We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #1 of 332 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic little gem!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and booked it following the trip advisor recommendations. We were not disappointed, it was such a great find. The hotel is tucked away in Santa Teresa which is a beautiful part of Rio... think cobbled streets and local haunts which is exactly what we wanted. The rooms were stunning and its clear a lot of time and thought has been put into the decoration and general feel of the place - the attention to detail was fantastic. Lance and Sergio were so helpful and helped booked trips, taxis and anything else you want really. It's one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in, both in terms of the standard of accommodation but also the personal and helpful service that was offered. I would definitely go back tomorrow if I could. Thank you for an amazing stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    66
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
440
66
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I realise I echo many others here. Casa Cool Beans benefits from an extremely professional owner, Lance (we never met David), and Sergio, the manager, who is one of the friendliest people I have ever met: always smiling and ever-ready to help.

The cleanliness of CCB is evident as soon as you walk in to the brightly coloured and decorated garden, in-keeping with the ex-colonial-turned-street-arty atmosphere of Santa Teresa. The location is perfect: away from the lurid and seedy tourist traps near Copacabana, it has the prime location of being a 15 minute walk from Flamengo beach and park (great for running, runners!) and Gloria station, as well as being a 5 minute cab from Lapa, where all the real Brazilian music happens. Santa Teresa also has stunning views, being located up on a steep hill.

The rooms are tasteful and modern, with high ceilings and ample space. Breakfast is served on a terrace upstairs under an awning in the open air, with a fantastic view. You can ask for an omelet or eggs to your liking, and help yourself to an array of fresh fruit, Brazilian sweetbreads and granola etc. The unique selling point is the unparalleled level of help that the staff give with helping you get the most out of Rio de Janeiro. Once breakfast is down, and coffee is poured, Lance or Sergio are extremely obliging in helping you to decide where you want to go and how to get there, even ordering a cab and navigating tricky Portuguese websites to book shows or visits to Christ the Redeemer.

All in all, staying here 'made' our visit to Rio. We only had 4 days, and not a moment to spare: thanks to Casa and its team, we squeezed out every last drop that we could from the city, and our only regret is not being able to have stayed longer. They even told us to call or email throughout the rest of our trip if we wanted advice or help, and they would get on the case!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stradisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My sister and I stayed at Casa Cool Beans in October last year and it was great. A big sorry from me to the "Cool team" for the delayed review.
My sister and I split our trip to Rio - a few nights at Casa Cool Beans and a few nights in Copacabana. I think we did the right thing but we definitely preferred the personal touch at Casa Cool Beans. Our first night in Brazil was here in Santa Teresa and we're glad we stayed here first because we were given such a warm welcome from David, Lance, and their team, plus invaluable advice for the remainder of our trip. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and cool with nice toiletries. Santa Teresa itself is a brilliant arty district will cool graffiti and bars - there's a brilliant one just on a corner, at the end of the road and turn right! . If you love taking photos you'll be in heaven in Santa Teresa. Although Copacabana and Ipanema are reachable by taxi you can get caught in some serious traffic jams around rush hour!
Book Casa Cool Beans with confidence. I'd definitely book again.
Fiona and Louise
PS Sergio - thank you for being lovely.
PPS If you're going to Brazil, go to the Iguazu Falls. It's a MUST. Don't miss out. They're incredible!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel itself is nicely situated in Santa Teresa, just minutes away from the vibrant art boutiques, bars and restaurants in the area. We booked room no. 9 and it was one of the best rooms we ever stayed in- huge windows with beautiful vistas of Santa Teresa, comfortable bed and truly amazing toiletries (they were sourced from Granado - a local version of Kiehl's). Our host, Lance, was a valuable source of recommendations about EVERYTHING in Rio. He also made sure to be around every breakfast to help and chit-chat (if we so desired). Worth mentioning that breakfast was incredible: eggs made to order, assortment of fresh fruit, cakes, breads, meats and cheeses, AND strong coffee! We'd stay here again for sure and happily recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Casa Cool Beans in Santa Teresa is beautiful. My partner and I spent over 5 weeks travelling around South America and our stay here was the absolute highlight of our trip.

The Location:
Santa Teresa is 15 min by taxi to Copacabana / Ipanema and is not difficult to arrange. Santa Teresa is a hillside cobblestone street area with great restaurants and bars that you will feel comfortable exploring any time day or night. There are always taxis and busses available to take you anywhere anytime. Having spent a week in Rio exploring and experiencing the city from 7am till late everyday we were so thankful Santa Teresa was our location of choice to come home to each day. Lapa is within walking distance and features amazing Samba, live music, great bars and restaurants also. Centro a 10 min bus or taxi ride has an enormous market that you could explore for days. You will easily find your way to Corcovado (Christo Rentor) and Pao de Acucar (Sugarloaf Mountain) amongst all of the othe delights of Rio de Janeiro.

The Accommodations:
From the moment you access the keypad entry on the front gate, the beautiful pool area, the amazing vibrant decor, comfortable and spotlessly clean room, amazing endless hot shower and bathroom, the hands down most mazing cooked to order breakfast, the colour and the serenity will dazzle you. A benchmark in detailed service.

The Staff:
We were immediately greeted upon our arrival by Lance, from that moment until he waved us off almost a week later he was the ultimate host. This guy is amazing, he greets everyone each morning at breakfast, discusses and helps plan their days. Out with his mobile phone making bookings for tours, hooking you up with the best advice on food, drink, dancing, exploring and adventure. We had the distinct pleasure of getting to know our host just a little and he was nothing short of supremely impressive. I credit him with making our experience in Rio above and beyond all expectations (and our expectations were high). What was also refreshing here was that all of the staff were cheerful and happy to be at work, Casa Cool Beans is more like a lifestyle than a workplace.

To wrap it up I cannot give enough praise to Casa Cool Beans and all things related. Do yourself a favour and enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAussieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

- fantastic decor
- fantastic welcome
- excellent breakfast
- great location (will need to use taxi ensure you factor in cost if on a budget)
- Sergio just the best guy at casa! Incredibly friendly and will do anything to help you

Not so great:

- the staff have an excellent knowledge of what to do when, they spend time with you at breakfast to plan your day which is just super - however if you go off without asking their advice and do something they wouldn't advise it feels a bit like they are telling you off! But sometimes travellers like to give things a go hey :-)

- we were mugged - knew this is common and were very prepared, we didn't lose much and no one was hurt although it still leaves you a little shell shocked as knife was used - Casa Cool beans then treated us though we were not welcome there by keeping it hush hush, changed the way they treated us and not offering us that much support in order to get to the police station and said it had never happened before (unlikely in all honesty)

Room Tip: We chose the room with the balcony - excellent for private sunbathing! Look on their website to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyboardrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancehorsley, Owner at Casa Cool Beans B&B, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your review and positive comments. We thoroughly disagree with your assessment after your mugging. We have had 5 or 6 people mugged or that had an attempted mugging in the almost 3 years we have been open; that means thousands of guests have passed through our doors without a security/safety problem. We attribute this success to our advice and open discussion about safety with each guest upon arrival. We did not treat your mugging with a “hush hush” or in anyway attempted to treat you differently…in a bad way; we did not ask you to not discuss this with the other guests as you did so freely, we never attempted to have you or anyone else change the subject, or an any way “hush” you; etc. If you felt we should have advertised to guests that you were mugged, we simply do not behave that way. We are still baffled by this statement. There is only one location in Rio de Janeiro where a foreigner/tourist can report a crime…and it must be in person. (It is located in Leblon; the DEAT office; the same information which was provided to you) While this might be inconvenient, this is the procedure and as we explained the report cannot be done over the phone or with another police department. The office requires four language specialists to be there 24/7; so there was no reason for you not to go and report your crime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

It’s no surprise to our party of two couples that Casa Cool Beans (CCB) has so many superior reviews. It was fate for us to discover CCB on Trip Advisor since one of the (now adult) kids in our family used to use the phrase “cool beans” all the time. We stayed at CCB for 4 nights upon arriving in Brazil, and returned after visiting other areas. CCB arranged transportation to and from the two airports (GIG and SDU). As noted in several reviews, the proprietors do have some rules, which are stated clearly on the CCB website and actually enable people to determine whether CCB would or wouldn’t be a good fit. So read them on the website and be sure to look at the photos of the rooms. Every morning at breakfast, Lance spoke with guests to help with plans and logistics for the day. Lance and Sergio (the manager) went out of their way to help us with a couple specific situations that could have been tricky to handle because our Portuguese is, well, limited – ask Sergio about the mathematician story. Everyone who works at CCB was friendly and helpful. The neighborhood (Santa Teresa) is an older neighborhood that’s very hilly, a la San Francisco, with cobblestone streets and interesting architecture. There are restaurants and fun “neighborhood hangouts” as we call them – the CCB folks will fill you in on that. We followed the travel guides’ advice re: leaving fancy jewelry (not that we have a lot of that) etc. at home and had no safety issues. CCB is really interesting architecturally though Lance pointed out that it’s more Spanish style than Portuguese style. The building(s) sort of climb up a hillside so there are several levels. There are rooms on the ground, first, second, and third floors. There’s a beautiful wall covered with some kind of pretty vine at the entrance. Access is via keypad. There are rooms and a patio on the ground level. The office, info board, and more rooms are one level up. The breakfast area, pool, and more rooms are another level up, and room #9 (fabulous view of the neighborhood) is another level up. The rooms are distinctive and most feature local artwork. And speaking of breakfast – whether you prefer European style (meats, cheeses, fruit, baked goods) or North American style (egg dishes, cereal, pancakes), there’s something to fill you up before you start your day in Rio de Janeiro. One person in our party requested the cocoanut cake recipe. We can’t speak to the taxi issue reviewers have raised because we asked CCB to handle the airport transportation and we had a local guide who picked us up and dropped us off, but directions for taxi drivers are printed on the back of the Cool Beans biz cards you’ll find in your room and we overheard Lance telling visitors where the best places are to catch taxis familiar with Santa Teresa. CCB isn’t at the beach (though Cool Beans Flats are) but the area is interesting, is a couple degrees cooler since it’s in the hills, and helps visitors get a sense of the history and ongoing rejuvenation of a part of Rio de Janeiro that shouldn’t be missed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pictured and described on the Casa Cool Beans website, and you can request specifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wotanleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
274 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#9 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
288 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3,246 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,643 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#67 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Property: Casa Cool Beans B&B
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing