We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astoria Palace
Ranked #102 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This hotel is in a great position if you choose Copacabana Beach, our room had a direct view of the beach, if I returned I would choose another beach, less busy. The indifferent reception staff badly let this hotel down, another big problem was the fact that all the clocks were on the incorrect time!!! No one informed us of this. I thought the room and bathroom were average size, beds comfortable. Very slow wifi connection, breakfast very ordinary but adequate.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyAussie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    436
    216
    60
    47
See reviews for
296
322
45
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

I am relaxing in our room at the moment, before heading out for dinner, just a couple of buildings along from the famous and beautiful Copacabana hotel, the Astoria Palace is in a brilliant location . The grand hotel name gives the wrong expectation to this hotel, a narrow building with compact reception and seating area. The staff were efficient and as helpful as possible, with limited English. 3 lifts, but only 2 working, it can take a long time to get to and from the room. We were in 1306 , a triple room 3 good sized single beds, average size room in my opinion, good storage, safety deposit box with key code- free, big walk in shower ( no bath) 1 bathrobe per person, a nice touch
There is a good size fridge to put your own water and duty free as well as being well stocked by the hotel. Tv is a bit old, very few programs in English.
None of the rooms have balconies ,so at 60 us dollers extra per nite for an upgrade to a sea view I wouldnt bother. There are 2 plunge pools on the roof, chairs and tables and 4 sunloungers
Fantastic views!!! Of the beach etc. there is a bar up there too.
Breakfast is served 6-10 and is really good.
Cerial, toast, cooked breakfast, hams and cheeses, fresh fruit all preped for eating. Pastries, cakes ,yogurts, bread rolls, juices, tea and coffee. All self sevice and return as many times as you like to the buffet. Tip, there are packs of biccies on the top, handy to take away for a snack later.
There is a transport company working from the lobby, only a little more expensive than taxis. I booked them to collect us from the airport, they charged 110Real

Tip taxi drivers speak little English so have your key card holder with you when out and about to show the driver the address back to Astoria palace.
There are several nice restaurants within a few hundred yards. Being right on the front of Copacabana, we felt safe, and enjoyed the passing musicians, street vendors and the lights and buzz of the place. The hotel is a bit dated in places, but comfy beds, cosy feel, excellant breakfast, and fab location we are happy and would probably stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Franellen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Breakfast was complete and very tasty.
We had a room with sea view which was nice.
We asked for a double bed and got two separate beds without an excuse which was kind of a nuisance.
The person behind the check-in was not particularly friendly or welcoming. Other staff was friendly though (mainly the bell boys).
Having stayed in Ipanema before, we definitely prefer the area and people there, however, the location of this hotel and its price is a reasonable alternative for Ipanema.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReizendeRoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludvika, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The best ting about this hotel was that is was situated on Copacabana. Unfortunatly the hotel din't give a good first impression. On a the receptionst was more interesting in shuffeling papers and not of new guest checking in. Only one of three elevators work.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biot, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I loved to stay only one night on a stop over in Rio. You are right on the Copacabana beach, with a superb view from the terrasse on the 14th floor. With pool and small gym. You can even see the Cristo Redentor Statue from the terrasse!
Copacabana is a lot safer nowadays, can walk around on the beach and on the roads alone, the beach is splendid, the hotel is right in the middle of the bay. Good price for the location. Good breakfast with lots of fresh fruits. Internet for free in the lobby and the restaurant. Nice room, friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garantido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed there for three nights while visiting Rio. Considering the average hotel quality in Rio, the Astoria Palace was very good.
Located on Copacabana beach, the hotel is very near from nice restaurants and to the Metro station (which is great to get around in Rio)
The room was clean, the bathroom provided with complimentary toilet stuff.
Buffet breakfast was included in the rate. It was very classic: coffee, juice, fruits, jam and cheese, bread and pastries. Unfortunately the bakery and pastries were not very good, but the rest of the things were nice.
The one thing I did not like was that on the day of our arrival the room was not ready, even though we got to the hotel at 13:00. I think that by that time the rooms should be ready.
Also our safe box was locked when we arrived and we had to ask three times to get it fixed.
Free wi fi is offered at the lobby, and also at the business center.
I recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Rio either on holidays or business.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank april_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The staff is rude & unprepared. The room is ok, clean & with a nice view but honestly for a 4 star hotel you can find something better. Sometimes it's worth to pay a little more for better service (on other hotels, I mean)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flavrocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Olinda Rio Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel
#92 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
#109 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
#71 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Palace

Property: Hotel Astoria Palace
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1866, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astoria Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astoria Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Palace Hotel
Astoria Palace Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Astoria Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing