We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Cool Beans is definitely cool beans!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #1 of 329 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Casa Cool Beans is definitely cool beans!”
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We stayed here for about a week on our honeymoon during Rio Carnaval, and had a wonderful stay.

The thing that really sets this place apart from the rest are all the thoughtful, personal touches by Lance, David (and of course their dog, Mousse!). The whole team at Casa Cool Beans was very attentive and we really felt that our comfort and enjoyment was a priority for them.

The pousada is lovely, an oasis of calm in the city. The place is spotless, nicely decorated and breakfasts delicious.

It's location in Santa Teresa is fantastic, particularly for all the major city sights (and an especially good place to stay during Carnaval we found). The area is charming and bohemian with several little local restaurants and bars, as well as a couple of higher end restaurants well worth going to. Before arriving in Rio, we were a little apprehensive about Santa Teresa's reputation as a potentially unsafe place to stay, but after we arrived, we felt completely safe, secure and relaxed there during the whole of our stay, and we would definitely stay there again.

Thanks to everyone at Casa Cool Beans, we hope to stay there again when we're next in Rio!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcandHania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    66
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
439
64
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed at Casa Cool Beans during Carnaval 2011. Lance and David (plus Mousse, the most laid-back dog on the planet) were perfect hosts throughout - they have the rare gift of just knowing instinctively how to provide excellent service and hospitality. So if you're looking for the coolest place to stay in the coolest quarter of Rio, give yourself a treat and check into Casa Cool Beans. The breakfasts are great too!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkr1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Lence and David have done a great job giving us directions and hosting us.
Despite what the guides might say, Santa Teresa is a safe neighborhood.
We especially enjoyed the breakfast with fresh fruits.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c897y9asdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancehorsley, Owner at Casa Cool Beans B&B, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear Guests,

We want to sincerely thank you for staying with us here at Casa Cool Beans. Our first 90 days of ownership at Casa Cool Beans has been so successful, enjoyable and everything we dreamed of; even more! Our first 30-days was marked by New Years Eve and now 90-days with Carnival....no small feat; needless to say we have been busy! We are excited to continue with many more upgrades and improvements over the coming months to make Casa Cool Beans even better! Keep sending your friends and family our way and we assure them the very best experience as you have had! Looking forward to seeing you back here soon!

Warm regards,
Lance, David & of course....Mousse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Casa Cool Beans is an amazing Pousada in a brilliant location in Santa Teresa (my favourite area in Rio). Lance is an impeccable host, nothing is too much trouble and he's always on hand to point you right direction. I would definitely stay again. Loved it, loved it, loved it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZBoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Even though the owners _ Lance and David - had just taken over the place a few months before we landed there, the place was already impecable. The best stay in our trip to Brasil. But, undoubtetly, the hightlight was Mr Lance (and his dog Mousse)! If we would reside in Rio, we would visit him often as a new friend in our lifes. Sadly enough, we missed David, the third man.
Our suggestion: try to make it your place when you visit Rio.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEE50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

From the fresh fruit juice at breakfast to the wonderful hospitality of the host, Lance, we didn’t want to leave! It’s a hidden oasis in Santa Teresa that people would have to be crazy not to love. Easily the best place we stayed in all of South America!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We were so lucky to have found Casa Cool Beans for our honeymoon. Not only was our room immaculately clean and very comfortable but Lance was the most amazing host. From the moment we arrived he gave us such personalized attention, telling us the best events happening that night, how to get around the city and even giving us his cell number if we had any problems. When we mentioned a restaurant that we wanted to try, he called right away and made us a reservation. He made us feel so comfortable, helping us plan each day, introducing us to other guests and making sure we got the most out of trip. We've traveled extensively around the world and you won't find better service at five star hotels. Santa Teresa is also a hidden treasure , a perfect retreat from the chaos of the city with historic buildings, great little bars and restaurants. Plus, everything is a short Bonde (street car) ride away!
We can't say enough praise about Casa Cool Beans, it made for the most memorable honeymoon and an amazing vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank followthepawprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,357 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#11 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
265 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#10 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,240 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
578 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#5 of 329 in Rio de Janeiro
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Property: Casa Cool Beans B&B
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing