We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stay in Santa Teresa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #1 of 337 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel itself is nicely situated in Santa Teresa, just minutes away from the vibrant art boutiques, bars and restaurants in the area. We booked room no. 9 and it was one of the best rooms we ever stayed in- huge windows with beautiful vistas of Santa Teresa, comfortable bed and truly amazing toiletries (they were sourced from Granado - a local version of Kiehl's). Our host, Lance, was a valuable source of recommendations about EVERYTHING in Rio. He also made sure to be around every breakfast to help and chit-chat (if we so desired). Worth mentioning that breakfast was incredible: eggs made to order, assortment of fresh fruit, cakes, breads, meats and cheeses, AND strong coffee! We'd stay here again for sure and happily recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Casa Cool Beans in Santa Teresa is beautiful. My partner and I spent over 5 weeks travelling around South America and our stay here was the absolute highlight of our trip.

The Location:
Santa Teresa is 15 min by taxi to Copacabana / Ipanema and is not difficult to arrange. Santa Teresa is a hillside cobblestone street area with great restaurants and bars that you will feel comfortable exploring any time day or night. There are always taxis and busses available to take you anywhere anytime. Having spent a week in Rio exploring and experiencing the city from 7am till late everyday we were so thankful Santa Teresa was our location of choice to come home to each day. Lapa is within walking distance and features amazing Samba, live music, great bars and restaurants also. Centro a 10 min bus or taxi ride has an enormous market that you could explore for days. You will easily find your way to Corcovado (Christo Rentor) and Pao de Acucar (Sugarloaf Mountain) amongst all of the othe delights of Rio de Janeiro.

The Accommodations:
From the moment you access the keypad entry on the front gate, the beautiful pool area, the amazing vibrant decor, comfortable and spotlessly clean room, amazing endless hot shower and bathroom, the hands down most mazing cooked to order breakfast, the colour and the serenity will dazzle you. A benchmark in detailed service.

The Staff:
We were immediately greeted upon our arrival by Lance, from that moment until he waved us off almost a week later he was the ultimate host. This guy is amazing, he greets everyone each morning at breakfast, discusses and helps plan their days. Out with his mobile phone making bookings for tours, hooking you up with the best advice on food, drink, dancing, exploring and adventure. We had the distinct pleasure of getting to know our host just a little and he was nothing short of supremely impressive. I credit him with making our experience in Rio above and beyond all expectations (and our expectations were high). What was also refreshing here was that all of the staff were cheerful and happy to be at work, Casa Cool Beans is more like a lifestyle than a workplace.

To wrap it up I cannot give enough praise to Casa Cool Beans and all things related. Do yourself a favour and enjoy!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAussieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

- fantastic decor
- fantastic welcome
- excellent breakfast
- great location (will need to use taxi ensure you factor in cost if on a budget)
- Sergio just the best guy at casa! Incredibly friendly and will do anything to help you

Not so great:

- the staff have an excellent knowledge of what to do when, they spend time with you at breakfast to plan your day which is just super - however if you go off without asking their advice and do something they wouldn't advise it feels a bit like they are telling you off! But sometimes travellers like to give things a go hey :-)

- we were mugged - knew this is common and were very prepared, we didn't lose much and no one was hurt although it still leaves you a little shell shocked as knife was used - Casa Cool beans then treated us though we were not welcome there by keeping it hush hush, changed the way they treated us and not offering us that much support in order to get to the police station and said it had never happened before (unlikely in all honesty)

Room Tip: We chose the room with the balcony - excellent for private sunbathing! Look on their website to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyboardrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancehorsley, Owner at Casa Cool Beans B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for your review and positive comments. We thoroughly disagree with your assessment after your mugging. We have had 5 or 6 people mugged or that had an attempted mugging in the almost 3 years we have been open; that means thousands of guests have passed through our doors without a security/safety problem. We attribute this success to our advice and open discussion about safety with each guest upon arrival. We did not treat your mugging with a “hush hush” or in anyway attempted to treat you differently…in a bad way; we did not ask you to not discuss this with the other guests as you did so freely, we never attempted to have you or anyone else change the subject, or an any way “hush” you; etc. If you felt we should have advertised to guests that you were mugged, we simply do not behave that way. We are still baffled by this statement. There is only one location in Rio de Janeiro where a foreigner/tourist can report a crime…and it must be in person. (It is located in Leblon; the DEAT office; the same information which was provided to you) While this might be inconvenient, this is the procedure and as we explained the report cannot be done over the phone or with another police department. The office requires four language specialists to be there 24/7; so there was no reason for you not to go and report your crime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

It’s no surprise to our party of two couples that Casa Cool Beans (CCB) has so many superior reviews. It was fate for us to discover CCB on Trip Advisor since one of the (now adult) kids in our family used to use the phrase “cool beans” all the time. We stayed at CCB for 4 nights upon arriving in Brazil, and returned after visiting other areas. CCB arranged transportation to and from the two airports (GIG and SDU). As noted in several reviews, the proprietors do have some rules, which are stated clearly on the CCB website and actually enable people to determine whether CCB would or wouldn’t be a good fit. So read them on the website and be sure to look at the photos of the rooms. Every morning at breakfast, Lance spoke with guests to help with plans and logistics for the day. Lance and Sergio (the manager) went out of their way to help us with a couple specific situations that could have been tricky to handle because our Portuguese is, well, limited – ask Sergio about the mathematician story. Everyone who works at CCB was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood (Santa Teresa) is an older neighborhood that’s very hilly, a la San Francisco, with cobblestone streets and interesting architecture. There are restaurants and fun “neighborhood hangouts” as we call them – the CCB folks will fill you in on that. We followed the travel guides’ advice re: leaving fancy jewelry (not that we have a lot of that) etc. at home and had no safety issues. CCB is really interesting architecturally though Lance pointed out that it’s more Spanish style than Portuguese style. The building(s) sort of climb up a hillside so there are several levels. There are rooms on the ground, first, second, and third floors. There’s a beautiful wall covered with some kind of pretty vine at the entrance. Access is via keypad. There are rooms and a patio on the ground level. The office, info board, and more rooms are one level up. The breakfast area, pool, and more rooms are another level up, and room #9 (fabulous view of the neighborhood) is another level up. The rooms are distinctive and most feature local artwork. And speaking of breakfast – whether you prefer European style (meats, cheeses, fruit, baked goods) or North American style (egg dishes, cereal, pancakes), there’s something to fill you up before you start your day in Rio de Janeiro. One person in our party requested the cocoanut cake recipe. We can’t speak to the taxi issue reviewers have raised because we asked CCB to handle the airport transportation and we had a local guide who picked us up and dropped us off, but directions for taxi drivers are printed on the back of the Cool Beans biz cards you’ll find in your room and we overheard Lance telling visitors where the best places are to catch taxis familiar with Santa Teresa. CCB isn’t at the beach (though Cool Beans Flats are) but the area is interesting, is a couple degrees cooler since it’s in the hills, and helps visitors get a sense of the history and ongoing rejuvenation of a part of Rio de Janeiro that shouldn’t be missed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pictured and described on the Casa Cool Beans website, and you can request specifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wotanleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Wow, what a great place! The site was beautiful and unique, the staff was super friendly, and Lance was straight up invaluable. My wife and I traveled to CCB by shuttle from the city of Paraty, the trip is supposed to take about 4 hours but due to some horrendous traffic once we hit the outskirts of Rio it took closer to 8. Despite arriving well after the expected arrival time (and I believe, after the normal business hours of the B&B) Lance was waiting to receive us with warmth and hospitality. We loved our room, clean and comfortable with wonderful views of the courtyard and the neighborhood of Santa Teresa from our windows. Each morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast with fresh cakes/breads, juices, fruits, and super tasty omelets. We only had a few days to explore the city but Lance sat down with us each morning to game plan what we could do and the most efficient way to get to our various destinations, he was such a tremendous help in allowing us to get the most out of our visit. Trust me, this is a very special place.

One last tip: Beg, bribe, do whatever you have to do to get Lance to make you his homemade pancakes. Thin, fluffy, buttery, mouthwatering little discs of deliciousness! The one thing I regret about our stay at CCB was not getting the recipe from him.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bomar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Above the facts that casa cool beans is: 1.situated in the nicest neighbourhood of Rio and 2. is such a beautiful and peaceful place, decorated so originally with amazing art...what makes casa cool beans really special are the owners, manager and staff, taking care of every customer for 100%! If going back to Rio for sure we come back to casa cool beans!! Alexandra & Diederik- Belgium

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexdenil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Fantastic fantastic fantastic! Loved the city, loved the staff, loved the place! Really want to go here again!

The area is really nice and pleasant to stroll around in. Safe and a lot of nice bars and restaurants.

Recomend this to everyone!

Cheers and best of luck to Casa Cool Beans!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvapolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#10 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
313 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#75 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,060 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
587 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#4 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
103 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 337 in Rio de Janeiro
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £33 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars, safes, hair dryer and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace & complimentary use of pool towels. Just minutes walk to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. THE most central location in Santa Teresa! Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing