We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owners are the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #2 of 327 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Owners are the best”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We loved our stay at Casa Cool Beans. The entire place is fun to be in, it's in a GREAT location, close enough to all the food and bars of Santa Teresa, but tucked away on a quiet street. We had room #10. It was a great room, for us, and the wifi was super speedy. The BEST part of of Casa Cool Beans are Lance and David. Lance helped us out on so many things, and without him, we wouldn't have been as comfortable getting around to places in Rio as we were. He had so many tips about the city that were very helpful.

We are already booking another stay we enjoyed it so much!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    66
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
438
63
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My girlfriend and I recently visited Brazil for the first time and Casa Cool Beans was our first port of call, our experience was excellent.

Santa Teresa is a very interesting location with good places to eat and drink and some arty shops, the Cool Beans set up is really smart and well presented with nice rooms and a very enjoyable breakfast.

The staff and specifically Lance, one of the co-owners were outstanding and really set a brilliant tone to our stay in Brazil. He was both highly knowledgeable, organised and helpful in assisting us to plan our time in Rio and genuinely welcoming which made a big difference.

I would unreservedly recommend Cool Beans.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antas, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I really can only agree with all the reviewers who have love this place.
This was our first time in Rio and were amazed at the traffic however once we got to Santa Theresa we found it a different place, very friendly and a bit more tranquil. Casa Cool Beans reflected this with great decor and amazing paintings all added to the ambience. Our welcome by Lance the owner was very warm and informative, nothing was too much bother. The breakfast was very varied with a choice of cereal, meats, cheeses and local fruits. The juice was amazing and the coffee was excellent !! You have a choice of eggs who are well prepared by the cook who also makes the cakes for beakfast..
We had a very tidy room with a verada over looking the area and up to the church.
All in all a great find and would recommend it if you are looking for something differet and away from the biz. The taxis are reasonable so getting up and down is no bother, we did use the bus which we found a great experience. The tram is still off and may return in the future.

Room Tip: We had room no 7 with a terrace, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in room 4 which was spacious and clean, it had a big bathroom with both bathtub and shower. Nice and quiet air conditioner. View from window to courtyard and city surroundings. Excellent advice about the city and the area from the manager, we appreciated it! We walked to and from restaurants in the area at night and we always felt safe. The b&b is in a local area with a good vibe. Breakfast was great. All in all I recommend both the hotel and to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artistina81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The entire Team wins another Platinum Globe! The Nattering Nabobs of Negativity are once again relegated to nothing but Dust Bunnies rolling down the charming streets of Santa Theresa and into the sewer where they belong.

Not much has changed at THE Casa: gorgeous building, flora and fauna, tidy and clean accommodations, EXTREMELY welcoming and informed hosts and hostesses. The fruits, breads, meats, cheeses, eggs to order, and coffee are plentiful and yummy! Casa Cool Beans is the respite from the beach and city scene offering a sanctuary to recharge and head back out into the playful and stimulating populous.

Sergio arranged a perfect guide for us, Francoise, to visit the Niteroi area. Visit the fish market, choose a fresh piece of fish and have it cooked to perfection upstairs, sharing the space with the locals. We visited the Fortress with it's phenomenal views of Rio, Sugarloaf and Corcovado, a tiny fishing village where we watched a huge catch of Dorado being unloaded and loaded - many someones will enjoy a yummy dinner tonight! Francoise is a well informed and brilliant tour guide and she knows some great short cuts which were particularly helpful as we were touring on a National holiday and the traffic in Rio is TERRIBLE! Because of her many skills, we hardly noticed and enjoyed ourselves entirely.

Back to the Beans Team... As we experienced last year, Lance knows his stuff and more. Follow his gentle and truthful advice and you will be set up to enjoy your Rio Experience. Sergio is equally informed and his authenticity is endearing. Everyone, from the sweet Domestic Engineers and Gardeners to the Big Kahuna (Lance) and his trusty sidekick, Sergio, made our second trip to Rio a success.

One of the keys to success when traveling is to lower your expectations as it will make the actual experiences more memorable. Rio is not a clean city with an efficient infrastructure, rather a vital, cacophony of mixed cultures where the simplest of gestures, the smile, go a long way in breaking through language barriers. This is where life is lived honestly and playfully. Take the time to acknowledge what many people overlook and you will not be disappointed.

Thank you, Lance, for your special kindness ;) and Congratulations! Team Beans on another World Championship! Here's wishing you the best for the World Cup and the 2016 Olympics! You are a shoe in for the top medals!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akadga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

As soon as we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and Lance went out of his way to ensure that we made the most of our time in Rio. The decor, art and flora all added to our experience. The accommodation was excellent together with the helpfulness of all the staff. Santa Teresa.
was a great place to stay. local feel and great bars and restaurants.
Well done Lance. Perfect stay.

Room Tip: The room we had was by the pool and breakfast area, and had its own balcony. Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandjeff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Lance, David and Sergio were perfect hosts who tried to ensure that every guest squeezed the absolute most of of their time in Rio. They even found a birdwatching group for us to join for a morning in the fabulous Botanical Gardens.
Casa Cool Beans is a beautifully renovated grand old house in the historic Santa Teresa barrio. There is modern artwork on almost every wall reflecting the colours and vibrancy of Rio. Breakfast on the roof terrace was fantastic with everyrhing that one could possibly want.
We just loved Santa Teresa with its cobbled streets, local bars and small restaurants.Lively conversation and laughter from the patrons spilling out on to the streets. With Lance's guidance we easily mastered the buses to the various beaches and tourist sites in Rio.
We stayed for 4 nights before going to Ilha Grande but booked another 4 nights in CBB for our return. The only place to stay to fully enjoy Rio.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedaly8101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#8 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Property: Casa Cool Beans B&B
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing