We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Copacabana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Astoria Palace
Ranked #102 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Ludvika, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close to Copacabana”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The best ting about this hotel was that is was situated on Copacabana. Unfortunatly the hotel din't give a good first impression. On a the receptionst was more interesting in shuffeling papers and not of new guest checking in. Only one of three elevators work.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    440
    217
    60
    47
See reviews for
301
325
45
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biot, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I loved to stay only one night on a stop over in Rio. You are right on the Copacabana beach, with a superb view from the terrasse on the 14th floor. With pool and small gym. You can even see the Cristo Redentor Statue from the terrasse!
Copacabana is a lot safer nowadays, can walk around on the beach and on the roads alone, the beach is splendid, the hotel is right in the middle of the bay. Good price for the location. Good breakfast with lots of fresh fruits. Internet for free in the lobby and the restaurant. Nice room, friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garantido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed there for three nights while visiting Rio. Considering the average hotel quality in Rio, the Astoria Palace was very good.
Located on Copacabana beach, the hotel is very near from nice restaurants and to the Metro station (which is great to get around in Rio)
The room was clean, the bathroom provided with complimentary toilet stuff.
Buffet breakfast was included in the rate. It was very classic: coffee, juice, fruits, jam and cheese, bread and pastries. Unfortunately the bakery and pastries were not very good, but the rest of the things were nice.
The one thing I did not like was that on the day of our arrival the room was not ready, even though we got to the hotel at 13:00. I think that by that time the rooms should be ready.
Also our safe box was locked when we arrived and we had to ask three times to get it fixed.
Free wi fi is offered at the lobby, and also at the business center.
I recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Rio either on holidays or business.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank april_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The staff is rude & unprepared. The room is ok, clean & with a nice view but honestly for a 4 star hotel you can find something better. Sometimes it's worth to pay a little more for better service (on other hotels, I mean)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flavrocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Me, my wife and our son (16) stayed in a triple room for 2 days during Carnaval. Right on the beach, walking distance to some nice eating places (The Balcony Bar). The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The rooftop pool is small but adequate. Breakfast was good, especially the pastries and cakes. Minibar prices are reasonable, and the room service cheeseburger my son ordered was outstanding, and at $10.00 quite reasonable.

Only complaint was being charged for wifi use - at $400 per day, surely they can include free wifi? Would also be nice if they provided a foot bath or something to get all the sand off the feet before going into the hotel, coming from the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HendrikBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
188 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel is well situated on the Copocabana beach road, rooms are small by my standard- two suitcases and two handtrollys that a couple have leave very little room to move.
Front desk staff very indifferent- they did not even think of putting up a notice that the clocks should be put forward on Saturday night- they weren't even sure when you asked them! (If it was the other way round people would have missed their appointments!)

Room Tip: Don't trust the front desk to volunteer any information
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvguyKfarSaba_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I booked the Astoria for our Rio stop on our honeymoon, mostly on account of the excellent location. We knew we would be paying through the nose because of where it's situated (on Copacabana beach) and the timing (Carnival), but for what was delivered we didn't feel we received value for money.

To begin with, I contacted the hotel a few days out to enquire about a transfer and to see if they could help with Carnival tickets. Given we we'd paid £300 a night I thought a transfer service and concierge would be standard, I was in fact politely given two websites to help me with these things. I found this surprising given both the hostels we'd stayed at in Santiago had transfers available. I was also disappointed to see at after flicking us to a website for Carnival tickets, they had a woman in reception selling them.

The rooms as stated in most of the reviews are small, but comfortable enough. The rooftop pool facility was excellent and had stunning views of the beach and you could also see Christ the Redeemer in the distance out the back.

I think my main gripe was really that most of the staff generally seemed pretty disinterested From start to finish, although the doorman was very helpful in sorting our cab out when we left.

Super location, but for the bucks we spent I would expect a more professional staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveMains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Olinda Rio Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel
#92 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
966 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,373 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
#71 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,117 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,852 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
#108 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Palace

Property: Hotel Astoria Palace
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1866, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astoria Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Palace Hotel
Astoria Palace Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Astoria Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing