We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cristal Palace
Ranked #264 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It´s a good ubication if you want to go to Copacabana Beach and also to Ipanema Beach, because both of them are near. But it´s a noisy street, because there its a lot of traffic. Also the rooms haven t a very good aislation. Breakfast is good but the place es very small. There is a jacuzzi on the top of the building with dirty water. They charged me an extra "tax" that wasn't included when I booked with Booking.com. The lobby and the rooms are very small. In the staff teher was friendly personas but also rude ones. I don t recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that don t look to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcelaHopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    45
    50
    30
    50
See reviews for
38
77
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I (thankfully only) stayed there for one night, before New Year 2013.
Location: at the end of Copacabana beach. Three blocks away from the beach. So not too bad in that respect.
Room/toilets: not too bad for a three star hotel (if you are not picky), although the room was small. Beware if you've got trouble sleeping with noise. There is a bar or night club in front of the hotel (people yelling in the street at night). The room had a double windows that did insulate from the street noise. However all the street noise came through the air conditioning unit (when turned off), giving the impression of having the windows opened. To mask the noise I had to turn on the rather outdated air conditioning unit which was extremely loud (but at least the noise coming from it was constant).
Staff: In general none are friendly and some are even rude.
Breakfast: it was OK, but could have been a lot better. In this country, I am used to drinking freshly pressed fruit juice anywhere. So I was disappointed with the orange juice's artificial flavor. The papaya / orange juice had real papaya in it but was mixed with that fake orange juice.

I do NOT recommend the hotel and I surely won't return.

Room Tip: If you can, avoid rooms that face the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay_Saints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

First, so I am very clear, you must be crazy to stay in this place. We booked this hotel based on location, thinking it close to both Copacabana and Ipanema. When we went to check in, the lobby smelled of urine. We were taken to our room, little more than a closet with A/C that did not work correctly, and this room stunk of urine as well. While the staff was trying to get the A/C to function, inside of ten minutes my wife started having an asthma attack. We left the room and went down to the lobby. The staff then found us another room on a different floor. While this room did not smell of urine inside of 10 minutes my wife again starting having asthma trouble. Apparently this is an old hotel that has been refurbished, but this did not either eliminate the smell nor did it eliminate environmental issues such as mold and mildew in the walls that cause asthma. If we had chosen to stay there, after one night in the hotel for sure my wife would have ended up the in the hospital, or worse. We informed the staff of the unsuitability of the hotel and they refused us any accommodation on a refund....they simply stole the payment for our entire three day stay and were rather rude about it. Note that the terms of cancellation are such that you have no chance to evaluate your room before making full payment to them, and I am sure that they have set it up this way for a reason. Aside from this place being an unsafe toilet, the owner is a crook.

Another observation is that we chose this hotel for it's location, thinking we could walk several blocks to Copacabana or Ipanema. This was not true. It is way more than several blocks thru an unsavory neighborhood, making the use of a cab almost mandatory. Pretty scary, even in the day time. I have no guess as to how bad it is coming home at night to the place.

If you do not heed this review you surely will be sorry.

Room Tip: The best room is one in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank t r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Although the location is good, it is not worth it to stay here. The staff is rude and charged me an extra "tax" that wasn't included when I booked with Hotels.com, when hotels.com told me ALL taxes and fees were included. They clearly scammed me and treated us like we didn't know what we were talking about. The place badly needs to be renovated! We ended up staying at the Olindo Rio later in our trip and it wasn't much more expensive and it was SOOO much better!!!! Enjoy your experience in Rio and don't stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just two blocks away from either Copacabana or Ipanema beach. The staff is really ophelpfull and nice. The breakfast bouffet on the top floor, has a wide virety of fruits, juices, pastries, breads and youghurts. Don't forget to try the delicious açai !
Rooms are small, but comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pini30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Perfect location, Room was very clean, Buffet breakfast was really awesome a lot of Fruits variety! staff were very helpful especially Roger and Mellow and they can speak English fluently. Highly recommended! Obrigado ^.^

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We needed a day room since our flight out of Rio was not until 11pm. I booked the room online for a very nice price. We dropped off our luggage at the desk around noon and spent the day at the beach since the room would not be ready until 2pm. We were pleasantly surprised by the staff after reading the unfavorable reviews. They were so nice when we checked in, although the clerk did not understand that were only there for the day because of her limited English.
When we returned, another clerk took us to the room and explained how the room worked and made sure everything was in working order. It is true that the room was outdated, but very clean. It was perfect for our needs; a nice HOT shower and a rest before our long flights home.
The Manager was extremely concerned when we checked out that evening; he thought we were unhappy with the hotel. They were very helpful with our luggage and hailing a cab to the airport.
We would consider this hotel again if we are in Rio for a short time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#110 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
735 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Praia Hotel
Copacabana Praia Hotel
#89 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
556 reviews
Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#90 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Atlantico Palace Hotel Residencia
Atlantico Palace Hotel Residenci...
#176 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
74 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#44 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
156 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#37 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal Palace

Property: Hotel Cristal Palace
Address: Rua Francisco Otaviano 56 | Arpoador, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-041, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristal Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little beautiful hotel situated between Copacabana E Ipanema No Bairro Do Aspoador recently renovated with Italian style, near all the sightseeing in the city, we try to give the taste of a second house for your holidays. 24 rooms with all the comforts for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cristal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cristal Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing