We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beleza!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Beleza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Beleza
Ranked #2 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beleza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Casa Beleza is fantastic.

We chose the bungalow as the last spot on our 12 days through Brazil and had a great time.

On our first evening we walked down to Bar Du Gomez and quickly felt a bit like locals thanks to the kind welcome and good conversation of the friendly, mixed crowd found spilling into the street. Afterwards we took Antoine's advice on a good spot in nearby Lapa - and had an awesome time with the beautiful, samba loving, smiling, dancing Cariocas which took us into the wee hours.

We spent two of our three days out via taxi to Impanema, Sugarloaf, etc. - which was easy and reasonably quick and affordable (15/20 minutes and $15/20 USD). The last day we relaxed around Santa Teresa - and while we enjoyed it I'd advise the same to others; you can see the main spots in ST in a half day, though you could enjoy places like Bar Du Gomez or Bar du Mineiro (good Feijoada) endlessly.

The bungalow is an exceptional room and a great value in Rio. The terrace with the room is a real treat - and you'll find yourself among the tropical foliage with incredible toucans, parakeets, and monkeys, and amazing views.

Antoine and Bindu are great hosts - they're very knowledgeable and I expect their good advice could have filled many more days with great adventures. We highly recommend Casa Beleza (and in particular the bungalow room) as a way to see a different side of Rio still in easy access to to the Zona Sul. Contrary to others experiences we read about before our trip, we had no difficulty in finding taxis too/from this location - though you will need to use Bar du Gomez as a reference point and steer the driver from there (1 turn up the hill) for drivers taking you up to ST from the beach areas.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    61
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
330
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent five fantastic nights at Casa Beleza earlier this month and couldn't be happier.

Everyone at Casa Beleza was so friendly, Bindu was an excellent host with many recommendations and insights into the local area and Gabi and Donizete were so helpful too. It was great to stay in a family environment with pets and kids which made Casa Beleza a welcoming oasis to return to after a day exploring the city.

The breakfast was as good as you would wish for with fresh fruit every day, we loved the room with some local art, the setting was lush and tropical with palms and coconuts where we saw monkeys and beautiful birds and Santa Teresa was our favourite part of Rio with some vibrant bars and restaurants.

Santa Teresa is an excellent location, it is very easy to catch a local bus or taxi to the Metro and from there you can get anywhere in the City.

We will definitely return on our next trip to Rio.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MancyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

A beautiful mansion in Bohemian Santa Teresa with two wonderful hosts. Bindu and Antoine were so committed, helpful and patient with all my questions. Their place has a wonderfully serene and relaxed atmosphere. One hardly wants to leave to go sightseeing. Nice room, excellent breakfast, gorgeous view. Best B&B in Rio.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Fariborz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for a treat at the very end of a long trip around Argentina and brazil. It's a beautiful place to stay, green and leafy with monkeys in the gardens and spacious light rooms with authentic wooden floors and stunning architecture. The service was faultless, the breakfast was the best we have had, probably ever (!) with a selection of fresh tropical fruits, omelette, toast, cheeses etc. Bindu welcomed us with a beer, helped us organise sky diving trip etc and even made us complimentary caipirinhas one evening before going out for dinner. We stayed in the blue room however and the problem was we could hear what was going on in the other hotel room (if you know what I mean). Also it was less relaxing than other places we stayed - the fact that you are constantly reminded you are staying in someone's home is a good and bad thing... At one point we went in the pool and were told afterwards to shower well as chlorine had just been put in because they didn't think anyone would use it!!
Though, overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry_Anne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The missus and I had 3 nights here and really couldn't be happier with our experience (I also won a few brownie points with said girlfriend). Bindu and Antonie are superb hosts - friendly, helpful and super chilled. Bindu also has some sort of degree in Caipirinhas mixology because we were unable to compete with her creations at any bar or restaurant elsewhere in Brazil!
We loved being tucked away in a magical corner of Santa Tereza (definitely our favourite superb of Rio) and is only a stumble away from the quirky bars and restaurants. Thanks for making our trip so epic with this one of a kind guesthouse.

Room Tip: All rooms awesome. We saw the place tucked up at the back which is separate from the rest of the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryBrydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed just two nights in the Orange room at Casa Beleza in April 2014 and thought it was great value, the owner most helpful, the place is delightful in Santa Teresa, in our opinion the best part of Rio to stay in. David and Karen (UK)

Room Tip: Orange room deightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I and a couple of girlfriend's stayed here over a weekend, I can only say amazing things! Bindu is an absolutely amazing host, going above and beyond to provide the things that we needed. The acommodations themselves are wonderful, the gardens are beautiful, and the pool is lovely. The breakfast in the morning is delicious as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atenasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#8 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Beleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Beleza

Property: Casa Beleza
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 311, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is in an exotic mansion in the heart of Santa Teresa, Rio's historic and cultural district. Guests have to share the tropical gardens with the 3 turtles, butterflies and small monkeys! We are close to all the city's main attractions and the district of Lapa with Rio's best music and nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Beleza Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Beleza Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing