We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Beautiful Place to Stay”
Review of Casa Beleza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Beleza
Ranked #4 of 343 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I should apologise for leaving it so long for my review. We stayed here at the end of our trip to Brazil in May 2013 - How time flies!

Situated in an excellent part of town - a bohemian quarter with access to all areas. We explored the city easily from here. It is close to Centro, Lapa, and of course, Corcovado. The City had just changed entrance procedures for Corcovado and Bindu was very helpful in assisting us with how to get there - all very easy.

The Casa is stunning - a colonial house with beautiful gardens, a tortoise, and a great family. It was a joy to see the kids and animals running round, and friends visiting. Although we weren't at the Casa very often as we were out exploring a lot; when we were - we felt very relaxed and were treated very well.

The rooms were very clean and homely - and what a home!

We were pretty tired after visiting Iguacu and trekking through Manaus, but had to enjoy the Ciudad Marvehloso - and Casa Belaza was a great base.

On a return to Rio, we'd stay most definately stay there again. Santa Teresa beats the beach places - isn't far from the beach - and punches above its weight for the service it provides.

Book it - you won't regret it.
Hope to see you again - J & A X

Room Tip: We chose the Blue Room - it was a high standard, ground floor - overlooking the pool. Above the drum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuca0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is an absolutely wonderful base to see Rio from, and a fantastically warm welcome to BraZil! Lovely pool, clean, attractive rooms (we visited twice, and both rooms were lovely) . There are also plenty of curious marmosets (little monkeys), hummingbirds and even a toucan in the garden! They also have a rather signified tortoise who was on heat and kept rubbing herself against my husband's leg and wiggling her bum which was very amusing. It's a great location, just a short walk from the center of Santa Teresa, and although other people have written about unpleasant experiences in this neighbourhood, we found it very friendly and safe. Bindu and Antoine and their staff are an absolute dream team - the only difficulty we had was leaving.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 64Travail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Antoine and Bindu open their magnificent home and welcome you to Rio with unbelievable hospitality. From our arrival to the moment of our departure our hosts did everything possible to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. They gave us great tips that made the most of our time in Rio and made the most of our time when we did excursions to various sites. They know many of the locals in Santa Teresa and we received warm welcomes from some of their friends. We were in the mood for Brazilian steak and they steered us to one of the best restaurants we enjoyed in our whole stay in Brasil.

Character and charm are two words that only begin to describe the surroundings at Casa Beleza.

Warning: there is a place called "Bar Gomez" just a short walk away. If you are looking for something, or are not looking for anything at all, you may find something altogether unexpected. You may also meet someone or a group of people that are just too interesting and make it difficult for you to leave. Be prepared that you may enjoy more time at Bar Gomez than originally intended.

As far as Casa Beleza, you may also find something pleasantly surprising, beyond expectation. At Casa Beleza, once you stay, you may find that you wish you could spend more time than originally intended........I know we did.

Room Tip: All the rooms had their own unique charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texszem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casabeleza, Owner at Casa Beleza, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

It's true that magical and mysterious things occur at the Bar do Gomes, I plan to spend my retirement there at a table in the front.....

It was a great pleasure meeting you both - look forward to seeing you back here one day, thanks so much for your kind review,

Beijos
Bindu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful 4 days stay in Casa Beleza this January. The house is beautiful, the tropical gardens fantastic, and the swimming pool a very welcome luxury in the hot Rio summer! Also a very friendly dog Bob, and 2 amusing turtles that plod around the gardens. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious - fresh fruits and fruit juice, lots of bread, cheese, cake, omlettes etc etc.

Santa Teresa was also a great place to stay - lots to see, and nice restaurants and bars, but at the same time more peaceful than many of the other parts of Rio we visited. It also felt very secure - we felt fine walking home at night in the area. If we go back to Rio, we would definitely opt again for Santa Teresa, and Casa Beleza.

If you do stay here, we would recommend doing a morning or day buggy tour with Dolores (ask at the house - they organised it for us). She took us around the Tijuca forest, and up to the Jesus statue, skipping all the queues. She's a great guide, knows loads about the city, and the buggy is good fun. It was one of the highlights in Rio!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house, in a great room, but also noticed they seem to have some little house/r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate-Elizabeth33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our family of four stayed here in October and had a wonderful time. The rooms and service were great, and the hosts very kind and thoughtful. Santa Theresa had a lovely vibe and we felt safe and comfortable in the day and when walking back from restaurants at night. We would definitely recommend to other families and would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the casa Beleza for 4 nights, and were really satisfied:) the house (or castle?) is situated in the beautiful area of Santa Theresa. The area around the house is quiet and peaceful, but only a couple of minutes of walking you'll come to the bar de Gomes, and another five minutes of walk and you'll come to the street P. Carlos Mango, where you'll find plenty of nice bars and restaurants:)
Bintu and her husband were really nice and helpful. They gave us good advice about the city, arranged favela tour and transport when we were leaving.

The room was clean, with a good AC! And the breakfeast was really good: fresh juice and fruits every morning!


We had a great time there, and we'll really recomend it!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the Bungalow and were thrilled that we did. Bindu provided us with great local knowledge and advice ("Don't do that today, do that tomorrow when the weather is better..."etc). Highlights were definitely the hammock, Bob the dog, the gorgeous neighbourhood and being greeted with tiny monkeys in the tree outside our room...and a Toucan! Pack your insect repellent as the garden is super lush and brings with it all types of insects - all harmless!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank freyajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#9 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
339 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
808 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#3 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
217 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#2 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
413 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#9 of 343 in Rio de Janeiro
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Beleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Beleza

Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 311, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £33 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is in an exotic mansion in the heart of Santa Teresa, Rio's historic and cultural district. Guests have to share the tropical gardens with the 3 turtles, butterflies and small monkeys! We are close to all the city's main attractions and the district of Lapa with Rio's best music and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Beleza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Beleza Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Beleza Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing