We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly people, and beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #2 of 328 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and friendly people, and beautiful location”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

It's no surprise that this is the number one ranked B&B in Rio. We chose Casa Cool Beans because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and because we wanted to stay in Santa Teresa. Believe all the excellent reviews you've read about this place because they are completely true I'm probably just repeating what so many reviews have already said, but let me give you some of my favorite things about this place:

1. The individualized service. Every morning, the owners (Lance or David) or the concierge (Micoh) were on hand to help us plan our day. We already came to Rio with an agenda in mind, but the people at Casa Cool Beans were able to give us helpful tips on how to travel to the places we wanted to go to, where to eat, and suggest other interesting things to see. What was great was that when we first spoke with David, he asked us what we liked to do when we travelled and from what we said, he was able to tailor his suggestions to us. (for instance, we wanted to travel mainly by public transportation, and not by taxi, so he suggested bus routes. We also are in our late 20's/early 30's, and so he suggested that we go check out Lapa and check out the party scene...it was great.) Also at the end of the trip, they wrote us a thank you note and gave me a necklace! That was super sweet.

We also left their B&B to go stay with friends, and even though we weren't staying with them over the weekend, THEY STILL GAVE US IDEAS ON WHERE TO GO that weekend. Let me repeat: We weren't staying with them, but they wanted to MAKE SURE we had a great time in Rio or whereever we were going.

2. The location. We partially chose this hotel because we wanted to stay in Santa Teresa. Is it by the beach? No. Is it walking distance to Lapa? Kinda, but I wouldn't recommend schleping up a steep hill after drinking caiprinhas all night long. Is it artsy? Yes. Is it where real people (aka the non uber chiseled modelesque people you see in Leblon) and Rio hipsters hang? Yes. Is it walking distance to Bar do Gomes, where we spent many a night drinking cold beer after cold beer? HELL YES.

3. The facilities. I mean, I feel like you only write things about the facilities unless completely disgusting or baller-style fantasy luxury. This is neither. Our room was spacious and VERY clean. The bathroom was also clean. The bed was hard, but not unbearable. The bathroom products (Granado, aka Brazilian Bath and Body Works), I was obsessed with and went to the Granado store to buy those products after using them at Casa Cool Beans. But I think the BEST part of Casa Cool Beans was the art. Each room features a different artist and there is art hanging all over the place. I love the art that they featured (some mixed media work, lots of bright colors). You can buy the art they have displayed (and Lance and David can put you in contact with the artist). I couldn't afford some of the art, but I took down the names of the artists that I liked that they featured and will be saving my pennies up!!

4. Last, but not least, the breakfast. It is a Bed and BREAKFAST after all. Our game plan, since Rio is not the cheapest city around, was to load up at breakfast. Casa Cool Beans enabled us to do so. They had a buffet of yogurt, fruit, cheese, pastries, breads, and cold cuts. They also had (great) coffee and juice available. You can get eggs made to order, and on one day they had waffles, which was pretty awesome.

I can go on and on, but suffice to say, this place was great. I would go back again and again (as long as Lance and David own it!)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnie312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    66
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
438
63
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We are so glad to have started our 4 week holiday here. It has spoilt us in so many ways. We woke up every morning looking forward to the breakfast (omelettes are divine), and the personal one-on-one attention you get from Lance and David really makes the stay. The room and bathrooms are clean and big, so convenient for good bars and restaurants, and we LOVED the location. We will definitely be back to Rio and there is no question as to where we will be staying.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Casa cool beans is a nice place, but YOU HAVE TO read the special rules of this place. If something is wrong with you, one of the owners can become very aggressive.
We went with 15 years old children but there are special rules we didn't know before booking that mention children under 16 are not allowed. That became a "war issue".
Anyway, the beds were bad (old and flat) and the shower dangerous (take care of electric shock when you move the temperature slots).
We didn't enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christophe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancehorsley, Owner at Casa Cool Beans B&B, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
It is true that this family arrived without reading our Terms & Conditions. We do not allow children under the age of 18 years and they showed up with two children; one 15 and one 12. This was of course a problem as our Guests expect to NOT have children here at the Guesthouse. We allowed them to stay but it became more of a problem than just this, unfortunately. The parents stayed at a Guesthouse a few blocks away (with out telling us) and hired a babysitter to stay with their kids...the babysitter was only 16. So we then had an unregistered guest under the age of 18 taking care of kids. As we issue a security code for access, the parents provided this to the babysitter without our permission; which of course is a security concern. Each time we would approach the parents to advise them of our Terms and Conditions, they waved us away saying that nobody reads those things!!! By the way the beds are ALL less than 2 years old as is the shower and no one else has complained EVER of these things....just an upset mean review; shame on you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa, usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful experience at Casa Cool Beans for our trip to Rio. Lance and David and the whole staff were cheerful, welcoming, and extremely helpful. We arrived at 10am after an 11 hour overnight flight and they ushered us up to the common area, gave us coffee and fruit and helped us plan for our 4 whirlwind days in Rio. They had great recommendations for activities and following their advice on safety and transportation we had a wonderful and safe visit. We don't speak any Portuguese (which is admittedly our fail) so having English speaking hosts was such a relief.

The room (#9) was lovely, spacious and clean, with a charming view of Santa Teresa. The whole property is very well kept and the staff all seemed super happy to be there. Breakfast is generous and provided everything you could need to face the day. They make themselves available if you need advice but are by no means pushy or intrusive. It really is lovely.

The ONLY drawback of this hotel (which can also be seen as a benefit) is the location. Santa Teresa is a wonderful neighborhood in Rio with a ton of bars, restaurants and great cobblestone streets to wander. I felt very safe there and while there is a fair amount of activity we were rarely if ever kept up by any street noise. That said it is a bit out of the way. We actually liked this as Rio is a very active city and having an oasis of calm to escape to at the end of the day was wonderful. If we didn't feel like adventuring far and wide there was always stuff close by. That said, when you DO venture out it can be a bit hard (and harrowing) to find your way back. We, for ease and safety, took taxis pretty much everywhere. Getting a taxi too anyplace is easy, but we discovered quickly that returning home was not always so straightforward. Not speaking the language did not help on this account. After a few precarious trips we solved the problem by carrying around a card with the guest house's address - most taxi drivers seemed to have GPS and simply punched in the address and we found our way. For the most part that worked, and we were able to get everywhere we wanted and back with only one unfortunate incident.

We loved our stay at Casa Cool Beans - and in Santa Teresa - but It does come with some challenges. Personally I don't think one should even attempt Rio if they are not prepared to take on some challenges, so if you are I very highly recommend staying with David and Lance at Casa Cool Beans.

On one final note - we also stayed at the 5-star Hotel Santa Teresa at the end of our trip and for what it is worth, for price and service we would choose Casa Cool Beans over the Hotel Santa Teresa if we were to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smartintrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

David and Lance spend so much time over breakfast in making sure your stay in Rio is as fulfilling and exciting as it can possibly be. Nothing is too much trouble and they run through your options in such incredible detail. They helped arrange a favela tour, a hang glide flight and numerous nights out, all of which we enjoyed greatly.

The room was funky and really comfortable and the neighbourhood is great. I had reservations about not being in Ipanema or Copacabana but its easy to head down there and get around Rio. A great place to stay - thanks so much.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This is the first review I have written on trip advisor - Casa Cool Beans was so good I thought it deserved the effort. The staff are so fantastic and welcoming. They are full of advice and can help you with any of your plans. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated and the breakfast is great. Casa Cool Beans has ruined the bed and breakfast experience for me because I don't think anywhere else can live up to their standard! We just left there this morning and can't wait to return if we make it back to Rio another time. Thanks Lance, David and staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menton, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

From the moment you step inside the property you are made to feel welcome. The attention to detail is wonderful and so artistic. We spent our first two nights of our 3 month tour around South America and will be returning at the end so our memories will go with us. We also do not want to miss out on the excellent breakfast served and cooked with a smile! I cannot find anything to suggest except keep on doing what you do do so well.

Room Tip: We had a large spacious and quiet room at the top, past the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#8 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Property: Casa Cool Beans B&B
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing