We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Rio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Cool Beans B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #1 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Rio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Casa Cool Beans is a great place to stay in Rio. We stayed at the beginning of our stay and loved it so much we're returning for a our last night! Lance and David are super helpful with recommendations and what to do day or night. Breakfast is lovely, all freshly prepared served on the sunny deck. The room was beautiful (book room 9 it has an amazing juliette balcony!) and everything was very clean. Also staying in Santa Teresa offers some rest bite from the hectic pace of the city! Lovely neighbourhood and you can easily hop in a cab or brave the local bus to be by copacobana in about 10 minutes. If you're going to rio then definitely stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFlashPackers_AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    64
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
435
64
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pescara, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Lance and David are very friendly and helpful in planning our days in Rio, they gave us many important suggestions.
At the pousada everything works fine, room were nice and clean and the breakfast was very good, with fresh tropical fruits, cakes and the omelettes with vegetables prepared by Lance.
We had a free drink at the bar Gomes, close to the pousada, and after our stay they gave To my wife a necklace made with amazonians seeds.
Really nice and cool!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

My wife and I only had 2.5 days in Rio, so we had to make the most of it. This was my second time in Rio, and I must say that this time was a much better experience, partly due to the helpful guys at Cool Beans. You realize that your experiences in cities is completely changed when there are people in the know willing to lend a hand. Not in a concierge "here's a list of restaurants and tours" type of way, but in a much more personalized way.

They organized airport pickup, something I generally never accept, but it was about the same as estimated prices in the guidebooks AND, the driver Marco was a fantastic wealth of information and all around nice guy. (BTW, airport transfer BACK to the the airport was in fact cheaper than you would get if you hopped in a metered cab. ) In fact everyone you encounter at CCB is unbelievably helpful. It's almost surprising how helpful they are. David, the owner, is informative and organized and does everything he can to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

Santa Teresa is THE place to be in my mind. It is the coolest up and coming part of town, artsy, hip, beautiful colonial and art deco architecture, great restaurants and bars and the views are superb. Loads of character. Far better for us than near the beaches or Leblon, etc. It's also close to the bars in Lapa, the markets, etc.

Parting gift necklace for my wife was beautiful. David kept our bags on the day of departure and let us shower before departing.

All in all, can't say enough good things.
Thank you Marco, Mike, Serge and David.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gastronomyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Know how you travel somewhere and rely on a guide book to assist your experience? Don't do that for Rio. Stay here and the two hosts, Dave and Lance, will help you get the most out of your stay, no matter how short or long you plan. The staff are friendly, professional and the breakfasts the right tonic to start your day. Then Lance and Dave will just politely ask what you have in mind and next thing you know you'll understand what is best to do, when and how.
Unbelievable - this place was recommended to me by a work colleague and it didn't disappoint. Set in one of the nicest parts of the city too.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Casa Cool Beans located in awesome Santa Teresa is just 10 minutes outside of Rio. David & Lance,owners, greet you every morning with fresh squeezed local juices, made to order omelettes and fresh baked pastries need i say more....yes!!! During breakfast they make rounds helping guest plan the perfect day. Meanwhlie patrons (from all over the world) chat it up... feels like family. Casa Cool Beans is surrounded by historical properties but none compare to the witty charm behind the gates of Casa Cool Beans. Too much good stuff go see for yourself. Casa Cool Beans or Bust

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_dkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

David and Lance are incredibly helpful and accommodating – we turned up pretty late after a long transfer from Ilha Grande and Lance welcomed us as if it were midday. The room was big and the décor around the whole place was beautiful; the details really made it. The breakfast was delicious and Sergio, Lance and David were all on hand to help us plan our days to make the most of our time in Rio.

The personal touch was evident through the personalised letters in our room on arrival, and on the day we checked out, there was a beautiful necklace left for me made from produce from the amazon; it was gorgeous and so thoughtful. We were also able to use our room the day of our late check-out, and Lance organised our taxi to the airport which meant we could rest and shower before travelling – ‘grateful’ is an understatement.

The location is great; safe and quiet whilst still near enough to central Rio. We won’t hesitate to go back to Casa Cool Beans if we visit Rio again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

we stayed at Casa Cool Beans for just about a week and loved it! the personalized service and help by the owners and staff was SO helpful. we took almost all of their suggestions and loved them all. we ended up seeing Rio and eating like kings.

the daily breakfast is also great... fruit, eggs, yogurt, breads, coffee, tea, etc...
wifi worked perfectly in our room and the air conditioning was nice on the super hot mornings.
all in all, we loved out stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seftone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#8 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Arena Leme Hotel
#7 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Property: Casa Cool Beans B&B
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing