cedo" ... Tornera'
Abacate , mango e banane del nostro giardino, adesso sono parte della colazione nel pátio..
Ma la varieta' della frutta e le sorprese del Pais Tropical sono una parte delle cose aspettano il vostro ritorno...( magari qualche giorno in piu'???)
Saluti&baci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    54
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
84
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The owner could not have provided more help and service to us, much appreciated given our rather slow start after a night out in Lapa. Beautiful building, lovely rooms and an excellent host. A safehaven in must-see Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h_c692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Castelinho38, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castelinho38, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are happy, you have this feeling about us..
From our location in Santa Teresa we offer a different view of RIO DE JANEIRO.
Maybe the transport some time ,does not help the guests, but is a working progress to have our famous BONDE back.
Our hope is to see you agaín, and will be better....we working for this..
Hugs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Castelinho38 is a comfortable small residence in Santa Teresa, one of the most charming & interesting areas of Rio. The building offers several levels and for me the best feature was the patio area overlooking Santa Teresa and the city central.
Thank you Olindo & all the staff who are friendly & knowledgable about their great city and local area, and slightly complicated effort to get there the 1st time is well & truly worth it! - from then on, you have an oasis & base for further memorable adventures.
Breakfast was a delight (I'm now addicted to guava jelly) & the bar service (with welcome Caipirinha) borders on dangerous ;-)
Watching the sun rise, catching riffs of music from down the valley, cool evening breezes and the mix of international guests ... these memories will remain strong for a lon, long time - and until I return,
I strongly recommend that for a more authentic stay in Rio, a few nights in Castelinho38 are a "must do"!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruggiero54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Castelinho38, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castelinho38, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Grande Roger,
How was your was back to Australia.??.
We can't forgive for the small time that you give Rio de Janeiro to kidnap you.
We enjoy and met you as a special traveller.
Here you have always a cold caipirinha and a new bicycle tour, in the Cidade maravilha...
Best know as riodejaneiro.
Big hug, we miss you already .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My 2 adult children and I spent 2 nights at Castelinho38 in the Cactus Room. The room was comfortable (a little noisy due to its location on the first floor at the front of the building). The breakfasts were delicious and generous including made to order eggs. The public space is very attractive and spacious. All the hosts were very helpful and the staff friendly. We enjoyed exploring the neighborhood from this lovely spot.
They also let us leave our luggage all day after checkout while we enjoyed one more day in Rio which was a great bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmummis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Castelinho38, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Castelinho38, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Google Translation
Vi ringraziamo tutti per la visita su consiglio di famiglia...
E stato semplice ,dato che le sulle gite, ne sapevate più voi di me.
Mi dispiace per i palloni, Samba non trova le parole per scusarsi.kkkk
Prometto palloni adatti alla prossima visita, o un recinto alto in giardino...
Entao muijto obrigado e Um abraço grande , ate ja!!!!
Olindo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was a return visit to Castelinho38 and one of our favourite parts of Rio. We stayed for 3 nights in one of the garden suites, Jabuticaba, and were very comfortable. It was basic but very pleasant. We even saw monkeys from our bed during a siesta.

The terrace has sweeping views over the city and has shade when needed - it was 40 degrees when we visited. The honesty bar is a good idea and works well.

There seemed even more bars and shops open this year in Santa Teresa - we last visited in 2012. With Bar do Mineiro a few yards away and Aprazivel a very short taxi ride away, you have some of the very best Rio has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the2coops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Castelinho38 is located in the nice neighbourhood of Santa Teresa. It is located almost on top of the Santa Teresa hill, by the centre of Rio, and is famous for its winding, narrow streets. The hotel is located in a quiet and safe street. The view from the terrace where breakfast is served is terrific. The building itself is impressing and the garden located downstairs is relaxing. The people working at the hotel are friendly, service minded and have a pleasant manner. The suite we stayed (Dama-da-Noite) is spacious and equiped with a small bathroom indeed, yet satisfactory and modern. The water pressure of the shower is very good. The internet connection is stable and fast; in the hotel and at the terrace as well. Very positive is the possibility of taking a shower in a separate bathroom after checking out. Useful if you check out before noon, visit the city centre while your luggage is at the hotel and fly out in the night. Conclusion: very good price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

After having stayed in the more touristy and luxury sections of Rio before, we decided to spend some time in the famous artist quarter, Santa Teresa. This small hotel is exactly what you would expect and wish for - quiet yet only a few doorsteps away from bars and restaurants, a stunning view on Rio and a lovely terrace and an open bar/fridge. You just need to be aware that you'll need a taxi if you plan to go outside of Santa Teresa, at least during night time, but on the other hand Lapa with all its Samba bars isn't far, either. The rooms were big, clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast was ok, but the ingredients couldn't cope with the view. Would be good if they bought some ice/cooling components for their buffet. We weren't as impressed with the friendliness of the staff as others - they were all very nice but keeping their distance and wearing a quite professional hat for an arty place - but one thing really amazed us: we weren't charged for an extra half day or day although we only left the hotel late in the afternoon on the day of our long distance flight back home. This is really great service and not to be found often. Absolutely recommend this place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Haidhauserin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#9 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
281 reviews
Santa Teresa
Modernistas Hospedagem e Arte
Modernistas Hospedagem e Arte
#46 of 334 in Rio de Janeiro
77 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#10 of 334 in Rio de Janeiro
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 334 in Rio de Janeiro
776 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#88 of 804 in Rio de Janeiro
479 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelinho38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelinho38

Property: Castelinho38
Address: Rua Triunfo 38 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-320, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelinho38 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castelinho38 is a real castle in Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro's bohemian neighborhood. With its friendly atmosphere and huge space, the castle is ideal for couples, families and groups. Each room has its own personality and is equipped with queen-size beds, hot shower and fans. Our exotic breakfast is served in a beautiful terrace with view of the centre of Rio. Our friendly staff is always available for travel advice and tips for day & night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Castelinho38 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelinho38 Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Castelinho38 Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing